$86 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Plantage Middenlaan 48, Amsterdam, 1018 DH

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sinbad0910
Couples
tamworth
Mar 10, 2015

Decent Budget Hotel

Hotel room was clean and tidy with good facilities although a fridge in our room would have been a bonus. For the price can't complain and it was only a 10 minute walk from the centre of Amsterdam. Gets a thumbs up from us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
London
Nov 6, 2010

Comfy and clean

I read the reviews before i went and some were quite bad but, it looked good and the location for me was perfect. The staff were very nice and helpful, they gave you maps and good tips on getting around. The rooms are small but, if you just want a shower and a good sleep, it's good. I would go back and I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A good stroll through many interesting areas including the flower market and christmas shop on your way to Anne Franks hse, Van Gogh museum finishing the evening in the Leidesplein for a meal.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Northern Ireland
Feb 21, 2011

Loved it here....just go :)

Best location in all of Amsterdam, one minute tram journey on trams 9 or 14. You could easily walk but we didn't because it was a bit cold in February. Little tip, there are only certain doors you can get on trams...I learnt from experience on my first day I hoped on the tram threw the wrong door and the door shut straight behind me with my boyfriend stuck on the outside. The tram took off and we were separated...nearly died. trams stop quite often though so we did find each other ok. Second tip...get a Map in the hotel, there brilliant. If your going to Amsterdam, stay in this hotel. Are hotel room was lovely, room 203, was shocked at how big it was cause I read the reviews. The room was big. We had 2 single beds pushed together, which where very clean and comfy. The rooms where tidied and cleaned everyday. The bathroom was so clean and big. There was a hairdryer, shampoo and body gel, a big mirror which suited me and 3 towels. The negatives are, are Tv didn't work and the front stairs carpet could be replaced. There is a bakery down the street which is soooo good. The woman made us ham salad sandwiches(where where in huge bread roll type things)which were class. The were so fresh mmm yummy and cheap to, only 3.50 euro. In my favourite bakery up the main eating street just off Dam square which is amazing also but they charged 6 euro for there salad baps, they where yummy but. You have got to get a heated chocolate waffle in this Bakery, we got one every night..unbelievable. Amsterdam is beautiful, its like going back in time with the old bikes, old buildings and police men on horses with very little cars, brilliant to see. Oh and can I just say the boys are hottt. So much to do in Amsterdam....loved it so much. Anne Frank was class, and Madam Tussauds was good crack, remember your camera :)You can't miss out on a wee snap of you and Robert Pattinson. Nemo was ok, seeing as me and my partner are 18 and 23 it was a little boring, got a few laughs but, you could make bubbles around yourself which is pretty cool. I've got so much to write about its ridiculous. The people are amazing...they speak so many languages and are so friendly, I couldn't get over it. Oh and the shops are amazing. There is normal shopping streets with Zara and River island then there is a better version of house of Frazer which has Gucci and Louis Vuitton etc...so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a tram to dam square and walk up the main eating street. There are so many resturants. The Bakery on the right hand side, (you can't miss it...looks and smells amazing) stop and get a heated waffel, so good. The steak house is good on the left hand size, order chicken and peppered sauce. You get chips and salad with it and your drinks come in huge pint glasses. The Chinese resturant is amazing, walk up this street past the 1st Canal and its the chinese on the corner(on the left), you can't miss it either. (you go upstairs init) and it is so posh and not expensive. Order the Sweet and sour chicken and there chicken chow main. Its amazing. loved it.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Susan D.
Couples
N/A
Jul 9, 2015

Fab time in Amsterdam

The Hampshire hotel is straight across the road from Artis Zoo, ideal for trams to centre, (takes 10 mins if that). The room was clean, comfy, bathroom with shower was quite small but was fine for a short stay. Towels changed daily. Staff are friendly and helpful. Safe in room. Tea and coffee in reception is free, we went out for breakfast, so didn't try in hotel . Bars and restaurants nearby and within walking distance. People are really friendly/chatty. Would recommend for a short stay in Amsterdam, we loved it, it was our first visit but we will definately be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddie Smith
Business
Clemson, SC
May 21, 2013

Staff was very helpful

The rooms were spacious and I think the beds were very comfortable. I had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommy Cool
Family
Panama City, Panama
Jul 6, 2010

Charming and comfortable

The location is fantastic Just in front of the hotel is the Artis Zoo of Amsterdam. If you are traveling with children, I highly recommend the visit. Many little restaurants around. The staff very friendly and very helpful. Clean rooms. Internet. TV . Quiet. I highly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can have a delicious breakfast with fresh bread just out of the oven in a charming bakery couple of steps front the hotel. The price is around 4 euros per person for a sandwich and a coffee, which is very reasonable comparing the 15 euros per person breakfast of the hotel. You can also buy there turkish food for dinner or lunch or for later. This bakery closes at 6 pm. It is delicious .

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Kailua
May 30, 2010

staying in Amsterdam

excellent staff at desk. Very very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
San Francisco, CA
May 5, 2008

Very comfortable stay

The Eden Lancaster provided a calm respite from the more hectic center of Amsterdam. The room was clean, comfortable, and well appointed and the complete morning breakfast buffet was a welcome treat. Front desk staff ranged from helpful to diffident, perhaps based on a language barrier. The location is a bit remote from the hub-bub, but the proximity of the zoo and a lovely park make for a relaxing stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gilda N.
Couples
Broxburn
Jan 12, 2015

Happy

I had booked the holiday for my partners 30th birthday - I had emailed the hotel in advance to request some balloons etc for the room. My partner was happily surprised when he arrived so thanks for doing that! We were in room 118 and it was massive, though it's not a room if you want a room with a view - not a problem for us as we were out and about all day. The room was immaculate! We did not have a lot of dealings with staff but when we did they were friendly and professional. It's not right in the centre but it is across the road from the zoo and the tram runs right by it. We walked everywhere. Only downside was that it was 2 single beds pushed together and rather then try to join them together as other hotels I have been in they left them as single which was a bit of pain but not the end of the world. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you love Indian Food definitely give Gandhis a shout on the Damrak - you have to walk down an alley which is shared with a sauna but don't let that put you off! and order the lamb! mmm. Also pop into the local shop and buy some Chocomel!!!

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew R.
Couples
N/A
Feb 24, 2015

weekend trip

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Very clean and nice size room with en suite bathroom. A lovely and very comfortable double bed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Situated in a quiet part of town but Only 10 - 15 mins walk to dam square. Will be returning for future stay. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top