$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Nassaukade 387-390, Amsterdam, 1054 AE

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single 38 guy
Business
Chicago
Mar 26, 2013

Single guy

Great location , very friendly stuff ,very easy in and out , average breakfast , rooms are small but clean , great value for the price !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Dec 9, 2010

Amsterdam....my new favorite city

Pretty nice hotel, great location (3 blocks from Leidspeiln Square and the American) FREE CAPPICIONOS!!!I can't shout about this more...delicious coffee any time of the day or night, fresh ground for each cup...room was small, but typical for hotels in the city (it's and old city...the hotels are converted old buildings...)This one has an elevator (albeit the SMALLEST eleavator I've ever encountered...)many places don't have the great feature...the stairs are so narrow in these buildings they move in using the original hooks on the front of the buildings...so think about how nice the elevator is ;o)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If your going to spend more than a day in the city get the multi day mass transit pass it saves 2-3 euros a day...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Apr 14, 2010

Good price, comfortable rooms

The location was excellent, near Leidseplein, which has a number of great restaurants, bars and coffeeshops. The hotel was good, clean and a little bit small, but no more than would be expected for the reasonable prices. Decent bed, decent shower, decent location; all you need, really, if you're not planning on spending too much time abed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Bulldog coffeshop: Order the bulldog coffee

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
turkey
Sep 24, 2009

very good location

We enjoyed the hotel, especially the location was great for us. We were happy about the general condition of the hotel, only the rooms were a little small. But I guess it is a general problem in Amsterdam hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Russ Southend
Business
Southend-on-Sea, UK
Nov 19, 2014

Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Great for a short stay - the room was adequate and the bathroom could not accommodate 2 people, not even for a game of Twister! Nevertheless, it is great a base; well located and friendly and helpful staff. Very convenient for the nearby Van Gogh and Rijks museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hard Rock Cafe is close if you want a decent 'burger/ribs/chicken and fries' meal but otherwise head more towards the centre for greater choice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tuesday D
Business
N/A
Feb 13, 2015

Birthday Trip

Hotel was standard, simple, comfortable and just what two girls needed for a 3 night stay. Very clean and tidy. Helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old masters
Business
N/A
Feb 21, 2015

Double Dutch

Fantastic place to stay, thoroughly enjoyed the experience of visiting amsterdam , would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mitch H
Business
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

Definitely recommend!

I was only in Amsterdam for 3 and a half days (our flight wasn't until late at night on the last day so gained an extra day) but enjoyed every minute of it. I booked this hotel for the reason being it wasn't too far from Dam Square (0.9 miles to be exact) in fact at the pace I walk it only took about 15-20 mins and because it seemed like such a great price. One thing I didn't like was the check in time for the hotel which was 15:00pm. We booked the flights and hotel as part of a deal and got quite early flights, we were in Amsterdam from 08:20am but couldn't check in until the time stated. But on the plus side we were able to leave all our heavy luggage in a luggage cupboard and got to explore the city until we could check in. The same also applied to when we checked out, the check out time was 12:00pm which seems fair and we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel until we needed to head back to the airport because our flight wasn't until 21:40pm. The hotel offers complimentary hot drinks was great for the start and end of the day, these ranged from coffee, cappuccino, latte, tea and also flavoured teas. The staff were very friendly and always said hello and goodbye whenever we went past the reception desk. The room was very impressive from all the reviews I'd seen I was expecting the room to be quite small but to my surprise it was pretty big including the bathroom. One thing I didn't like about the bathroom though was the shower, it's one of those showers where you have to turn the hot and cold taps to adjust the water temperature of the shower not an electronic one. I was taking a shower on one of the days when the water temperature seemed perfect then all of a sudden the water went boiling hot resulting in my back getting scolded. I didn't even touch the taps, the water temperature just changed on its own. Overall I would definitiley recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to visit Amsterdam and would happily stay there again, in fact I'm planning another trip to Amsterdam again this year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
judy bee
Business
Oxfordshire UK
Feb 23, 2014

Well positioned, basic comfort.

This hotel is very adequate for a short break on a budget. Situated near tram route and cinemas, restaurants etc, only ten minutes from the centre, also had a regular bus service to the airport nearby at a cost of 5 euros. Breakfast was rather meagre for 9.50 euros, relative to the overall cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pudgy
Business
Liverpool
Mar 28, 2014

Amsterdam on a budget

Very good location, staff friendly and helpful. Lots to see and very good transport from this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top