$113 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Amstelstraat 17, Amsterdam, 1017 DA

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
32 reviews
Perfect location - Nice room

My husband and I loved this hotel because we were literally in the square. I were about 250 yards... See full review

  • IsabelG
  • Jul 22, 2015
GREAT TRIP

We had an excellent city break in Amsterdam staying at the Hampshire Hotel. Very quiet room despite... See full review

  • Mikey
  • Jun 9, 2015
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Rembrandt House Museum (Rembrandthuis) (1 mi/2 km)
  • Royal Square/Dam Square (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (1 mi/1.5 km)                              
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Begijnhof (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2 mi/3 km)
General

Befitting its vibrant, cosmopolitan location, the Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel welcomes guests with a stylish, contemporary lobby, modern amenities and comprehensive services. Sightseers can take advantage of the hotel's concierge services for tour and ticket assistance while the multi-lingual, 24-hour front desk is on hand to assist with guest hospitality and business needs. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel's public areas.

After an active day of business meetings, shopping or sightseeing, guests will find satisfying French and international fare at the Brasserie FLO Amsterdam. Guests can also stop by the trendy Bar Pipa's to unwind over premium beers, wines and refreshments. The Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel is also Green Key Certified, reflecting its commitment to sustainable tourism practices.

Location

Overlooking the vibrant nightlife of Rembrandt Square and the city's picturesque canals, the Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel boasts a historic location as well as a range of four-star amenities to ensure a comfortable stay for both leisure and business guests. Take a leisurely stroll or bike ride to the world-famous Flower Market, Dam Square and several major museums. The Brasserie FLO Amsterdam offers acclaimed French and international dishes, including a sumptuous seafood menu, while Bar Pipa's is an ideal hotspot for socializing and cocktails. 

Dining
  • Metro and tram stops (2 blocks)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11 mi/18 km)
Rooms

The Eden Rembrandt Square Hotel offers 166 guest rooms with trendy, contemporary décor and light, soothing colors. Rooms feature dark wood furnishings, plush beds and fully-equipped bathrooms with rainshowers. Guests can relax with LCD flat-screen TVs with premium channels and On Demand movies as well as Wi-Fi access (fee applies). 

Property features

Trendy cosmopolitan hotel means sleek, central Amsterdam experience

Highlights
  • Vibrant location near scenic canals, Rembrandt Square nightlife and city attractions
  • In-house brasserie offers excellent French and international fare
  • Appealing in-house Bar Pipa's is a delightful spot for unwinding and refreshments
Nearby attractions
The entire hotel is non-smoking.  All guests are charged a 50 Euro/per night deposit at check-in. A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout
Business
  • Business center
  • 6 multi-functional meeting and event rooms
Transportation
  • Vibrant location near scenic canals, Rembrandt Square nightlife and city attractions
  • In-house brasserie offers excellent French and international fare
  • Appealing in-house Bar Pipa's is a delightful spot for unwinding and refreshments
Policies
The entire hotel is non-smoking.  All guests are charged a 50 Euro/per night deposit at check-in. A 5% city tax is added to all final charges at checkout

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

★★★
$129
3.8 / 5 96 reviews
★★★★
$147
3.8 / 5 46 reviews
★★★★
$170
4.1 / 5 68 reviews
★★★★
$94
3.9 / 5 42 reviews
★★★★
$143
3.8 / 5 19 reviews
★★★★
$150
3.9 / 5 33 reviews
★★★
$70
4.2 / 5 13 reviews

Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam Rooms

Standard Room
The renovated standard rooms all have a comfortable elevated bed, flatscreen TV, coffee and tea facilities, Minibar, safe, a very luxurious bathroom with bath or shower and a bath set. Every room offers you the possibility to use our free high speed internet. The Standard rooms offer you everything you need for a comfortable stay in Amsterdam!
Superior Room
A room with just a little extra! Our Superior rooms are slightly larger then the Standard rooms. They are all equipped with comfortable elevated beds, coffee and tea facilities, a flatscreen TV, Minibar, safe, and a luxurious bathroom, with superior and executive rooms.
Executive Room
Do you prefer a more luxurious stay? Our Executive rooms have a more luxurious and spacious setup with a separate living area! As our Superior rooms they are also equipped with lovely elevated beds, coffee and tea facilities, flatscreen TV, Minibar, safe, and a luxurious bathroom, with superior and executive rooms.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.1 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.1 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.1 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.2 mi
  • Stopera: 0.2 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Concerto : 0.2 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.2 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.2 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.1 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.1 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.1 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.1 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.1 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.2 mi
  • Droog: 0.2 mi
  • Stopera: 0.2 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Concerto : 0.2 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.2 mi
  • Munttoren: 0.2 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.2 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.2 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.2 mi
  • Jewish Historical Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 0.3 mi
  • Foam Photography Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.3 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.3 mi
  • Bloemenmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • Maison de Bonneterie: 0.3 mi
  • Cat Cabinet: 0.3 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.3 mi
  • Kalvertoren: 0.3 mi
  • Museum Van Loon: 0.3 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.3 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • East India House: 0.3 mi
  • Golden Bend: 0.3 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.3 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Theatre Carré: 0.4 mi
  • University of Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • University Library: 0.4 mi
  • International Institute of Social History: 0.4 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Book Market: 0.4 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant & Bar
After a long day in town you can recuperate in our sister hotel with a nice cold beer, a soft drink or a good glass of wine in our Pipa's bar. Bar Pipa's is named after the owner of the Hampshire Eden Hotel Group, it is his nickname. Thanks to the painting in the bar he is always present. The bar itself is nicely illuminated and offers you the opportunity to enjoy a drink and a bite. Enjoy Bar Pipa's in the Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam and let the colours of our bar inspire your stay in Amsterdam! Goodmorning! Wake up with a complete breakfast! We love to spoil you with nice delights, this way you will be ready for a day full of surprises in Amsterdam! Luxurious rolls, warm French croissants, fresh toppings and Dutch cheese are on our buffet.
FLO
FLO Amsterdam is the French hotspot in Amsterdam! Enjoy in stylish surroundings the French cuisine for lunch (Monday till Friday) and dinner (7 days a week) with an unexpected twist. It offers modern French cuisine and has a "Fruits de Mer" section with a daily changing selection from fresh oysters, lobster and crab. A real delight for sea food lovers & French cuisine connoisseurs!
Bar Pipa's
Relax after a busy day in the office or in town. Pipa's trendy lounge bar is the place to be.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
If you decide to organise your business meeting at Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam, you can make use of our newly developed concept called the Conference. The Conference can offer you five beautiful, fully equipped meeting rooms. Each meeting room has its own intimate atmosphere and is equipped with state-ofg-the-art audiovisual facilities like an LCD flatscreen, beamer and a DVD player. We look forward to discuss all your wishes in person, this way we can arrange your meeting as detailed as possible.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
bigger al
Couples
sunderland
Apr 26, 2014

electrical faults

we had five electricals faults in our room i got a shock off one of the plugs. i reported this and nothing was done.i would not go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gimlei
Single
Moscow, Russia
Aug 1, 2010

