$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Nassaukade 387-390, Amsterdam, 1054 AE

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
40 reviews
Service With A Smile

Great location very close very friendly staff and a lovely hotel. See full review

  • STEVEN H.
  • Apr 13, 2015
Fantastic hotel

Had a very nice stay at this hotel staff went far and beyond of there duties, they were faboulous,... See full review

  • Melissa S.
  • Mar 12, 2015

The Eden Leidse Square Hotel offers a lovely, cosmopolitan home base from which guests can plan their business or leisure outings. Major destinations like Vondelpark and the Rijksmuseum are only minutes away. Multi-lingual front-desk assistance makes any stay pleasant and productive. Rooms are tidy, cheerful and modern with flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi access and fully-equipped bathrooms. The Eden Leidse Square Hotel provides daily breakfast, free morning coffee and tea and a lounge to unwind with family and friends.

Rooms

Guests have their pick of the Eden Leidse Square Hotel's 70 cheerful, modern guest rooms. Rooms feature large, airy windows along with colorful drapery and wood furnishings. Guests can relax with flat-screen satellite TVs with On Demand movies and Wi-Fi access (complimentary in superior rooms). 

Property features

Guests can start the day with fresh, complimentary coffee and tea in the Eden Leidse Square's bar and lounge. The hotel also offers a wholesome, delicious breakfast. The bar and lounge is the perfect spot to unwind, socialize and enjoy a full range of cocktails, beverages and refreshments. Adjacent, the hotel's Café Americain is a charming lunch and dinner destination whose terrace offers delightful outdoor dining during the summertime.

The friendly, multi-lingual staff and 24-hour front desk are on hand to ensure that each guest's stay in Amsterdam is productive and enjoyable. The Eden Leidse Square Hotel provides complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby.

Highlights
  • Convenient location within walking distance of Rijksmuseum and Vondelpark
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet in the lobby
  • Multi-lingual, 24-hour front-desk staff and in-house, all-day bar and lounge
Nearby attractions
  • Rijksmuseum (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Heineken Experience (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (2 mi/3 km)
  • Oude Kerk (2 mi/3 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Vondelpark (1 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in lobby
  • Wi-Fi access in guest rooms (complimentary in superior rooms)
Transportation
  • Tram stop (1 block)
  • Amsterdam Central Station
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Policies
  • A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout
  • This is a non-smoking hotel

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

★★★
$129
3.8 / 5 96 reviews
★★★★
$147
3.8 / 5 46 reviews
★★★★
$147
4.0 / 5 32 reviews
★★★
$89
3.6 / 5 71 reviews
★★★★
$170
4.1 / 5 68 reviews
★★★★
$94
3.9 / 5 42 reviews
★★★
$55
3.7 / 5 42 reviews
★★★★
$137
4.0 / 5 57 reviews
★★★
$70
4.2 / 5 13 reviews

Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam Rooms

SUPERIOR - ROOM
Just a little bit more; believe us, you are worth it! Treat yourself to the extra comfort which we at the Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam call superior, then you get much more than "just a little bit more". Enjoy the extra space and feel like a VIP, that's the effect of our superior rooms.
COMFORT - ROOM
Our 53 standard rooms give the word standard a whole different dimension. Because of the full package standard comfort it will feel like home the minute you walk in. Whether you visit for business or for leisure, we are sure that after one night you will find it hard to leave and get back to the normal live.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Melkweg: 0.1 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.3 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.3 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.3 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.3 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.1 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.3 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.3 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.3 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.3 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.4 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.4 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.4 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.4 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.4 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.4 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Houseboat Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Felix Meritis Building: 0.5 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.5 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 0.5 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.5 mi
  • BeBoB Design: 0.5 mi
  • Oud-West: 0.5 mi
  • Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • University Library: 0.5 mi
  • Villa Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Prinsengracht: 0.5 mi
  • Spui: 0.6 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.6 mi
  • Netherlands Media Arts Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.6 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.6 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our lounge bar is a perfect place to relax after a busy day. Here you can enjoy a nice drink. The bar is opened daily until 01:00. Do you prefer a healthy start of a new day? Make use of our Continental Plus breakfast buffet. Our breakfast staff welcomes you daily between 07:00 until 10:00 and on saturday and sunday you can sleep in because we serve breakfast up to 11:00. For dinner reservations you can always contact the reception. In Cafe Americain, situated opposite the hotel, you can have your bill charged to your room in the hotel!. Please ask the reception for more information. In the neighborhood you will find many cozy restaurants, terraces and cafes. Here you can enjoy a simple meal or a lovely dinner. Our reception staff will help you with finding the perfect restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
40 out of 40
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bette AZ
Friends
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
May 24, 2012

delightful stay

Room small, but very clean, near eveything, very pleasant staff. Marvelous coffee and cappuccino! Very nice to tourists trying to find their way around on a first visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Timothy W.
Friends
N/A
May 6, 2015

