$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Damrak 49-51, Amsterdam, 1012 LL

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
29 reviews
Great place for couples

We had a great time at Hotel Exchange, the staff were friendly all amenities were as described and... See full review

  • AiyMD
  • Aug 5, 2015
Great location

Nice hotel perfectly located , really comfortable beds , helpful staff See full review

  • karen w.
  • Jul 15, 2015
Hotel The Exchange is a hotel with a special love of fashion. Students of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute dressed the rooms like models on the catwalk. The result: a hotel where architecture meets fashion. Hotel The Exchange has 61 rooms, ranging from 1 to 5 stars. Each room has been designed and dressed by graduates and alumni of the Amsterdam Fashion Institute (AMFI). The rooms are as diverse and inspiring, as the neighborhood the hotel lies in. The romantic at heart can fall asleep in a Marie Antoinette-inspired room where a huge dress drapes over the walls and unto the bed. Or, if you prefer a more minimal look, opt for a room that is based on the old fairy tale of the Emperor's New Clothes. Hotel The Exchange is a concept by Suzanne Oxenaar and Otto Nan, initiators of the Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy. Hotel The Exchange is part of 'The Red Carpet,' an urban-renewal project that is aimed at giving the Damrak a more diverse and fashionable look. The hotel is located in three buildings, of which the oldest dates back to the 17th century. In the same buildings there is restaurant Stock that serves breakfast till late. A 5.5% city tax is to be paid upon check in. Please note that you can not pay with cash in the hotel. This is a non-smoking hotel

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

★★★
$95
4.1 / 5 23 reviews
★★★
$80
3.7 / 5 63 reviews
★★★★
$132
4.0 / 5 58 reviews
★★★★
$189
3.9 / 5 68 reviews
★★★
$150
3.5 / 5 11 reviews
★★★★
$190
3.8 / 5 49 reviews
★★★
$116
3.0 / 5 1 reviews
★★★
$104
2.9 / 5 15 reviews
★★★★
$154
3.8 / 5 84 reviews

Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam Rooms

Budget double room (1 star)
What these fashionable rooms lack in view, they make up for in character. The rooms are intimate retreats with private bathroom.
Economy double room (2 star)
These rooms are characterized by quiet, fresh designs executed in fashionable shades of nude and powder.
Standard double room (3 star)
Comfort and fashion are two words that are very rarely mentioned in the same sentence, yet in these rooms, comfort and fashion are married in the most wonderful manner.
Superior double room (4 star)
These rooms not only feature unique design, most of them have a wonderful view of the Damrak, Amsterdam's very own Red Carpet. Watch the world pass by from your hotel window and simply close the curtains to enjoy your own fashionable retreat.
Deluxe double room (5 star)
The 5-star rooms, which all look different, offer 'haute adventure.' Here you sleep in extraordinary concepts. The rooms feature either a balcony or terrace with views on the Beurs van Berlage or the Westertoren, which makes a truly Amsterdam experience.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
  • Old Church: 0.1 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.2 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • New Church: 0.2 mi
  • National Monument: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
  • Old Church: 0.1 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.2 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • New Church: 0.2 mi
  • National Monument: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.2 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.2 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.2 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.3 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.3 mi
  • Single: 0.3 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • International Institute of Social History: 0.3 mi
  • East India House: 0.3 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.4 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.4 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.4 mi
  • The Whale: 0.4 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.4 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.4 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.4 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.4 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.5 mi

Dining

Stock
Stock is the cafe of Hotel The Exchange. It caters to the paradox of fast living and slow food. The cafe quietly acknowledges the vibrant nightlife of the city with an indulgent all-day breakfast. An a la carte menu has soups, salads, sandwiches and sweets, as well as wine and local beers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 29
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.7

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BBoeldt
Couples
Yuba City, California
Feb 14, 2014

Great experience.

Read reviews before booking the reservation so my wife and I knew what to expect. Our room was tiny and there was barely enough room for the 2 twin beds. The bathroom was very European (corner shower without doors or curtain). Staff was friendly. Rooms and hotel were clean. Breakfast was overpriced but good. We both loved this place and it enhanced our Amsterdam experience. If you are used to American hotels and luxury, I would not recommend this place. However, if you would like to experience a unique, authentic European hotel, I recommend it highly. We will stay there again and hope to get a room as unique as the last one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is a short to med walk. The nightlife was awesome.

