$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 5, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

3 stars
Plantage Middenlaan 48, Amsterdam, 1018 DH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
44 reviews
Staff was very helpful

The rooms were spacious and I think the beds were very comfortable. I had a great stay. See full review

  • Eddie Smith
  • May 21, 2013
Charming and comfortable

The location is fantastic Just in front of the hotel is the Artis Zoo of Amsterdam. If you are... See full review

  • Mommy Cool
  • Jul 6, 2010
Family-friendly hotel with breakfast ideal for on-the-go sightseers

Housed in a classic 100-year-old building, the Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam welcomes guests with a lively boutique feel, friendly service and smart, back-to-basics conveniences. This centrally located hotel in the green town district Plantage buurt is conveniently close to several premier Amsterdam destinations like Rembrandtplein, Waterlooplein and Artis Zoo. The monumental hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi access and a daily breakfast buffet (not included in room rate) along with a delectable lobby bar and a multilingual staff - all to ensure on-the-go guest are fully satisfied. Rooms range from compact singles to family size affairs with multiple beds. For a chat or a game of chess, guests can chill out at the cozy lobby. Public parking (fees apply) and 24-hour vending machine are also available.

Highlights
  • A non-smoking hotel with hotel-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Conveniently situated within walking distance of major Amsterdam attractions
  • Excellent breakfast buffet and lobby bar onsite serving refreshments
  • Public parking (at cost)
Rooms

The Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam's 91 guest rooms consist of several varieties beginning with standard single rooms, each of which comes with a twin bed and standard rooms which have two twin beds.Superior rooms come with a double bed or two twin beds, while quadruple rooms, designed to accommodate families, come with four twin beds. All rooms are outfitted with cable LCD TV, bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer, safe deposit box, work desk, Wi-Fi access, coffee/tea maker, and comfortable seating. Family rooms come equipped with telephone wake-up service.

Features

Near Amsterdam's Botanical Garden and Artis Zoo, the Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam offers a family-friendly stopover with comforts and amenities to ease the most hectic Amsterdam holidays. Several of the city's premier attractions are just a short walk or tram ride away, including Dam Square, high-end Kalverstraat shopping, the Rembrandt House Museum, the Waterlooplein, and the Rembrandtplein. Guests can start their day with Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam's inviting breakfast buffet (not included in room rate) and unwind between holiday excursions or meetings with refreshments from the hotel's lobby bar. Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access is also available.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11 mi/18 km)
Attractions
  • Artis Zoo (across the street)
  • Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus) (1 block)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Rembrandt House Museum (Rembrandthuis) (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)  (3.5 mi/5.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (4 mi/6.5 km)
Business
The hotel staff can check availability and negotiate rates at nearby Artis Party & Congress Centre and De Burcht van Berlage, both offering extensive meeting and conference facilities
Polices & Fees
  • Public parking fee is 40 EUR per day.
  • The hotel charges a 5.5% city tax, to be paid upon check-out.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

52.3659 4.9131
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 12.0 km, Rotterdam Airport - 55.6 km.
Area description
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam is located in the greenest part of the city centre; town district Plantagebuurt. Within walking distance of the hotel you will find the Waterlooplein, the Rembrandtplein and Artis zoo.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
You will stay in a comfortable room that has free wifi Internet access, LCD Television screen, keycard system, safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and telephone with a direct outside line. Each room has its own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
The superior twin room is a spacious, comfortable room which is equipped with a bathroom with shower, toilet and hair dryer, safe, desk, free wifi Internet, coffee and tea making facilities, comfortable seating and a LCD television.
FAMILY - ROOM
The Family Room is a spacious, comfortable room which is equipped with a bathroom with shower, toilet and hair dryer, safe, desk, free wifi Internet, coffee and tea making facilities, comfortable seating and a LCD television. Families of 3 to 4 persons can reserve this room with seperate beds.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Hollandsche Schouwburg and Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Artis Royal Zoo: 0.1 mi
  • The Resistance Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.4 mi
  • Jewish Historical Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Theatre Carré: 0.4 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of the Tropics: 0.5 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Hollandsche Schouwburg and Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Artis Royal Zoo: 0.1 mi
  • The Resistance Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.4 mi
  • Jewish Historical Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Theatre Carré: 0.4 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of the Tropics: 0.5 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Stopera: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.5 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.5 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Oosterpark: 0.5 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.6 mi
  • De Gooyer Windmill: 0.6 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.6 mi
  • Science Centre NEMO: 0.6 mi
  • De Schreeuw: 0.6 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.6 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.6 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.6 mi
  • Concerto : 0.6 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.6 mi
  • Dappermarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Droog: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.7 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.7 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.7 mi
  • Waag: 0.7 mi
  • East India House: 0.7 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.8 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.8 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.8 mi

