$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Plantage Middenlaan 48, Amsterdam, 1018 DH

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
54 reviews
Brilliant!

My husband and I stayed at the brilliant Lancaster Hotel. Breakfast great and real value for money... See full review

  • Joanne R.
  • Jun 30, 2015
Great Value Hotel

The Hampshire was excellent hotel for my work trip. The only downside is the Double bed is really... See full review

  • cmorrow1
  • Jun 27, 2015

Housed in a classic 100-year-old building, the Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam welcomes guests with a lively boutique feel, friendly service and smart, back-to-basics conveniences. This centrally located hotel in the green town district Plantage buurt is conveniently close to several premier Amsterdam destinations like Rembrandtplein, Waterlooplein and Artis Zoo. The monumental hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi access and a daily breakfast buffet (not included in room rate) along with a delectable lobby bar and a multilingual staff - all to ensure on-the-go guest are fully satisfied. Rooms range from compact singles to family size affairs with multiple beds. For a chat or a game of chess, guests can chill out at the cozy lobby. Public parking (fees apply) and 24-hour vending machine are also available.

Rooms

The Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam's 91 guest rooms consist of several varieties beginning with standard single rooms, each of which comes with a twin bed and standard rooms which have two twin beds.Superior rooms come with a double bed or two twin beds, while quadruple rooms, designed to accommodate families, come with four twin beds. All rooms are outfitted with cable LCD TV, bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer, safe deposit box, work desk, Wi-Fi access, coffee/tea maker, and comfortable seating. Family rooms come equipped with telephone wake-up service.

Property features

Near Amsterdam's Botanical Garden and Artis Zoo, the Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam offers a family-friendly stopover with comforts and amenities to ease the most hectic Amsterdam holidays. Several of the city's premier attractions are just a short walk or tram ride away, including Dam Square, high-end Kalverstraat shopping, the Rembrandt House Museum, the Waterlooplein, and the Rembrandtplein. Guests can start their day with Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam's inviting breakfast buffet (not included in room rate) and unwind between holiday excursions or meetings with refreshments from the hotel's lobby bar. Hotel-wide Wi-Fi access is also available.

Highlights
  • A non-smoking hotel with hotel-wide Wi-Fi access
  • Conveniently situated within walking distance of major Amsterdam attractions
  • Excellent breakfast buffet and lobby bar onsite serving refreshments
  • Public parking (at cost)
Nearby attractions
  • Artis Zoo (across the street)
  • Botanical Garden (Hortus Botanicus) (1 block)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Rembrandt House Museum (Rembrandthuis) (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (3 mi/4.5 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis)  (3.5 mi/5.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (4 mi/6.5 km)
Business
The hotel staff can check availability and negotiate rates at nearby Artis Party & Congress Centre and De Burcht van Berlage, both offering extensive meeting and conference facilities
Transportation
  • Amsterdam Central Station (2 mi/3.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (11 mi/18 km)
Policies
  • Public parking fee is 40 EUR per day.
  • The hotel charges a 5.5% city tax, to be paid upon check-out.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
You will stay in a comfortable room that has free wifi Internet access, LCD Television screen, keycard system, safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and telephone with a direct outside line. Each room has its own bathroom with shower, toilet and hairdryer.
SUPERIOR - ROOM
The superior twin room is a spacious, comfortable room which is equipped with a bathroom with shower, toilet and hair dryer, safe, desk, free wifi Internet, coffee and tea making facilities, comfortable seating and a LCD television.
FAMILY - ROOM
The Family Room is a spacious, comfortable room which is equipped with a bathroom with shower, toilet and hair dryer, safe, desk, free wifi Internet, coffee and tea making facilities, comfortable seating and a LCD television. Families of 3 to 4 persons can reserve this room with seperate beds.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet

Nearby points of interest

  • Hollandsche Schouwburg and Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Artis Royal Zoo: 0.1 mi
  • The Resistance Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.4 mi
  • Jewish Historical Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Theatre Carré: 0.4 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of the Tropics: 0.5 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Hollandsche Schouwburg and Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Artis Royal Zoo: 0.1 mi
  • The Resistance Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Botanical Garden: 0.2 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.3 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.4 mi
  • Jewish Historical Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Theatre Carré: 0.4 mi
  • Van Gogh Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Hermitage Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Museum of the Tropics: 0.5 mi
  • Skinny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Stopera: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.5 mi
  • Blue Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.5 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Oosterpark: 0.5 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.6 mi
  • De Gooyer Windmill: 0.6 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.6 mi
  • Science Centre NEMO: 0.6 mi
  • De Schreeuw: 0.6 mi
  • Museum Willet-Holthuysen : 0.6 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.6 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.6 mi
  • Concerto : 0.6 mi
  • Ajax Experience: 0.6 mi
  • Utrechtsestraat: 0.6 mi
  • Dappermarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.7 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.7 mi
  • Droog: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Bags and Purses: 0.7 mi
  • Rembrandt Square: 0.7 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.7 mi
  • Waag: 0.7 mi
  • East India House: 0.7 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.8 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.8 mi
  • Tuschinski Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.8 mi

