$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Plantage Middenlaan 48, Amsterdam, 1018 DH

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carolineb
New York
Jul 31, 2012

Clean and efficient

Nice place to stay for a night or two. Clean well kept but small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
Oct 12, 2009

Dutch experience

The building is nice and interesting. Rooms are small but cozy. A great breakfast is offered at very convenient time, and the person in charge (who is not from Amsterdam) is kind and friendly. The rest of the staff is not very friendly but I just learned (first hand) that is the way with locals everywhere in Amsterdam. The hotel is close to many interesting places, tram line stop is half block away, there are at least 7 restaurants closeby, and it is located in a beautiful and quiet zone. The only problem I had was the impossibility to connect to internet in my room, not even with the help of a member of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 30, 2009

Small but Clean

Vacationing in Amsterdam, Eden Lancaster Hotel was in a residential area (very quiet). The room and bathroom were very clean; but the bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. We arrived before the room was ready; there was a closet to leave your luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We recommend using the Tram system, it is very effecient. The 9 & 14 trams drop you off a half a block from the hotel; til midnight, then use the bus sytem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rapho
Business
Sydney, Australia
Sep 3, 2009

eden lancaster

This hotel has nothing to do with the descrition on the your web site. Rating is not more than 2 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
California
Aug 31, 2009

great location - little pricey

On arrival we had to move our own baggage up to 2nd floor lobby, then into walk up closet when room was not ready. Misdirections were given to off-site restaurant. We thought that the on-site breakfast was complementary (web page advertisement not clear)and only found out that this was not true on check out that the breakfast was 30e/day. Clerk made a comment that we had such a "cheap" rate, we couldn't expect complimentary food! Room staff were wonderful and fixed some problems in the room for us that was not taken care of by desk clerk. We did not realize that the hotel encompasses 2 buildings in depth and our nice front room turned into a rear room about 100 feet from the elevator and a back yard view of the neighboring buildings and roofs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Euro-bound
Business
Washington state
Aug 19, 2009

Found a great hotel too late!

Terrific location--we were upgraded to a larger room. Very clean and comfy beds. I wish we had stayed there for our entire Amsterdam visit, but alas, we had booked only one night before we went to the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Coffee to Walk" was a great, reasonably priced cafe a few doors down. Good breakfast and coffee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
canadianlivingnE.U.
Business
paris
Jul 28, 2009

Amazing deal! great hotel

The hotel was only 20 bucks more than a hostel were you sleep with 8 people in the same room. The hotel s near center to walk or a super fast tram that stops in front of the hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the room furnished very well. The rooms are small but it is the same at all hotels in amsterdam. they let me check out at 2 pm with no problems. Great stay!! I have stayed in hotels twice ad thrice the price and preferred this one.. book it !!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minnesota
Jul 28, 2009

Eden Lancaster Hotel

Good hotel for the price, the tram is easy to take and is nearby, or if you like to walk you can walk to some sites.Location is in a safe area, however, it is not right in the City Center. The rooms are very small, but neat and clean. Staff was very helpfull. Hotel is across the street from the Zoo and also next to a small park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
knapejc
Business
Missouri
Jul 1, 2009

Economical except for parking

Not suitable for those with mobility issues . . . steps everywhere. A little difficult to find; directions were not very good. Staff friendly but all the amenities were overpriced and the rooms themselves are VERY tiny. Nevertheless, very clean, with a fair price, easy access to the city by light rail system, and a decent buffet breakfast (not included in the Orbitz price). Suitable for young tourists, preferrably without a car.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't rent a car for your Amsterdam stay. Use the light rail as much as possible. Parking here is prohibitively expensive and space is difficult to find in the first place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 5, 2008

Very comfortable stay

The Eden Lancaster provided a calm respite from the more hectic center of Amsterdam. The room was clean, comfortable, and well appointed and the complete morning breakfast buffet was a welcome treat. Front desk staff ranged from helpful to diffident, perhaps based on a language barrier. The location is a bit remote from the hub-bub, but the proximity of the zoo and a lovely park make for a relaxing stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top