$144 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

4 stars
Amstelstraat 17, Amsterdam, 1017 DA
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
25 reviews
Friendly

Friendly, very helpful staff. Great location. Pretty much a 20 minute walk or less to most major... See full review

  • Fritz the Blitz
  • Jul 9, 2014
Perfect location, great staff, great breakfast and room service.

Amazing location. Amazing staff- we arrived early and were able to check in and even upgraded to a... See full review

  • Kdubs232323
  • Apr 29, 2014
Canal-side retreat offers gorgeous location plus 4-star amenities

Overlooking the vibrant nightlife of Rembrandt Square and the city's picturesque canals, the Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel boasts a historic location as well as a range of four-star amenities to ensure a comfortable stay for both leisure and business guests. Take a leisurely stroll or bike ride to the world-famous Flower Market, Dam Square and several major museums. The Brasserie FLO Amsterdam offers acclaimed French and international dishes, including a sumptuous seafood menu, while Bar Pipa's is an ideal hotspot for socializing and cocktails. 

Highlights
  • Vibrant location near scenic canals, Rembrandt Square nightlife and city attractions
  • In-house brasserie offers excellent French and international fare
  • Appealing in-house Bar Pipa's is a delightful spot for unwinding and refreshments
Rooms

The Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel offers 166 guest rooms with trendy, contemporary décor and light, soothing colors. Rooms feature dark wood furnishings, plush beds and fully-equipped bathrooms with rainshowers. Guests can relax with LCD flat-screen TVs with premium channels and On Demand movies as well as Wi-Fi access (fee applies). 

Features

Befitting its vibrant, cosmopolitan location, the Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel welcomes guests with a stylish, contemporary lobby, modern amenities and comprehensive services. Sightseers can take advantage of the hotel's concierge services for tour and ticket assistance while the multi-lingual, 24-hour front desk is on hand to assist with guest hospitality and business needs. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel's public areas.

After an active day of business meetings, shopping or sightseeing, guests will find satisfying French and international fare at the Brasserie FLO Amsterdam. Guests can also stop by the trendy Bar Pipa's to unwind over premium beers, wines and refreshments. The Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel is also Green Key Certified, reflecting its commitment to sustainable tourism practices.

Transportation
  • Metro and tram stops (2 blocks)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11 mi/18 km)
Attractions
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rembrandt House Museum (Rembrandthuis) (1 mi/2 km)
  • Royal Square/Dam Square (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (1 mi/1.5 km)                              
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Begijnhof (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2 mi/3 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 6 multi-functional meeting and event rooms
Polices & Fees
The entire hotel is non-smoking.  All guests are charged a 50 Euro/per night deposit at check-in. A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

52.3662 4.8982
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol (AMS) 11.2 km, Rotterdam Airport (RTM) 55.1 km.
Area description
Amsterdam.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Room
The renovated standard rooms all have a comfortable elevated bed, flatscreen TV, coffee and tea facilities, Minibar, safe, a very luxurious bathroom with bath or shower and a bath set. Every room offers you the possibility to use our free high speed internet. The Standard rooms offer you everything you need for a comfortable stay in Amsterdam!
Superior Room
A room with just a little extra! Our Superior rooms are slightly larger then the Standard rooms. They are all equipped with comfortable elevated beds, coffee and tea facilities, a flatscreen TV, Minibar, safe, and a luxurious bathroom, with superior and executive rooms.
Executive Room
Do you prefer a more luxurious stay? Our Executive rooms have a more luxurious and spacious setup with a separate living area! As our Superior rooms they are also equipped with lovely elevated beds, coffee and tea facilities, flatscreen TV, Minibar, safe, and a luxurious bathroom, with superior and executive rooms.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.1 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.1 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.1 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.2 mi
  • Stopera: 0.2 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Concerto : 0.2 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.2 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.2 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.1 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.1 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.1 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.2 mi
  • Stopera: 0.2 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Concerto : 0.2 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.2 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.2 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.2 mi
  • Jewish Historical Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.3 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.3 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.3 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.3 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.3 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.3 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.3 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.3 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • East India House: 0.3 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.3 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.3 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Theatre Carré: 0.4 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • University Library: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.4 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Book Market: 0.4 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you decide to organise your business meeting at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, you can make use of our newly developed concept called the Conference. The Conference can offer you five beautiful, fully equipped meeting rooms. Each meeting room has its own intimate atmosphere and is equipped with state-ofg-the-art audiovisual facilities like an LCD flatscreen, beamer and a DVD player. We look forward to discuss all your wishes in person, this way we can arrange your meeting as detailed as possible.

