$117 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 21, 2015

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Plantage Middenlaan 48, Amsterdam, 1018 DH

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Nov 6, 2010

Comfy and clean

I read the reviews before i went and some were quite bad but, it looked good and the location for me was perfect. The staff were very nice and helpful, they gave you maps and good tips on getting around. The rooms are small but, if you just want a shower and a good sleep, it's good. I would go back and I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A good stroll through many interesting areas including the flower market and christmas shop on your way to Anne Franks hse, Van Gogh museum finishing the evening in the Leidesplein for a meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Ireland
Feb 21, 2011

Loved it here....just go :)

Best location in all of Amsterdam, one minute tram journey on trams 9 or 14. You could easily walk but we didn't because it was a bit cold in February. Little tip, there are only certain doors you can get on trams...I learnt from experience on my first day I hoped on the tram threw the wrong door and the door shut straight behind me with my boyfriend stuck on the outside. The tram took off and we were separated...nearly died. trams stop quite often though so we did find each other ok. Second tip...get a Map in the hotel, there brilliant. If your going to Amsterdam, stay in this hotel. Are hotel room was lovely, room 203, was shocked at how big it was cause I read the reviews. The room was big. We had 2 single beds pushed together, which where very clean and comfy. The rooms where tidied and cleaned everyday. The bathroom was so clean and big. There was a hairdryer, shampoo and body gel, a big mirror which suited me and 3 towels. The negatives are, are Tv didn't work and the front stairs carpet could be replaced. There is a bakery down the street which is soooo good. The woman made us ham salad sandwiches(where where in huge bread roll type things)which were class. The were so fresh mmm yummy and cheap to, only 3.50 euro. In my favourite bakery up the main eating street just off Dam square which is amazing also but they charged 6 euro for there salad baps, they where yummy but. You have got to get a heated chocolate waffle in this Bakery, we got one every night..unbelievable. Amsterdam is beautiful, its like going back in time with the old bikes, old buildings and police men on horses with very little cars, brilliant to see. Oh and can I just say the boys are hottt. So much to do in Amsterdam....loved it so much. Anne Frank was class, and Madam Tussauds was good crack, remember your camera :)You can't miss out on a wee snap of you and Robert Pattinson. Nemo was ok, seeing as me and my partner are 18 and 23 it was a little boring, got a few laughs but, you could make bubbles around yourself which is pretty cool. I've got so much to write about its ridiculous. The people are amazing...they speak so many languages and are so friendly, I couldn't get over it. Oh and the shops are amazing. There is normal shopping streets with Zara and River island then there is a better version of house of Frazer which has Gucci and Louis Vuitton etc...so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a tram to dam square and walk up the main eating street. There are so many resturants. The Bakery on the right hand side, (you can't miss it...looks and smells amazing) stop and get a heated waffel, so good. The steak house is good on the left hand size, order chicken and peppered sauce. You get chips and salad with it and your drinks come in huge pint glasses. The Chinese resturant is amazing, walk up this street past the 1st Canal and its the chinese on the corner(on the left), you can't miss it either. (you go upstairs init) and it is so posh and not expensive. Order the Sweet and sour chicken and there chicken chow main. Its amazing. loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carolineb
Business
New York
Jul 31, 2012

Clean and efficient

Nice place to stay for a night or two. Clean well kept but small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Euro-bound
Business
Washington state
Aug 19, 2009

Found a great hotel too late!

Terrific location--we were upgraded to a larger room. Very clean and comfy beds. I wish we had stayed there for our entire Amsterdam visit, but alas, we had booked only one night before we went to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Coffee to Walk" was a great, reasonably priced cafe a few doors down. Good breakfast and coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Late 30's guest
Business
Florida
Nov 29, 2010

Nice room with everything you need.

There is pleanty around the hotel to grab food, and a drink at night. Next time would pick something a little coser to more action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Must get a tram pass, especially if staying at this hotel. It is in a nice area but too far to walk to the main action.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 25, 2009

Amsterdam

Really loved the location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Some of the guests were annoying however, talking loudly on their phones until 3am... and yes, you could hear them through the wall. Otherwise it was fine. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lofel & Burke cafe just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kdu54
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Quiet and convenient location

Came week early for annual meeting to enjoy one of my favorite European cities. Have stayed at this hotel before and like the quiet neighborhood. Rooms are small, clean and quiet. WiFi available in lobby. Hotel location 1-block from tram line makes transportation quick and easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hermiston, Or US
Dec 21, 2010

Good value location away from the crowds

Visitng daughter going to college there, the time of year not the best due to winter weather conditions. Hotel located away from the city core but close enough to get there by tram which runs by. Located nest to the Zoo. Resturants and bars near by so one could eat and drink in the area with locals,which was fun. Canal boat trips were great. took high speed train to Colgne,Germany to take in the Christmas Markets they are worth seeing. The architecture in Rotterdam is good to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
Oct 12, 2009

Dutch experience

The building is nice and interesting. Rooms are small but cozy. A great breakfast is offered at very convenient time, and the person in charge (who is not from Amsterdam) is kind and friendly. The rest of the staff is not very friendly but I just learned (first hand) that is the way with locals everywhere in Amsterdam. The hotel is close to many interesting places, tram line stop is half block away, there are at least 7 restaurants closeby, and it is located in a beautiful and quiet zone. The only problem I had was the impossibility to connect to internet in my room, not even with the help of a member of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
canadianlivingnE.U.
Business
paris
Jul 28, 2009

Amazing deal! great hotel

The hotel was only 20 bucks more than a hostel were you sleep with 8 people in the same room. The hotel s near center to walk or a super fast tram that stops in front of the hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the room furnished very well. The rooms are small but it is the same at all hotels in amsterdam. they let me check out at 2 pm with no problems. Great stay!! I have stayed in hotels twice ad thrice the price and preferred this one.. book it !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top