$60 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

3 stars
Plantage Middenlaan 48, Amsterdam, 1018 DH
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
44 reviews
Staff was very helpful

The rooms were spacious and I think the beds were very comfortable. I had a great stay. See full review

  • Eddie Smith
  • May 21, 2013
Charming and comfortable

The location is fantastic Just in front of the hotel is the Artis Zoo of Amsterdam. If you are... See full review

  • Mommy Cool
  • Jul 6, 2010
Family-friendly hotel with breakfast ideal for on-the-go sightseers

Housed in a classic 100-year-old building, the Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam welcomes guests with a lively boutique feel, friendly service and smart, back-to-basics conveniences. This centrally located hotel in the green town district Plantage buurt is conveniently close to several premier Amsterdam destinations like Rembrandtplein, Waterlooplein and Artis Zoo. The monumental hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi access and a daily breakfast buffet (not included in room rate) along with a delectable lobby bar and a multilingual staff - all to ensure on-the-go guest are fully satisfied. Rooms range from compact singles to family size affairs with multiple beds. For a chat or a game of chess, guests can chill out at the cozy lobby. Public parking (fees apply) and 24-hour vending machine are also available.

Highlights
  • A non-smoking hotel with hotel-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Conveniently situated within walking distance of major Amsterdam attractions
  • Excellent breakfast buffet and lobby bar onsite serving refreshments
  • Public parking (at cost)
Rooms

The Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam's 91 guest rooms consist of several varieties beginning with standard single rooms, each of which comes with a twin bed and standard rooms which have two twin beds.Superior rooms come with a double bed or two twin beds, while quadruple rooms, designed to accommodate families, come with four twin beds. All rooms are outfitted with cable LCD TV, bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer, safe deposit box, work desk, Wi-Fi access, coffee/tea maker, and comfortable seating. Family rooms come equipped with telephone wake-up service.

Features

Near Amsterdam's Botanical Garden and Artis Zoo, the Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam offers a family-friendly stopover with comforts and amenities to ease the most hectic Amsterdam holidays. Several of the city's premier attractions are just a short walk or tram ride away, including Dam Square, high-end Kalverstraat shopping, the Rembrandt House Museum, the Waterlooplein, and the Rembrandtplein. Guests can start their day with Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam's inviting breakfast buffet (not included in room rate) and unwind between holiday excursions or meetings with refreshments from the hotel's lobby bar. Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access is also available.

Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11 mi/18 km)
Attractions
  • Artis Zoo (across the street)
  • Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus) (1 block)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Rembrandt House Museum (Rembrandthuis) (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)  (3.5 mi/5.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (4 mi/6.5 km)
Business
The hotel staff can check availability and negotiate rates at nearby Artis Party & Congress Centre and De Burcht van Berlage, both offering extensive meeting and conference facilities
Polices & Fees
  • Public parking fee is 40 EUR per day.
  • The hotel charges a 5.5% city tax, to be paid upon check-out.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
You will stay in a comfortable room that has free wifi Internet access, LCD Television screen, keycard system, safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and telephone with a direct outside line. Each room has its own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
The superior twin room is a spacious, comfortable room which is equipped with a bathroom with shower, toilet and hair dryer, safe, desk, free wifi Internet, coffee and tea making facilities, comfortable seating and a LCD television.
FAMILY - ROOM
The Family Room is a spacious, comfortable room which is equipped with a bathroom with shower, toilet and hair dryer, safe, desk, free wifi Internet, coffee and tea making facilities, comfortable seating and a LCD television. Families of 3 to 4 persons can reserve this room with seperate beds.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Hollandsche Schouwburg and Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Artis Royal Zoo: 0.1 mi
  • The Resistance Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.4 mi
  • Jewish Historical Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Theatre Carré: 0.4 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of the Tropics: 0.5 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Hollandsche Schouwburg and Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Artis Royal Zoo: 0.1 mi
  • The Resistance Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.4 mi
  • Jewish Historical Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Theatre Carré: 0.4 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of the Tropics: 0.5 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Stopera: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.5 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.5 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Oosterpark: 0.5 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.6 mi
  • De Gooyer Windmill: 0.6 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.6 mi
  • Science Centre NEMO: 0.6 mi
  • De Schreeuw: 0.6 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.6 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.6 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.6 mi
  • Concerto : 0.6 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.6 mi
  • Dappermarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Droog: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.7 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.7 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.7 mi
  • Waag: 0.7 mi
  • East India House: 0.7 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.8 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.8 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.8 mi

Dining

Breakfast
There is nothing like a good breakfast to start your day! From 7 am till 10.30 am we serve our breakfast buffet with fresh rolls and bread, warm dishes like bacon, sausages and homemade scrambled eggs. To complete your breakfast we offer a diversity of coffee, tea and juices. This breakfast will get you started! For a drink or a snack, a chat or a game of chess our cosy lobby is all day the place to be. A vending machine is there to serve you 24/7.
Restaurants
The Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam offers you breakfast, snacks and drinks. For your lunch or dinner, Amsterdam is like paradise. You will find local cuisines from most of the 175 nationalities that are present in Amsterdam, from tapas to fajita's, from sushi to momo's, there is a wide range of choice and our staff is most willing to help you find the restaurant of your taste.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam purely focuses on overnight stays, therefore we do not have meeting facilities within our own premises but in the surroundings you will find a lot of possibilities. Feel free to contact our sales department and we will arrange it for you, in corporation with our colleague Hampshire Hotels or our other partners in the meeting business.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
3.1
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike Samuels
Business
Stockport , England
May 15, 2013