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AiyMD
Couples
N/A
Aug 5, 2015

Great place for couples

We had a great time at Hotel Exchange, the staff were friendly all amenities were as described and the quirkiness of the hotel was a welcome change from the starkness of hotel chains. Every room is different we had 605 which has 2 balcony's great for the warm nights. No A?C but a very impressive Dyson fan did the trick. A fridge would make all the difference for those warm nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
karen w.
Friends
Wiltshire
Jul 15, 2015

Great location

Nice hotel perfectly located , really comfortable beds , helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DC
Single
N/A
Jun 21, 2015

Great hotel in a great location

My stay here was great. Very conveniently located. The decor of my room was a bit bizarre, but so is Amsterdam! Overall good value, though that will depend on the rate you get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jayne S.
Couples
N/A
Jun 2, 2015

Slightly disappointed

We booked a 3 star room in this hotel for two nights staying on 28th may to the 30th. We arrived at 7pm and went up to our room (room 322). It was very clean with a lovely big bed but when I say small I mean small. 6 hooks on the wall for hanging space no table or shelf so literally everything had to stay in the suitcase (make-up, toiletries, book etc). This would of been fine for a two night stay but the main problem was that the toilet was so small that it was impossible to close the door while sitting down as our knees were hanging over into the bedroom. Staff were polite when we asked if this was really a 3 star room but could not move us until the next day as the rooms were all booked. Second room although still only a 3 star was much bigger (room 306). Feel really disappointed that I paid for a 3 star room but felt like the first night was only 1 star - you really expect the toilet to be big enough to be able to close the door! Only the second night I got what I paid for which made me sad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
G.E.C.
Couples
Sebastopol
May 24, 2015

Good location but hard to find!

We only needed a room for a one night layover and once we found its very hidden entrance, the hotel suited our needs for a clean place to sleep within walking distance to the train station and central sights. Staff was friendly and the room with its toilet-shower-sink combo was clean but very, very small (think dorm room for one but listed as a double). Price was good, however for a central location in Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Vladimir P.
Family
OKEMOS
May 22, 2015

An absolutely disgusting, terribly overpriced hotel!

The worst experience with hotels. The room is very very small. No chair, no shelves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brandon Newport
Couples
NEWPORT BEACH
May 11, 2015

Strange Hotel

Good Location very nice staff. WiFi was terrible. Showers flooded the whole bathroom. No dressers no closets in room. Good for touists who don't spend much time in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terry R.
Couples
Boston
Apr 23, 2015

Totally awesome place

This is truly an Amsterdam fashion experience! My husband and I slept under a retractable hoop skirt. And all the hallways in the building were uniquely decorated with artistic flourishes. Our room was small but very comfortable. The staff were amazingly helpful with directions and suggestions of where to eat and visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philip L.
Couples
San Leandro
Apr 21, 2015

Couple of nights of partying

Great location and close to good food and shopping. I would actually recommend this hotel but get a 3 star or better room. If we did, I would have probably rated this hotel better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hotel The Exchange Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Blueroses
Single
N/A
Feb 19, 2015

Haven for Hipsters

Hotel Exchange is all about form over function. Designed by Fashion and Art students, it's a hipster's paradise. Funky, creative, individual design of each room will attract artists curious to see what can be done to make this townhouse-style building in the middle of tourist-y Dam Rak worth the stay. I stayed in two rooms while there: The spacious (apparently a four-star room), but sparse and cold Rembrandt room the first night (not accessible for those with any issues with stairs) and the Amsterdam room (two-star room) for three nights, which was the size of a postage stamp, barely fitting a full-size bed and chair. If you're young and don't plan to spend a lot of time in your room, it's an OK deal for the price. Probably not the right choice for travelers looking for creature comforts, or any amenities. This place had none. A block away from the Red-Light District and close to trams and Centraal Station. Staff was a bit "too cool for school" for my taste and seemed put out by having to answer questions. Hotel has a cafe attached to it, which was convenient for a quick bite in the morning, but very little to choose from and it closed at 5pm. Overall, I'd classify it as a step up from a hostel with individual rooms, en suite bathrooms and funky design elements.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Back to menu Return to top