Dining

Breakfast
There is nothing like a good breakfast to start your day! From 7 am till 10.30 am we serve our breakfast buffet with fresh rolls and bread, warm dishes like bacon, sausages and homemade scrambled eggs. To complete your breakfast we offer a diversity of coffee, tea and juices. This breakfast will get you started! For a drink or a snack, a chat or a game of chess our cosy lobby is all day the place to be. A vending machine is there to serve you 24/7.
Restaurants
The Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam offers you breakfast, snacks and drinks. For your lunch or dinner, Amsterdam is like paradise. You will find local cuisines from most of the 175 nationalities that are present in Amsterdam, from tapas to fajita's, from sushi to momo's, there is a wide range of choice and our staff is most willing to help you find the restaurant of your taste.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam purely focuses on overnight stays, therefore we do not have meeting facilities within our own premises but in the surroundings you will find a lot of possibilities. Feel free to contact our sales department and we will arrange it for you, in corporation with our colleague Hampshire Hotels or our other partners in the meeting business.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carolineb
New York
Jul 31, 2012

Clean and efficient

Nice place to stay for a night or two. Clean well kept but small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
Oct 12, 2009

Dutch experience

The building is nice and interesting. Rooms are small but cozy. A great breakfast is offered at very convenient time, and the person in charge (who is not from Amsterdam) is kind and friendly. The rest of the staff is not very friendly but I just learned (first hand) that is the way with locals everywhere in Amsterdam. The hotel is close to many interesting places, tram line stop is half block away, there are at least 7 restaurants closeby, and it is located in a beautiful and quiet zone. The only problem I had was the impossibility to connect to internet in my room, not even with the help of a member of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Northern Ireland
Feb 21, 2011

Loved it here....just go :)

Best location in all of Amsterdam, one minute tram journey on trams 9 or 14. You could easily walk but we didn't because it was a bit cold in February. Little tip, there are only certain doors you can get on trams...I learnt from experience on my first day I hoped on the tram threw the wrong door and the door shut straight behind me with my boyfriend stuck on the outside. The tram took off and we were separated...nearly died. trams stop quite often though so we did find each other ok. Second tip...get a Map in the hotel, there brilliant. If your going to Amsterdam, stay in this hotel. Are hotel room was lovely, room 203, was shocked at how big it was cause I read the reviews. The room was big. We had 2 single beds pushed together, which where very clean and comfy. The rooms where tidied and cleaned everyday. The bathroom was so clean and big. There was a hairdryer, shampoo and body gel, a big mirror which suited me and 3 towels. The negatives are, are Tv didn't work and the front stairs carpet could be replaced. There is a bakery down the street which is soooo good. The woman made us ham salad sandwiches(where where in huge bread roll type things)which were class. The were so fresh mmm yummy and cheap to, only 3.50 euro. In my favourite bakery up the main eating street just off Dam square which is amazing also but they charged 6 euro for there salad baps, they where yummy but. You have got to get a heated chocolate waffle in this Bakery, we got one every night..unbelievable. Amsterdam is beautiful, its like going back in time with the old bikes, old buildings and police men on horses with very little cars, brilliant to see. Oh and can I just say the boys are hottt. So much to do in Amsterdam....loved it so much. Anne Frank was class, and Madam Tussauds was good crack, remember your camera :)You can't miss out on a wee snap of you and Robert Pattinson. Nemo was ok, seeing as me and my partner are 18 and 23 it was a little boring, got a few laughs but, you could make bubbles around yourself which is pretty cool. I've got so much to write about its ridiculous. The people are amazing...they speak so many languages and are so friendly, I couldn't get over it. Oh and the shops are amazing. There is normal shopping streets with Zara and River island then there is a better version of house of Frazer which has Gucci and Louis Vuitton etc...so good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a tram to dam square and walk up the main eating street. There are so many resturants. The Bakery on the right hand side, (you can't miss it...looks and smells amazing) stop and get a heated waffel, so good. The steak house is good on the left hand size, order chicken and peppered sauce. You get chips and salad with it and your drinks come in huge pint glasses. The Chinese resturant is amazing, walk up this street past the 1st Canal and its the chinese on the corner(on the left), you can't miss it either. (you go upstairs init) and it is so posh and not expensive. Order the Sweet and sour chicken and there chicken chow main. Its amazing. loved it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Euro-bound
Washington state
Aug 19, 2009

