$141 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

3 stars
Nassaukade 387-390, Amsterdam, 1054 AE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
39 reviews
70TH BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION WITH PRECIOUS GRANDAUGHTER.

I wish that I had taken names of staff.One manager a lovely man helped me printing out Boarding... See full review

  • Baglady1
  • Jul 6, 2014
Single guy

Great location , very friendly stuff ,very easy in and out , average breakfast , rooms are small... See full review

  • Single 38 guy
  • Mar 26, 2013
Modern charmer boasts lovely, convenient location and cozy comforts

The Eden Leidse Square Hotel offers a lovely, cosmopolitan home base from which guests can plan their business or leisure outings. Major destinations like Vondelpark and the Rijksmuseum are only minutes away. Multi-lingual front-desk assistance makes any stay pleasant and productive. Rooms are tidy, cheerful and modern with flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi access and fully-equipped bathrooms. The Eden Leidse Square Hotel provides daily breakfast, free morning coffee and tea and a lounge to unwind with family and friends.

Highlights
  • Convenient location within walking distance of Rijksmuseum and Vondelpark
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet in the lobby
  • Multi-lingual, 24-hour front-desk staff and in-house, all-day bar and lounge
Rooms

Guests have their pick of the Eden Leidse Square Hotel's 70 cheerful, modern guest rooms. Rooms feature large, airy windows along with colorful drapery and wood furnishings. Guests can relax with flat-screen satellite TVs with On Demand movies and Wi-Fi access (complimentary in superior rooms). 

Features

Guests can start the day with fresh, complimentary coffee and tea in the Eden Leidse Square's bar and lounge. The hotel also offers a wholesome, delicious breakfast. The bar and lounge is the perfect spot to unwind, socialize and enjoy a full range of cocktails, beverages and refreshments. Adjacent, the hotel's Café Americain is a charming lunch and dinner destination whose terrace offers delightful outdoor dining during the summertime.

The friendly, multi-lingual staff and 24-hour front desk are on hand to ensure that each guest's stay in Amsterdam is productive and enjoyable. The Eden Leidse Square Hotel provides complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby.

Transportation
  • Tram stop (1 block)
  • Amsterdam Central Station
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Attractions
  • Rijksmuseum (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Heineken Experience (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (2 mi/3 km)
  • Oude Kerk (2 mi/3 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Vondelpark (1 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in lobby
  • Wi-Fi access in guest rooms (complimentary in superior rooms)
Polices & Fees
  • A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout
  • This is a non-smoking hotel

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam Rooms

SUPERIOR - ROOM
Just a little bit more; believe us, you are worth it! Treat yourself to the extra comfort which we at the Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam call superior, then you get much more than "just a little bit more". Enjoy the extra space and feel like a VIP, that's the effect of our superior rooms.
COMFORT - ROOM
Our 53 standard rooms give the word standard a whole different dimension. Because of the full package standard comfort it will feel like home the minute you walk in. Whether you visit for business or for leisure, we are sure that after one night you will find it hard to leave and get back to the normal live.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

52.3641 4.8785
Area served
The hotel is situated in a typical Amsterdam's building which has to be reached via a staircase and is not accessible by wheelchairs.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 10.0 km, Rotterdam Airport - 54.1 km.
Area description
The hotel is easily accessible by car as well as public transport. Amsterdam Central Station can be reached by several tram lines (1, 2, 5) - the tram stop is right across from the hotel. You can reach the RAI convention centre in 25 minutes and Amsterdam Schiphol Airport in 35 minutes. At set times, you can make use of the Connexxion Hotel Shuttle Bus, which conveniently stops at the entrance of the hotel. The Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam is located in the historical centre of Amsterdam, right next to the dazzling Leidseplein square with its many bars, restaurants, terraces, theatres and the Casino. From Leidseplein you can also go on a canal tour or rent a bike. The world-famous Vondelpark, the Rijksmuseum (with paintings of Rembrandt) and the Van Gogh Museum are within a few minutes walking distance. The major shopping areas such as the PC Hooftstraat and the Leidsestraat are also very near. The Anne Frank House is situated at approximately 15 minutes from the hotel.

Nearby points of interest

  • Melkweg: 0.1 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.3 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.3 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.3 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.3 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.1 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.3 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.3 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.3 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.3 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.4 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.4 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.4 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.4 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.4 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.4 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Houseboat Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Felix Meritis Building: 0.5 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.5 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 0.5 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.5 mi
  • BeBoB Design: 0.5 mi
  • Oud-West: 0.5 mi
  • Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • University Library: 0.5 mi
  • Villa Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Prinsengracht: 0.5 mi
  • Spui: 0.6 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.6 mi
  • Netherlands Media Arts Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.6 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.6 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our lounge bar is a perfect place to relax after a busy day. Here you can enjoy a nice drink. The bar is opened daily until 01:00. Do you prefer a healthy start of a new day? Make use of our Continental Plus breakfast buffet. Our breakfast staff welcomes you daily between 07:00 until 10:00 and on saturday and sunday you can sleep in because we serve breakfast up to 11:00. For dinner reservations you can always contact the reception. In Cafe Americain, situated opposite the hotel, you can have your bill charged to your room in the hotel!. Please ask the reception for more information. In the neighborhood you will find many cozy restaurants, terraces and cafes. Here you can enjoy a simple meal or a lovely dinner. Our reception staff will help you with finding the perfect restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BikeJohn
Hawaii
Nov 21, 2009