Good value, not outstanding

I left the Hampshire knowing that I'd come back, if I couldn't find anywhere else. Good location, next to the zoo with good cafes nearby (providing much better value for breakfast than the Hampshire's 16 euro offer. Try "Coffee To Walk" next door! As a single traveler I chose a twin room which was big enough for me. Should I return with a friend we shall upgrade to a "superior" twin. The hotel is 20 mins walk from central Amsterdam and on a main tram line to the centre so access is no problem. Rijksmuseum is a pleasant walk or tram ride away. Staff were helpful and friendly; overall I would recommend this hotel, not as the best, but as good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Coffee To Walk." Fantastic little cafe, magical ambience with great choice of coffee, friendly host and "Aussie Breakfast PIe" to accompany beautiful jazz background music. Breakfast pie indeed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
french face irish mind
Business
london
Jun 29, 2013

single guy in amsterdam

i should start buy staying that i enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The room was much bigger and and nicer than i expected for the great price and had no problem at all with the size of the bathroom as stated in reviews i read. the staff were friendly and helpful and its in a nice quite part of the dam so you get a rest from the maddness from the center. will say that it is a bit of a walk tho ... i got lost finding it so when you arrive defo get the number 9 train from the station or dam square, and would also say that theres no a big smoking buzz at the hotel met no1 outside or there and the snack machine is really expensive and robbed my twix :) over all really good and great value for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

train 9 from metro and get off at the zoo .. or walk to dam square and get the 9 or 14. amsterdam is a maze and your just get lost best using the train for the first day or so

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Likes airconditioning
Business
Southern California
Jul 30, 2013

Small, clean rooms.

The hotel was good, But it needs to state it has no airconditioning. The window did not open much, and the provided fan was a joke (moved almost no air and was noisy.) The desk clerks were very helpful with luggage and directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
amsterdam ted
Business
Stratford-on-avon
Aug 16, 2013

Not Bad

First night we were book out to great hotel but further out taxi driver that took us left a lot to be desired even an argument with police! had to walk the last 500yrds. we were very tired and hot at this point. had too go back to hotel first in morning before going out. I am glad we book premium standard room as this was just big enough bath room quite small. Overall value for money budget hotel. most staff were helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LuckyP
Business
Birmingham, UK
Nov 26, 2013

Good location, decent hotel

Okay hotel. Good location, as near tram to central station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Oct 19, 2009

Legit Hotel

Very nice hotel for being in sketchy Amsterdam. It is about a 10min walk from Centraal station and Red Light District and isnt too 'central' like the info says about it, but it is probably better to be just far enough away from areas like Red Light. We walked around most of the time but there are metro stops all around the hotel and are an easy way to get around the city. The rooms were nice and clean, just a bit small though for how much you pay for them but it wasnt a big deal. It is right next to the zoo so if you want something cool to do just stroll across the street and check it out. There are a few coffee shops close by and a nice little park next door to the hotel where you can enjoy your purchases. They have an info stand that has a bunch of different things to do around the city but we had to ask the front desk for a map which was by far the most useful. (tells you shopping areas, dining areas, museums as well as info about them and different attractions) The breakfast should have been included and cost about $15 euro which was pretty weak. I recommend take a 5 min walk and find a Dutch bakery which has delicious pastries and waffles for just a few euro. The only other complaint is that their toilets are 'shelf' toilets so when you go it doesnt go into water it just sits there which is pretty gross. Overall very happy with this hotel and would definitly go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If your looking for something besides the Red Light district check out Rembrandt plaza which has a bunch of bars clubs and restaurants. There were a lot more local and cool people around there rather than the dirty sketchy side streets around RLD

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shmeef-face
Business
verona , nj . usa
Feb 17, 2010

nice hotel....but

the personel could have been a bit more helpful with their knowledege of the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

do not wear high heel shoes (which i did not do)the hotel is a bit of a walk,especially in the fridgid winter(brrrrrr!!!!!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 30, 2009

Small but Clean

Vacationing in Amsterdam, Eden Lancaster Hotel was in a residential area (very quiet). The room and bathroom were very clean; but the bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. We arrived before the room was ready; there was a closet to leave your luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We recommend using the Tram system, it is very effecient. The 9 & 14 trams drop you off a half a block from the hotel; til midnight, then use the bus sytem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 29, 2010

Small but workable

A nice Hotel conveniently located if you plan on using public transportation in Amsterdam. The rooms are very small and the bathrooms are tiny! Still, if you intend to explore the city this Hotel can be a good base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Be careful about the cabs at the Central Station. They might overcharge tourists. It's very easy to take a tram that stops directly in front of the Hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Aug 31, 2009

great location - little pricey

On arrival we had to move our own baggage up to 2nd floor lobby, then into walk up closet when room was not ready. Misdirections were given to off-site restaurant. We thought that the on-site breakfast was complementary (web page advertisement not clear)and only found out that this was not true on check out that the breakfast was 30e/day. Clerk made a comment that we had such a "cheap" rate, we couldn't expect complimentary food! Room staff were wonderful and fixed some problems in the room for us that was not taken care of by desk clerk. We did not realize that the hotel encompasses 2 buildings in depth and our nice front room turned into a rear room about 100 feet from the elevator and a back yard view of the neighboring buildings and roofs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top