$140 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 25, 2014

Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

3 stars
Nassaukade 387-390, Amsterdam, 1054 AE
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
58 reviews
70TH BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION WITH PRECIOUS GRANDAUGHTER.

I wish that I had taken names of staff.One manager a lovely man helped me printing out Boarding... See full review

  • Baglady1
  • Jul 6, 2014
Single guy

Great location , very friendly stuff ,very easy in and out , average breakfast , rooms are small... See full review

  • Single 38 guy
  • Mar 26, 2013
Modern charmer boasts lovely, convenient location and cozy comforts

The Eden Leidse Square Hotel offers a lovely, cosmopolitan home base from which guests can plan their business or leisure outings. Major destinations like Vondelpark and the Rijksmuseum are only minutes away. Multi-lingual front-desk assistance makes any stay pleasant and productive. Rooms are tidy, cheerful and modern with flat-screen TVs, Wi-Fi access and fully-equipped bathrooms. The Eden Leidse Square Hotel provides daily breakfast, free morning coffee and tea and a lounge to unwind with family and friends.

Highlights
  • Convenient location within walking distance of Rijksmuseum and Vondelpark
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet in the lobby
  • Multi-lingual, 24-hour front-desk staff and in-house, all-day bar and lounge
Rooms

Guests have their pick of the Eden Leidse Square Hotel's 70 cheerful, modern guest rooms. Rooms feature large, airy windows along with colorful drapery and wood furnishings. Guests can relax with flat-screen satellite TVs with On Demand movies and Wi-Fi access (complimentary in superior rooms). 

Features

Guests can start the day with fresh, complimentary coffee and tea in the Eden Leidse Square's bar and lounge. The hotel also offers a wholesome, delicious breakfast. The bar and lounge is the perfect spot to unwind, socialize and enjoy a full range of cocktails, beverages and refreshments. Adjacent, the hotel's Café Americain is a charming lunch and dinner destination whose terrace offers delightful outdoor dining during the summertime.

The friendly, multi-lingual staff and 24-hour front desk are on hand to ensure that each guest's stay in Amsterdam is productive and enjoyable. The Eden Leidse Square Hotel provides complimentary Wi-Fi in the lobby.

Transportation
  • Tram stop (1 block)
  • Amsterdam Central Station
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Attractions
  • Rijksmuseum (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Heineken Experience (.5 mi/1 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Begijnhof (2 mi/3 km)
  • Oude Kerk (2 mi/3 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Vondelpark (1 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access in lobby
  • Wi-Fi access in guest rooms (complimentary in superior rooms)
Polices & Fees
  • A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout
  • This is a non-smoking hotel

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

52.3641 4.8785
Area served
The hotel is situated in a typical Amsterdam's building which has to be reached via a staircase and is not accessible by wheelchairs.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 10.0 km, Rotterdam Airport - 54.1 km.
Area description
The hotel is easily accessible by car as well as public transport. Amsterdam Central Station can be reached by several tram lines (1, 2, 5) - the tram stop is right across from the hotel. You can reach the RAI convention centre in 25 minutes and Amsterdam Schiphol Airport in 35 minutes. At set times, you can make use of the Connexxion Hotel Shuttle Bus, which conveniently stops at the entrance of the hotel. The Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam is located in the historical centre of Amsterdam, right next to the dazzling Leidseplein square with its many bars, restaurants, terraces, theatres and the Casino. From Leidseplein you can also go on a canal tour or rent a bike. The world-famous Vondelpark, the Rijksmuseum (with paintings of Rembrandt) and the Van Gogh Museum are within a few minutes walking distance. The major shopping areas such as the PC Hooftstraat and the Leidsestraat are also very near. The Anne Frank House is situated at approximately 15 minutes from the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam Rooms

