$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Damrak 49-51, Amsterdam, 1012 LL

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
azilerio
Business
Durango
Jan 26, 2015

the cherry on top of the whole experience

The hotel is located in rhe center of the heart of Amsterdam, its really convenient and accessible, the rooms are clean and everything is exactly as they offer it on their site. The 24/7 available staff is so nice and kind !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Manc lads
Business
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

Amazing hotel (couples)

Been to Amsterdam previously, but this hotel beats any previous hotel I've ever stayed in: • Top central location. • Unique, different, funky and stylish rooms. • Professional, friendly, helpful staff. • Everything on the door step/excellent transport links around the city. • One of the comfiest beds I have ever slept in. To summarise the hotel in a few words, value for money, stylish and a real hidden gem for those looking for comfort, value and something unique this hotel wins, plus it's a major topic to tell friends and family about the students who designed the interior of this hotel well done and I take my hats of to you guys. Manchester visitor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a 24 hour tram ticket as you can use on all trams, underground and buses in the city 24/7 real value for money (something like €7.50) and you can get anywhere in the city.

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sadie
Business
Helsinki
Dec 29, 2014

We knew there was a risk..

We liked the concept of this hotel, but our room was quite ugly and for some reason the cleaner left the bed cover on the floor after cleaning, twice. But at least the hotel was something different and the ugly room made us laugh. Location was good and the cafe downstairs was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blueroses
Business
New York, NY
Dec 21, 2014

Too Cool for its Own Good...

I wrote a long, comprehensive review, but this site kept rejecting it. Wouldn't recommend. Rooms very small, staff had attitude, no amenities except wifi, location too touristy. Best for under 35s. Bottom line: do your research before you book!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Tram stop outside the hotel.

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JamesH89
Business
Berkshire, UK
Nov 24, 2014

Amazing!

Highly, highly recommend this hotel. Locations amazing. Staff are more than helpful and are very multi lingual for those who cannot speak dutch. Free wifi was brilliant with strong signal everywhere and very fast. Rooms where amazingly decorated and very comfortable. The location was amazing as right in the heart and soul of amsterdams damrak and less than a 5 minute straight line walk from centraal station! Very quiet with no rowdy behaviour either!! Only thing to watch out for is that its incredible easy to walk past and miss the entrance but other than that it was amazing! Would be first choice to stay on my next visit!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nickname4567213454
Business
Alaska
Sep 24, 2014

Easy to find artistic hotel, modern design

All rooms are designed by some art students, and have different styles..... So, my room did not look like the one on the photo. A really small, really clean room under the roof.... For example, I had a shower which was about 3'x2.5' feet.... Perfect to get a good night sleep.... The staff is good and friendly....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pass it on
Business
texas
Sep 9, 2014

Good location

very close to Amsterdam Centraal train station and lots of bars, restaurants, and other nightlife

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
T loves to travel
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 31, 2014

Different but comfy room!

Hotel is very close to train station, and everything! Staff is very helpful and nice. Room is small (we are in Europe!) but it has a comfortable bed. Bathroom is larger than other hotels I've seen. We really enjoyed our stay there and Amsterdam is an interesting city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking distance to train station (train to airport 20 minutes), entertainment, dining, shopping, night life... I mean everything!!!

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kellymiamigirl
Business
Miami
Jul 29, 2014

Overall good

Great staff and Location. No Special amenities but hey, at least there is an Elevator. What makes the Hotel cool is the artistic vibe. Super decrative and artsy so it makes for a fun stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is tons of great Little eats for cheap. Dont waste your Money on a expensive meal.

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Evina
Business
london
Jul 28, 2014

not the most interest place i ever been....

I have to say. We may have not bee the most lucky ones. On the arrival the staff was very nice. They upgraded us to three stars, so we were quite happy to discover what our roon would look like. Unfortunatelly, it wasn't up to our expectations. We got in and the feeling was claustrophobic, we were staying in a box full of boxes. I love art and use it as a game of concepts. But you also have to consider what the use of the art is going to be. Thos represented anything but confort. The shower wasinterated as part of the toilet with not doors or curtains.....so imagine, when having a shower everything would get wet. However, i could live with all that if i could at least rest sleep well. Well, that was not even the case. At 8 in the morning on a saturday neighbours started drilling without stop for the whole morning. We reported it to reception, but nothing they could do. That may have been unfortunate. The only posotive thing was the coffe place at the entrance of the hotel. Very nice to enjoy a good breakfast, specially after a bad night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top