Found a great hotel too late!

Terrific location--we were upgraded to a larger room. Very clean and comfy beds. I wish we had stayed there for our entire Amsterdam visit, but alas, we had booked only one night before we went to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Coffee to Walk" was a great, reasonably priced cafe a few doors down. Good breakfast and coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt Poteat
Atlanta, GA
Nov 2, 2009

Great location and price.

The hotel is perfectly located in the city. It is outside of the busy hussle and bussle of the downtown crowds. Directly across the street from Artis, which houses the botanical gardens, the zoo and the aquarium. Easy access to the trams to send you to any part of the city. The park beside the hotel is divine. Quite little park that locals take their dogs too to run and play. Excellent dining just down the street towards the market area. Had some the best Italian meals that I have ever had in my life; plus the local bar introduced me to a wonderful local brew for the Autumn season. I would stay at this hotel again and highly recommend to any visitor to Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EXCELLENT dining on the opposite end of the block from the hotel. 4 star dining and very affordable!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Late 30's guest
Florida
Nov 29, 2010

Nice room with everything you need.

There is pleanty around the hotel to grab food, and a drink at night. Next time would pick something a little coser to more action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Must get a tram pass, especially if staying at this hotel. It is in a nice area but too far to walk to the main action.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Port St Lucie, FL
Jan 25, 2010

Clean, nice, directly by the Artis Zoo

Walls a bit thin, very clean and nice inside. Great location next to the Artis Zoo with a short walk to a canal stop. Family room had 4 twins but a shower instead of a bathtub. Very helpful staff. Close to atm, food, and a small market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

If you have kids checkout TonFun, an underground steelpark not too far from the hotel. Huge play area and only about 8 euros per kid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kdu54
San Francisco, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Quiet and convenient location

Came week early for annual meeting to enjoy one of my favorite European cities. Have stayed at this hotel before and like the quiet neighborhood. Rooms are small, clean and quiet. WiFi available in lobby. Hotel location 1-block from tram line makes transportation quick and easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles
Nov 25, 2009

Amsterdam

Really loved the location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Some of the guests were annoying however, talking loudly on their phones until 3am... and yes, you could hear them through the wall. Otherwise it was fine. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lofel & Burke cafe just around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
London
Nov 6, 2010

Comfy and clean

I read the reviews before i went and some were quite bad but, it looked good and the location for me was perfect. The staff were very nice and helpful, they gave you maps and good tips on getting around. The rooms are small but, if you just want a shower and a good sleep, it's good. I would go back and I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A good stroll through many interesting areas including the flower market and christmas shop on your way to Anne Franks hse, Van Gogh museum finishing the evening in the Leidesplein for a meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search