Dining

Restaurant & Bar
After a long day in town you can recuperate in our sister hotel with a nice cold beer, a soft drink or a good glass of wine in our Pipa's bar. Bar Pipa's is named after the owner of the Hampshire Eden Hotel Group, it is his nickname. Thanks to the painting in the bar he is always present. The bar itself is nicely illuminated and offers you the opportunity to enjoy a drink and a bite. Enjoy Bar Pipa's in the Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam and let the colours of our bar inspire your stay in Amsterdam! Goodmorning! Wake up with a complete breakfast! We love to spoil you with nice delights, this way you will be ready for a day full of surprises in Amsterdam! Luxurious rolls, warm French croissants, fresh toppings and Dutch cheese are on our buffet.
FLO
FLO Amsterdam is the French hotspot in Amsterdam! Enjoy in stylish surroundings the French cuisine for lunch (Monday till Friday) and dinner (7 days a week) with an unexpected twist. It offers modern French cuisine and has a "Fruits de Mer" section with a daily changing selection from fresh oysters, lobster and crab. A real delight for sea food lovers & French cuisine connoisseurs!
Bar Pipa's
Relax after a busy day in the office or in town. Pipa's trendy lounge bar is the place to be.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (25)

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 25
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bigger al
sunderland
Apr 26, 2014

electrical faults

we had five electricals faults in our room i got a shock off one of the plugs. i reported this and nothing was done.i would not go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
20th anniversary couple
New Orleans, LA
Jun 4, 2010

needs renovation & staff training

This hotel was NOT worthy of a four star rating. While the room was large and quiet, the walls and carpet were filthy. This Eden hotel at Rembrandt Square is physically linked via a corridor to the three-star Eden with the entrance facing the Amstel. The lobby for the three star Eden was so much more inviting with better decor than the four star lobby -- which looked like a mediocre two star lobby. Although we had booked a king bed and even after reminding the check-in clerk, we were given two twin beds, but the second clerk quickly made the change to a larger bed. The first clerk seemed cold and inefficient -- she had trouble finding our reservation, tried to say we were at the wrong hotel, and had to telephone for help. This is not the kind of staff one would expect for a four star hotel. The hallways leading to the room were also dirty. Also, we had to pay "city tax" upon check-out, although the[...] We would NOT stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great cheese shop on Utrechtstraat -- about 4-5 blocks from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rossj
Queensferry, Edinburgh, UK
Jan 9, 2012

Winter break

Very nice hotel but very very expensive. Ideal location for nightlife but if on street side of hotel can be quite noisy with the bars/nightclubs very close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the tram and rail network, fantastic service almost always on time. Taxis are very expensive even for very short distances

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Callifornia
Jun 29, 2010

Great Trip

we chose this hotel based on provious reviews and found them to be acurate. Cleanliness was the bigest issue followed by slow room service for just about everything. The desk staff, however, was very helpful. The decore is all grey and somewhat cold and derprssing. The biggest threat to booking online is that you may not get the room that you booked for as all rooms are on a first come basis when you arrive and the price is not adjusted. All in all, I would stay here again, but only if i checked other hotels firt and fcoulsn;t find something else. Stayed in a 3 * Red Lion when we returned and it was far nicer, cleaner and the staff more than helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We injoyed the restaurants in the square. we would not buy the hotel breakfast package as it was very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Marietta, GA, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Great Hotel

It was a great location and you could walk to bars, restaurants and felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tomka
Boston, MA
Jan 16, 2013

Great option for staying so close to center!

We loved staying at this hotel. The location is absolutely amazing - central to everything - we walked everywhere! Room was clean and tidy. No problems with availability when checking in and no problems with departing. Great concierge - he helped with with our car. You have to request parking in an enclosed facility ahead of time as there are limited spaces. Price was very reasonable as well. Staff at front desk was friendly and informative. We would stay in this hotel again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of dining options. We went to eat at places that had good online reviews and places that we just stumbled upon - NO DISAPPOINTMENTS whatsoever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
didi morgan
london
Oct 19, 2012

Late trip

Very good hotel in a great location Checked in to hotel at 10am and was told my room was ready. Result Enjoyed room and the hotel, only thing to complain about was the poor public wi/fi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ColtB
Arkansas
Oct 6, 2013

Great Location

The Hampshire Hotel was a nice hotel in an excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yvonne F
Philadelphia
Feb 9, 2013

Great second honeymoon

Visited several museums, did a bus tour of the entire city, enjoyed cruising the canals. Took a day trip to nearby Belgium. Enjoyed great foods at the many restaurants. Captured a lot of history with my camera. Wonderful getaway for my husband and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Van Gogh exhibition

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LDBoston
Boston, MA
Aug 5, 2014

Excellent location

The location of this hotel is perfect - right on Rembrandt square but quiet inside. We reached nearly all sights by foot. Only negative is that our "double bed" was actually two twins pushed together and breakfast is quite expensive. Otherwise it was a great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search