$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 24, 2015

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Plantage Middenlaan 48, Amsterdam, 1018 DH

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
56 reviews
Love this hotel recommend it!

Just a ten minute walk to rembrandt and away from the hustle and bustle we love the hampshire! And... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • May 15, 2015
weekend trip

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Very clean and nice size room with en suite bathroom. A... See full review

  • Andrew R.
  • Feb 24, 2015
Family-friendly hotel with breakfast ideal for on-the-go sightseers

Housed in a classic 100-year-old building, the Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam welcomes guests with a lively boutique feel, friendly service and smart, back-to-basics conveniences. This centrally located hotel in the green town district Plantage buurt is conveniently close to several premier Amsterdam destinations like Rembrandtplein, Waterlooplein and Artis Zoo. The monumental hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi access and a daily breakfast buffet (not included in room rate) along with a delectable lobby bar and a multilingual staff - all to ensure on-the-go guest are fully satisfied. Rooms range from compact singles to family size affairs with multiple beds. For a chat or a game of chess, guests can chill out at the cozy lobby. Public parking (fees apply) and 24-hour vending machine are also available.

Highlights
  • A non-smoking hotel with hotel-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Conveniently situated within walking distance of major Amsterdam attractions
  • Excellent breakfast buffet and lobby bar onsite serving refreshments
  • Public parking (at cost)
Rooms

The Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam's 91 guest rooms consist of several varieties beginning with standard single rooms, each of which comes with a twin bed and standard rooms which have two twin beds.Superior rooms come with a double bed or two twin beds, while quadruple rooms, designed to accommodate families, come with four twin beds. All rooms are outfitted with cable LCD TV, bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer, safe deposit box, work desk, Wi-Fi access, coffee/tea maker, and comfortable seating. Family rooms come equipped with telephone wake-up service.

Features

Near Amsterdam's Botanical Garden and Artis Zoo, the Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam offers a family-friendly stopover with comforts and amenities to ease the most hectic Amsterdam holidays. Several of the city's premier attractions are just a short walk or tram ride away, including Dam Square, high-end Kalverstraat shopping, the Rembrandt House Museum, the Waterlooplein, and the Rembrandtplein. Guests can start their day with Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam's inviting breakfast buffet (not included in room rate) and unwind between holiday excursions or meetings with refreshments from the hotel's lobby bar. Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access is also available.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11 mi/18 km)
Attractions
  • Artis Zoo (across the street)
  • Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus) (1 block)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Rembrandt House Museum (Rembrandthuis) (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)  (3.5 mi/5.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (4 mi/6.5 km)
Business
The hotel staff can check availability and negotiate rates at nearby Artis Party & Congress Centre and De Burcht van Berlage, both offering extensive meeting and conference facilities
Polices & Fees
  • Public parking fee is 40 EUR per day.
  • The hotel charges a 5.5% city tax, to be paid upon check-out.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
You will stay in a comfortable room that has free wifi Internet access, LCD Television screen, keycard system, safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and telephone with a direct outside line. Each room has its own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
The superior twin room is a spacious, comfortable room which is equipped with a bathroom with shower, toilet and hair dryer, safe, desk, free wifi Internet, coffee and tea making facilities, comfortable seating and a LCD television.
FAMILY - ROOM
The Family Room is a spacious, comfortable room which is equipped with a bathroom with shower, toilet and hair dryer, safe, desk, free wifi Internet, coffee and tea making facilities, comfortable seating and a LCD television. Families of 3 to 4 persons can reserve this room with seperate beds.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Hollandsche Schouwburg and Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Artis Royal Zoo: 0.1 mi
  • The Resistance Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.4 mi
  • Jewish Historical Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Theatre Carré: 0.4 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of the Tropics: 0.5 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Hollandsche Schouwburg and Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Artis Royal Zoo: 0.1 mi
  • The Resistance Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.4 mi
  • Jewish Historical Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Theatre Carré: 0.4 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of the Tropics: 0.5 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Stopera: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.5 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.5 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Oosterpark: 0.5 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.6 mi
  • De Gooyer Windmill: 0.6 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.6 mi
  • Science Centre NEMO: 0.6 mi
  • De Schreeuw: 0.6 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.6 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.6 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.6 mi
  • Concerto : 0.6 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.6 mi
  • Dappermarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Droog: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.7 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.7 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.7 mi
  • Waag: 0.7 mi
  • East India House: 0.7 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.8 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.8 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam purely focuses on overnight stays, therefore we do not have meeting facilities within our own premises but in the surroundings you will find a lot of possibilities. Feel free to contact our sales department and we will arrange it for you, in corporation with our colleague Hampshire Hotels or our other partners in the meeting business.