SUPERIOR - ROOM
Just a little bit more; believe us, you are worth it! Treat yourself to the extra comfort which we at the Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam call superior, then you get much more than "just a little bit more". Enjoy the extra space and feel like a VIP, that's the effect of our superior rooms.
COMFORT - ROOM
Our 53 standard rooms give the word standard a whole different dimension. Because of the full package standard comfort it will feel like home the minute you walk in. Whether you visit for business or for leisure, we are sure that after one night you will find it hard to leave and get back to the normal live.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Melkweg: 0.1 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.3 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.3 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.3 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.3 mi
  • Melkweg: 0.1 mi
  • Stadsschouwburg of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Leidse Square: 0.2 mi
  • Jorrit Heinen: 0.2 mi
  • Paradiso: 0.3 mi
  • Vondel Park and Overtoom: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Pipe Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Vondelkerk: 0.3 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 0.3 mi
  • Walls Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 0.3 mi
  • P.C. Hooftstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 0.3 mi
  • House of Bols: 0.3 mi
  • Collection d'Art Contemporary Art Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Huis Marseille: 0.4 mi
  • Diamond Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Coster Diamonds: 0.4 mi
  • Metz & Co: 0.4 mi
  • Keizersgracht: 0.4 mi
  • Rijksmuseum: 0.4 mi
  • Leidsestraat: 0.4 mi
  • Stedelijk Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Spiegelkwartier: 0.4 mi
  • Canal House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Biblical Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Houseboat Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Felix Meritis Building: 0.5 mi
  • Museumplein: 0.5 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 0.5 mi
  • Orgelpark: 0.5 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.5 mi
  • BeBoB Design: 0.5 mi
  • Oud-West: 0.5 mi
  • Public Library: 0.5 mi
  • University Library: 0.5 mi
  • Villa Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Prinsengracht: 0.5 mi
  • Spui: 0.6 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.6 mi
  • Netherlands Media Arts Institute: 0.6 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.6 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.6 mi
  • Concert Building: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our lounge bar is a perfect place to relax after a busy day. Here you can enjoy a nice drink. The bar is opened daily until 01:00. Do you prefer a healthy start of a new day? Make use of our Continental Plus breakfast buffet. Our breakfast staff welcomes you daily between 07:00 until 10:00 and on saturday and sunday you can sleep in because we serve breakfast up to 11:00. For dinner reservations you can always contact the reception. In Cafe Americain, situated opposite the hotel, you can have your bill charged to your room in the hotel!. Please ask the reception for more information. In the neighborhood you will find many cozy restaurants, terraces and cafes. Here you can enjoy a simple meal or a lovely dinner. Our reception staff will help you with finding the perfect restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Baglady1
Scotland
Jul 6, 2014

70TH BIRTHDAY CELEBRATION WITH PRECIOUS GRANDAUGHTER.

I wish that I had taken names of staff.One manager a lovely man helped me printing out Boarding tickets in his own Office. I really appreciated this. I think Anna was the one when we checked in , we had a glass of wine and a chat with her after our day out. Clean towels every day, maid service excellent....Could not fault the kindness and comfort of this hote, also lovely touch free hot beverages.Next time i will take a travel kettle to room for my own convenience.Could not fault hotel. Only gripe, we were told by a younger male member of staff that the Shuttle service to Airport was 34 euro...it was 40. we were fortunate we had this amount on us..The taxi driver said he goes by the meter and had no special deals with the Hampshire, which we were told.Thank you Hampshire for a lovely relaxed comfortable visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fantastic Leidsaplein square behind hotel, great shopping restaurants transport to Central station Dam square etc, no 5 tram about 5.60 euro for 2 people.Fantastic bar along from hotel, so friendly and food great and cheap. Lovely people

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
della do
Berkeley
May 16, 2014

Clean budget hotel

This hotel is just fine if you don't need any extra frills and are looking for a decent budget hotel. My room (single compact) was clean and had all the necessary amenities. Phone, hair dryer, flat screen TV. The room was well cleaned every day. The location is very good as many of the tourist attractions are within walking distance. The front desk staff not very friendly but will give needed info when asked. There is a continental breakfast available for 9.5 euros but seemed overpriced compared to what is available nearby in more charming surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pudgy
Liverpool
Mar 28, 2014

Amsterdam on a budget

Very good location, staff friendly and helpful. Lots to see and very good transport from this location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
judy bee
Oxfordshire UK
Feb 23, 2014

Well positioned, basic comfort.

This hotel is very adequate for a short break on a budget. Situated near tram route and cinemas, restaurants etc, only ten minutes from the centre, also had a regular bus service to the airport nearby at a cost of 5 euros. Breakfast was rather meagre for 9.50 euros, relative to the overall cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Single 38 guy
Chicago
Mar 26, 2013

Single guy

Great location , very friendly stuff ,very easy in and out , average breakfast , rooms are small but clean , great value for the price !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikey07
london
Feb 13, 2013

weekend retreat

very good for the money and would definitely return. Breakfast is worth the money. Its very good with free coffee and tea all day (thats real coffee not instant)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
epc4
United Kingdom
Dec 31, 2012

Good value for location

Great value for a central location. Within walking distance to all attractions, and if you don't feel like walking, tram stop is just around the corner. Carpets could use with an update, and mattress was feeling a bit old, but clean sheets & fresh towels everyday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Tourists
Queensland
Dec 3, 2012

Amsterdam Experience

The hotel is a distance from the station and has steep steps at the front. Staff are OK however did not seem interested in us or our questions. Hotel could provide breakfast in the tariff - breakfast is nothing flash. Internet is only provided in the lobby - but once you have a log in try it in your room. the place needs a good clean - carpets especially.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Miss Escape8
Amsterdam
Dec 2, 2012

Sleeping in a Tissue Box

The rooms here are TINY. Very very tiny. Basically it was a bed in a room with about six inches of space around it. There was no room for two people much less the luggage we brought!! Breakfast was also incredibly overpriced, seek your meals on the street But it's in a pretty good location and the staff was very friendly and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Theatre District Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
David lifebyfire
little Rock, Arkansas
Nov 28, 2012

not even close to the pictures on the web

The room was small but it worked for me. The carpet was nasty, never went bare footed. The breakfast was not worth the price. The staff was the only great thing that I can say about this hotel. Overall would not stay there another time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search