$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Amstelstraat 17, Amsterdam, 1017 DA

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
3.7
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ColtB
Business
Arkansas
Oct 6, 2013

Great Location

The Hampshire Hotel was a nice hotel in an excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yvonne F
Business
Philadelphia
Feb 9, 2013

Great second honeymoon

Visited several museums, did a bus tour of the entire city, enjoyed cruising the canals. Took a day trip to nearby Belgium. Enjoyed great foods at the many restaurants. Captured a lot of history with my camera. Wonderful getaway for my husband and I.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Van Gogh exhibition

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tomka
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 16, 2013

Great option for staying so close to center!

We loved staying at this hotel. The location is absolutely amazing - central to everything - we walked everywhere! Room was clean and tidy. No problems with availability when checking in and no problems with departing. Great concierge - he helped with with our car. You have to request parking in an enclosed facility ahead of time as there are limited spaces. Price was very reasonable as well. Staff at front desk was friendly and informative. We would stay in this hotel again for sure!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are lots of dining options. We went to eat at places that had good online reviews and places that we just stumbled upon - NO DISAPPOINTMENTS whatsoever!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
didi morgan
Business
london
Oct 19, 2012

Late trip

Very good hotel in a great location Checked in to hotel at 10am and was told my room was ready. Result Enjoyed room and the hotel, only thing to complain about was the poor public wi/fi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kstiglich
Business
Peru
Jul 15, 2012

Great location very close to Rembrandt Square...

It was a great experience...the hotel is very close to the Rembrandt Square and there are several options to eat, visit...the room is modern and has a nice decoration, very clean....nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marietta, GA, USA
Jan 12, 2012

Great Hotel

It was a great location and you could walk to bars, restaurants and felt safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rossj
Business
Queensferry, Edinburgh, UK
Jan 9, 2012

Winter break

Very nice hotel but very very expensive. Ideal location for nightlife but if on street side of hotel can be quite noisy with the bars/nightclubs very close by.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the tram and rail network, fantastic service almost always on time. Taxis are very expensive even for very short distances

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Israel
Jun 3, 2011

Good Hotel For A Good Price

The Hotel is in a great location right on rembrandt square. 10 - 20 min walk to every major site to see in amsterdam. the stuff was very professional and nice. the room was new and comfy. didn't eat at the hotel as there are many good cafe's and other places to eat right outside !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Burger Bar, just on the same street in the flowting flowers market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gimlei
Business
Moscow, Russia
Aug 1, 2010

Central, but not too good

I came to Amsterdam to meet my friends, who were staying at a different hotel. When I just arrived, the check-in went flawlessly, except for the fact that receptionist did not mention the city tax that everyone has to pay upon check-out, but given that it is about 3 euro/day, it was not critical. I was given a room at the fifth (top) floor, and when I entered it there was a terrible smell, something like rotten food. I am not sure whether it was coming from the ventilation or from outside, but then again I didn't really want to find out. I demanded to change the room, and at first the receptionist denied that they had any rooms left, but after I insisted and asked her to look for rooms at their sister hotel, it turned out they actually had another room available after all, albeit a tiny one, and with a smaller bed. The smell in the room was so bad, however, that that seemed like an acceptable trade-off. Finally, another problem that I found was the air conditioning - it was blowing so hard even at the lowest setting that you couldn't really sleep, but if you left it off for long enough - the room quickly became stuffy. Otherwise, the hotel is ok - location is quite central, just next to Rembrand square, where the night life takes place - but it's not too noisy at the same time, or at least I didn't feel it. Breakfast is definitely overpriced and I didn't go for it, since there is a ton of nice cafes nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Definitely try the famous local herring - without bread, with onion and pickles - delicious! There are a lot of places where they sell it, usually in small kiosks on the banks of the channels - I had mine near the flower market.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Rembrandt Square Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Callifornia
Jun 29, 2010

Great Trip

we chose this hotel based on provious reviews and found them to be acurate. Cleanliness was the bigest issue followed by slow room service for just about everything. The desk staff, however, was very helpful. The decore is all grey and somewhat cold and derprssing. The biggest threat to booking online is that you may not get the room that you booked for as all rooms are on a first come basis when you arrive and the price is not adjusted. All in all, I would stay here again, but only if i checked other hotels firt and fcoulsn;t find something else. Stayed in a 3 * Red Lion when we returned and it was far nicer, cleaner and the staff more than helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We injoyed the restaurants in the square. we would not buy the hotel breakfast package as it was very expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top