Great Base to explore Amsterdam

Hotel is just on edge of historic city and within easy walking distance of centre or use the tram (No1) which passes nearby. The Hotel does not serve lunch or dinner, but we always prefer to eat out anyhow and there are plenty nearby to choose from. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It is an ideal base to stay if intending to be out each day exploring. If looking for a hotel to stay and relax in, this is not for you. For something different at minimal cost, try catching a random tram to the outskirts of the city. There are some great small parks, squares and local places of interest. On route 2 we found an excellent artisan chocolatier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
STEVEN H.
Friends
N/A
Apr 13, 2015

Service With A Smile

Great location very close very friendly staff and a lovely hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
nizzy
Friends
Caernarfon
Apr 10, 2015

small rooms, okay location

Trying to find the hotel was a bit hard, it was about 10min walk from closest tram station (tram 1) . When booking, they didn't mention the city tax and £50 retainer per room. Free tea and coffe was good, maybe a drinking water tap would be good too. We were early so kept our luggage in the free luggage room and went to explore. Checked in and as we were a party of 5, they gave us 1 single person room downstairs, and the 2 twin up stairs... they should have tried to keep us together, maybe a single room next to the twin?! Rooms were clean but small, could do with making sure bathroom shelves are secure :/ . I cant comment on breakfast as we didn't have it, but it looked like they had quite a range on the buffet. Wifi was the basic one, if u need a fast connection etc you had to pay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leeds traveller
Couples
N/A
Apr 6, 2015

Cheap and cheerful

Hotel was in a good location, a short tram ride away from Dam square, red light area etc. Was very basic, but very clean and comfortable. Staff were very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Melissa S.
Family
N/A
Mar 12, 2015

Fantastic hotel

Had a very nice stay at this hotel staff went far and beyond of there duties, they were faboulous, I left one of my bags in the hotel room and they sent it out to me, we had a great time and would 100 go back to this hotel I would 100 recommend this hotel the room was clean and tidy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mitch H
Friends
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

Definitely recommend!

I was only in Amsterdam for 3 and a half days (our flight wasn't until late at night on the last day so gained an extra day) but enjoyed every minute of it. I booked this hotel for the reason being it wasn't too far from Dam Square (0.9 miles to be exact) in fact at the pace I walk it only took about 15-20 mins and because it seemed like such a great price. One thing I didn't like was the check in time for the hotel which was 15:00pm. We booked the flights and hotel as part of a deal and got quite early flights, we were in Amsterdam from 08:20am but couldn't check in until the time stated. But on the plus side we were able to leave all our heavy luggage in a luggage cupboard and got to explore the city until we could check in. The same also applied to when we checked out, the check out time was 12:00pm which seems fair and we were able to leave our luggage at the hotel until we needed to head back to the airport because our flight wasn't until 21:40pm. The hotel offers complimentary hot drinks was great for the start and end of the day, these ranged from coffee, cappuccino, latte, tea and also flavoured teas. The staff were very friendly and always said hello and goodbye whenever we went past the reception desk. The room was very impressive from all the reviews I'd seen I was expecting the room to be quite small but to my surprise it was pretty big including the bathroom. One thing I didn't like about the bathroom though was the shower, it's one of those showers where you have to turn the hot and cold taps to adjust the water temperature of the shower not an electronic one. I was taking a shower on one of the days when the water temperature seemed perfect then all of a sudden the water went boiling hot resulting in my back getting scolded. I didn't even touch the taps, the water temperature just changed on its own. Overall I would definitiley recommend this hotel to anybody wanting to visit Amsterdam and would happily stay there again, in fact I'm planning another trip to Amsterdam again this year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Old masters
Friends
N/A
Feb 21, 2015

Double Dutch

Fantastic place to stay, thoroughly enjoyed the experience of visiting amsterdam , would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
maariah k.
Friends
N/A
Feb 19, 2015

amst

I was expecting a larger double bedroom there wasnt any space for 2 people to move around aso the bed were in an awkward position. However the staff were excellent and attended to any need i had such as a lightbulb change and supplying me with a plug in heater asap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tuesday D
Friends
N/A
Feb 13, 2015

Birthday Trip

Hotel was standard, simple, comfortable and just what two girls needed for a 3 night stay. Very clean and tidy. Helpful staff!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Russ Southend
Couples
Southend-on-Sea, UK
Nov 19, 2014

Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Great for a short stay - the room was adequate and the bathroom could not accommodate 2 people, not even for a game of Twister! Nevertheless, it is great a base; well located and friendly and helpful staff. Very convenient for the nearby Van Gogh and Rijks museums.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hard Rock Cafe is close if you want a decent 'burger/ribs/chicken and fries' meal but otherwise head more towards the centre for greater choice.

Back to menu Return to top