good location

The staff was very helpful. However, they needed to be reminded to get our taxi to return to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a very nice bakery one block behind the hotel, which is the opposite direction you would expect to find it.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Oct 10, 2009

Hotel isn't what it appears to be

We choose this hotel based on it's location, the pictures on-line, and the price. The only good thing that i can say about this hotel is that it's in a good location. It's close to everything. The staff was friendly as well. However, I feel that the hotel pictures and descriptions are deceiving. This isn't a hotel. It's more of a dormatory, only you have your own bathroom. The pictures are deceiving too. While the rooms have all the furniture that the pictures show, the rooms are filthy. There are stains on the carpets, on the curtains, on the linens, everywhere. It didn't even look like they changed the linens because when we pulled back the covers, we found a couple of hairs on the pillows, on the towels, on the bathroom floor, etc. After seeing this, we had to check the bed for bedbugs (which I've never done at a hotel before). The showers are also very small. They are the same showers you could find on a cruiseline. The shower is basically a 3x3 space, with no room to move and water spills everywhere in the entire floor. There is also no a/c or air ventatlation in the room. The room is musty and smelled like an attic. The hotel did provide fans, however, the fans just blow the hot musty air around. Over all, the room was disgusting and I would never stay here again. Advice, pay a little more and stay at a better hotel. There are several up the same street. If you do stay here, spend as little time in the room as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks away from the hotel is a grocery store, where you can get drinks and a light snack. The hotel doesn't have fridges in the rooms, but you can always get waters and store them in the room instead of buying them out of the vending machines or in shops/restaurants.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Oct 10, 2009

Hotel isn't what it appears to be

We choose this hotel based on it's location, the pictures on-line, and the price. The only good thing that i can say about this hotel is that it's in a good location. It's close to everything. The staff was friendly as well. However, I feel that the hotel pictures and descriptions are deceiving. This isn't a hotel. It's more of a dormatory, only you have your own bathroom. The pictures are deceiving too. While the rooms have all the furniture that the pictures show, the rooms are filthy. There are stains on the carpets, on the curtains, on the linens, everywhere. It didn't even look like they changed the linens because when we pulled back the covers, we found a couple of hairs on the pillows, on the towels, on the bathroom floor, etc. After seeing this, we had to check the bed for bedbugs (which I've never done at a hotel before). The showers are also very small. They are the same showers you could find on a cruiseline. The shower is basically a 3x3 space, with no room to move and water spills everywhere in the entire floor. There is also no a/c or air ventatlation in the room. The room is musty and smelled like an attic. The hotel did provide fans, however, the fans just blow the hot musty air around. Over all, the room was disgusting and I would never stay here again. Advice, pay a little more and stay at a better hotel. There are several up the same street. If you do stay here, spend as little time in the room as possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

A few blocks away from the hotel is a grocery store, where you can get drinks and a light snack. The hotel doesn't have fridges in the rooms, but you can always get waters and store them in the room instead of buying them out of the vending machines or in shops/restaurants.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
turkey
Sep 24, 2009

very good location

We enjoyed the hotel, especially the location was great for us. We were happy about the general condition of the hotel, only the rooms were a little small. But I guess it is a general problem in Amsterdam hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
turkey
Sep 24, 2009

very good location

We enjoyed the hotel, especially the location was great for us. We were happy about the general condition of the hotel, only the rooms were a little small. But I guess it is a general problem in Amsterdam hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Jun 20, 2009

good location

Lots of things to do and places to walk to from this hotel location. It's on a busy street, so if you open windows you hear traffic. Staff was efficient but impersonal. Eating at the hotel was very expensive compared to meals outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Sacramento, CA
Jun 20, 2009

good location

Lots of things to do and places to walk to from this hotel location. It's on a busy street, so if you open windows you hear traffic. Staff was efficient but impersonal. Eating at the hotel was very expensive compared to meals outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Belleville, IL
May 3, 2009

Great location

The location was terrific. It is on the outskirts of the center so there was minimal noise in the night. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Great value for the money! The location is very close to the Leidseplein which gives you access to transportation, dining and nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Belleville, IL
May 3, 2009

Great location

The location was terrific. It is on the outskirts of the center so there was minimal noise in the night. The room was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Great value for the money! The location is very close to the Leidseplein which gives you access to transportation, dining and nightlife.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top