Central, but not too good

I came to Amsterdam to meet my friends, who were staying at a different hotel. When I just arrived, the check-in went flawlessly, except for the fact that receptionist did not mention the city tax that everyone has to pay upon check-out, but given that it is about 3 euro/day, it was not critical. I was given a room at the fifth (top) floor, and when I entered it there was a terrible smell, something like rotten food. I am not sure whether it was coming from the ventilation or from outside, but then again I didn't really want to find out. I demanded to change the room, and at first the receptionist denied that they had any rooms left, but after I insisted and asked her to look for rooms at their sister hotel, it turned out they actually had another room available after all, albeit a tiny one, and with a smaller bed. The smell in the room was so bad, however, that that seemed like an acceptable trade-off. Finally, another problem that I found was the air conditioning - it was blowing so hard even at the lowest setting that you couldn't really sleep, but if you left it off for long enough - the room quickly became stuffy. Otherwise, the hotel is ok - location is quite central, just next to Rembrand square, where the night life takes place - but it's not too noisy at the same time, or at least I didn't feel it. Breakfast is definitely overpriced and I didn't go for it, since there is a ton of nice cafes nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely try the famous local herring - without bread, with onion and pickles - delicious! There are a lot of places where they sell it, usually in small kiosks on the banks of the channels - I had mine near the flower market.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
2ladies
Family
Uk
May 7, 2014

Expensive but good location

Very noisy room!! Disrupted sleep every night! Shouldn't be so when you've paid their charges for a 4 night " break" Didn't really see any staff to comment - cocktails good but overpriced, as was restaurant. Perfect location which they obviously are cashing in on, close to most things.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rossj
Couples
Queensferry, Edinburgh, UK
Jan 9, 2012

Winter break

Very nice hotel but very very expensive. Ideal location for nightlife but if on street side of hotel can be quite noisy with the bars/nightclubs very close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the tram and rail network, fantastic service almost always on time. Taxis are very expensive even for very short distances

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Callifornia
Jun 29, 2010

Great Trip

we chose this hotel based on provious reviews and found them to be acurate. Cleanliness was the bigest issue followed by slow room service for just about everything. The desk staff, however, was very helpful. The decore is all grey and somewhat cold and derprssing. The biggest threat to booking online is that you may not get the room that you booked for as all rooms are on a first come basis when you arrive and the price is not adjusted. All in all, I would stay here again, but only if i checked other hotels firt and fcoulsn;t find something else. Stayed in a 3 * Red Lion when we returned and it was far nicer, cleaner and the staff more than helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We injoyed the restaurants in the square. we would not buy the hotel breakfast package as it was very expensive.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, Tx
Aug 23, 2009

Clean and easyily accessible

Easily accessible from Schipol via the train to Central Station and Tram #4 or #9 to Rembrandt Square (4th stop). Internet was fine with the cable and walking access to a good portion of exciting Amsterdam. Rooms were clean and convenient. The noise from the people coming out of the bars at 2-3 in the morning is not good on the front side of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk back toward central station to Dam Square Lots of attractions. shopping and restaurants all along the way.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DanielleMC81
Single
Chicago, IL
Jul 12, 2014

Nice location but facility a bit tired

Staff was helpful but facility was a bit tired, could use some updating. Very dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eric Chiu
Business
London
Apr 17, 2015

Quite beaten up

For over 200 euro a night this is an over-priced 4 star hotel - there are holes in the duvet cover! Also the hotel appears to be very old and out of maintainance, room service is overpriced, and worst the interenet is SUPER slow - around 150kb/s actual speed so I ended up using my 3G phone for faster connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dafydd
Family
Wales
Mar 3, 2014

Rembrandt Plein

Excellent base for exploring Amsterdam, with good access to trams. Lovely Asian cafe/ rester aunt next door, great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Liani
Couples
Washington DC
Apr 15, 2014

Fantastic location!

My husband and I spent 5 nights at Hampshire Hotel in Rembrandtplein during spring of 2014. The location was prefect, near the major museums (Rijk and van Gogh), bloomenmarket, canals, plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from, trams and buses run across from the hotel, and nightlife ... was non-stop! The staff was helpful. The room was clean. One thing that was missing from the hotel was a gym. Otherwise, Hampshire Hotel is great hotel to stay in AMS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Why stay in far away hotels just to safe money, stay in Hampshire Hotel and you'll safe more on public transportation and time, because you can walk to main attractions.

Back to menu Return to top