Dining

Breakfast
There is nothing like a good breakfast to start your day! From 7 am till 10.30 am we serve our breakfast buffet with fresh rolls and bread, warm dishes like bacon, sausages and homemade scrambled eggs. To complete your breakfast we offer a diversity of coffee, tea and juices. This breakfast will get you started! For a drink or a snack, a chat or a game of chess our cosy lobby is all day the place to be. A vending machine is there to serve you 24/7.
Restaurants
The Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam offers you breakfast, snacks and drinks. For your lunch or dinner, Amsterdam is like paradise. You will find local cuisines from most of the 175 nationalities that are present in Amsterdam, from tapas to fajita's, from sushi to momo's, there is a wide range of choice and our staff is most willing to help you find the restaurant of your taste.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 56
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
3.9

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston Mass
Dec 7, 2010

Good enough

I've stayed in Amsterdam several times. This place is just a standard 2 star with small bathrooms and small rooms. A good value if you are traveling alone in the Dam and just need a room you wont be in very much.Beds are fine.100% non smoking.Use Tram 9.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H. Eleinen
Business
Alexandria,Egypt
Jul 6, 2012

It' a nice hotel for a short stay.

It was nice hotel with nice room, except that you don't get WI FI in your room only in the reception. And I was staying in a room with 4 bedrooms alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is 15 min walking to centrum, also very near to a tram and bus station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike Samuels
Business
Stockport , England
May 15, 2013

Good value, not outstanding

I left the Hampshire knowing that I'd come back, if I couldn't find anywhere else. Good location, next to the zoo with good cafes nearby (providing much better value for breakfast than the Hampshire's 16 euro offer. Try "Coffee To Walk" next door! As a single traveler I chose a twin room which was big enough for me. Should I return with a friend we shall upgrade to a "superior" twin. The hotel is 20 mins walk from central Amsterdam and on a main tram line to the centre so access is no problem. Rijksmuseum is a pleasant walk or tram ride away. Staff were helpful and friendly; overall I would recommend this hotel, not as the best, but as good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Coffee To Walk." Fantastic little cafe, magical ambience with great choice of coffee, friendly host and "Aussie Breakfast PIe" to accompany beautiful jazz background music. Breakfast pie indeed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
french face irish mind
Business
london
Jun 29, 2013

single guy in amsterdam

i should start buy staying that i enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The room was much bigger and and nicer than i expected for the great price and had no problem at all with the size of the bathroom as stated in reviews i read. the staff were friendly and helpful and its in a nice quite part of the dam so you get a rest from the maddness from the center. will say that it is a bit of a walk tho ... i got lost finding it so when you arrive defo get the number 9 train from the station or dam square, and would also say that theres no a big smoking buzz at the hotel met no1 outside or there and the snack machine is really expensive and robbed my twix :) over all really good and great value for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

train 9 from metro and get off at the zoo .. or walk to dam square and get the 9 or 14. amsterdam is a maze and your just get lost best using the train for the first day or so

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 29, 2010

Small but workable

A nice Hotel conveniently located if you plan on using public transportation in Amsterdam. The rooms are very small and the bathrooms are tiny! Still, if you intend to explore the city this Hotel can be a good base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Be careful about the cabs at the Central Station. They might overcharge tourists. It's very easy to take a tram that stops directly in front of the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kailua
May 30, 2010

staying in Amsterdam

excellent staff at desk. Very very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dmnklly
Business
Mayo, Ireland
Jun 14, 2013

Just amazing

I stayed there for 5 nights had a great time the bed was comfy the room was clean the space was small but perfect for one person. The staff were very nice to me :) few issues was i wasn't told about the tax for staying in the hotel so lost 15 euro of my deposit and at night when i cam home the door never seemed to work but other then that great hotel i would recommend it and i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top