Dining

Breakfast
There is nothing like a good breakfast to start your day! From 7 am till 10.30 am we serve our breakfast buffet with fresh rolls and bread, warm dishes like bacon, sausages and homemade scrambled eggs. To complete your breakfast we offer a diversity of coffee, tea and juices. This breakfast will get you started! For a drink or a snack, a chat or a game of chess our cosy lobby is all day the place to be. A vending machine is there to serve you 24/7.
Restaurants
The Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam offers you breakfast, snacks and drinks. For your lunch or dinner, Amsterdam is like paradise. You will find local cuisines from most of the 175 nationalities that are present in Amsterdam, from tapas to fajita's, from sushi to momo's, there is a wide range of choice and our staff is most willing to help you find the restaurant of your taste.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam purely focuses on overnight stays, therefore we do not have meeting facilities within our own premises but in the surroundings you will find a lot of possibilities. Feel free to contact our sales department and we will arrange it for you, in corporation with our colleague Hampshire Hotels or our other partners in the meeting business.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddie Smith
Business
Clemson, SC
May 21, 2013

Staff was very helpful

The rooms were spacious and I think the beds were very comfortable. I had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommy Cool
Business
Panama City, Panama
Jul 6, 2010

Charming and comfortable

The location is fantastic Just in front of the hotel is the Artis Zoo of Amsterdam. If you are traveling with children, I highly recommend the visit. Many little restaurants around. The staff very friendly and very helpful. Clean rooms. Internet. TV . Quiet. I highly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can have a delicious breakfast with fresh bread just out of the oven in a charming bakery couple of steps front the hotel. The price is around 4 euros per person for a sandwich and a coffee, which is very reasonable comparing the 15 euros per person breakfast of the hotel. You can also buy there turkish food for dinner or lunch or for later. This bakery closes at 6 pm. It is delicious .

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kailua
May 30, 2010

staying in Amsterdam

excellent staff at desk. Very very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 5, 2008

Very comfortable stay

The Eden Lancaster provided a calm respite from the more hectic center of Amsterdam. The room was clean, comfortable, and well appointed and the complete morning breakfast buffet was a welcome treat. Front desk staff ranged from helpful to diffident, perhaps based on a language barrier. The location is a bit remote from the hub-bub, but the proximity of the zoo and a lovely park make for a relaxing stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gilda N.
Business
Broxburn
Jan 12, 2015

Happy

I had booked the holiday for my partners 30th birthday - I had emailed the hotel in advance to request some balloons etc for the room. My partner was happily surprised when he arrived so thanks for doing that! We were in room 118 and it was massive, though it's not a room if you want a room with a view - not a problem for us as we were out and about all day. The room was immaculate! We did not have a lot of dealings with staff but when we did they were friendly and professional. It's not right in the centre but it is across the road from the zoo and the tram runs right by it. We walked everywhere. Only downside was that it was 2 single beds pushed together and rather then try to join them together as other hotels I have been in they left them as single which was a bit of pain but not the end of the world. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

If you love Indian Food definitely give Gandhis a shout on the Damrak - you have to walk down an alley which is shared with a sauna but don't let that put you off! and order the lamb! mmm. Also pop into the local shop and buy some Chocomel!!!

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andrew R.
Business
N/A
Feb 24, 2015

weekend trip

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Very clean and nice size room with en suite bathroom. A lovely and very comfortable double bed. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Situated in a quiet part of town but Only 10 - 15 mins walk to dam square. Will be returning for future stay. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dmnklly
Business
Mayo, Ireland
Jun 14, 2013

Just amazing

I stayed there for 5 nights had a great time the bed was comfy the room was clean the space was small but perfect for one person. The staff were very nice to me :) few issues was i wasn't told about the tax for staying in the hotel so lost 15 euro of my deposit and at night when i cam home the door never seemed to work but other then that great hotel i would recommend it and i would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Glasgow
May 15, 2015

Love this hotel recommend it!

Just a ten minute walk to rembrandt and away from the hustle and bustle we love the hampshire! And the zoos across the road. Great price, rooms clean with everything u need kettle tea coffee hair dryer and free safe! Free coffee machine in the lobby with vending machine and delicious muffins, cakes and coissants for sale at reasonable prices. Staff all friend and helpful ready to answer any questions. This is my second visit to this hotel and I will definitely return next year!!!! Thank you to all the staff for making our stay as good as it was

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cmorrow1
Business
Baton Rouge
Jun 27, 2015

Great Value Hotel

The Hampshire was excellent hotel for my work trip. The only downside is the Double bed is really two single beds pushed together, so there is a gap. Also the following FYI's 1) No A/C in the room, not big deal to me when I traveled but FYI 2) Bathrooms and Rooms would be considered small for Americans, frankly very small. Not uncomfortable at all but just small. 3) the Breakfast is Awesome 4) Location was great a 10 minute walk and you are downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joanne R.
Business
N/A
Jun 30, 2015

Brilliant!

My husband and I stayed at the brilliant Lancaster Hotel. Breakfast great and real value for money (if booked in advance). The hotel was spotless and our room cleaned thoroughly every day! We upgraded to a large room (216) and it was well worth it. The free coffee machine in the foyer was an added bonus and access to wifi and a computer really useful. I emailed to say it was my husbands birthday and they put a gift in the room. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. It was so easy to get into the centre either by tram 9 outside the hotel or a 10 min walk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top