$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 24, 2015

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Plantage Middenlaan 48, Amsterdam, 1018 DH

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port St Lucie, FL
Jan 25, 2010

Clean, nice, directly by the Artis Zoo

Walls a bit thin, very clean and nice inside. Great location next to the Artis Zoo with a short walk to a canal stop. Family room had 4 twins but a shower instead of a bathtub. Very helpful staff. Close to atm, food, and a small market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

If you have kids checkout TonFun, an underground steelpark not too far from the hotel. Huge play area and only about 8 euros per kid.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rocky Mount, north Carolina
Dec 30, 2009

Hotel was nice

The 15 euro breakfast is rediculous, there are a lot of shops around that serve breakfast.the staff was helpful, the beds were horrible, location was great, I think the good outweighs the bad, If you plan to watch television, all they have you will understand is BBC and animal planet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

tere is a cafe, a chinese , indonesian, italian places to eat. number 9 and 14 trams ride by every 8 minutes and go to town where all the life is.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rocky Mount, north Carolina
Dec 30, 2009

Hotel was nice

The 15 euro breakfast is rediculous, there are a lot of shops around that serve breakfast.the staff was helpful, the beds were horrible, location was great, I think the good outweighs the bad, If you plan to watch television, all they have you will understand is BBC and animal planet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

tere is a cafe, a chinese , indonesian, italian places to eat. number 9 and 14 trams ride by every 8 minutes and go to town where all the life is.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Nov 25, 2009

Amsterdam

Really loved the location. Staff were friendly and helpful. Some of the guests were annoying however, talking loudly on their phones until 3am... and yes, you could hear them through the wall. Otherwise it was fine. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lofel & Burke cafe just around the corner.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt Poteat
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 2, 2009

Great location and price.

The hotel is perfectly located in the city. It is outside of the busy hussle and bussle of the downtown crowds. Directly across the street from Artis, which houses the botanical gardens, the zoo and the aquarium. Easy access to the trams to send you to any part of the city. The park beside the hotel is divine. Quite little park that locals take their dogs too to run and play. Excellent dining just down the street towards the market area. Had some the best Italian meals that I have ever had in my life; plus the local bar introduced me to a wonderful local brew for the Autumn season. I would stay at this hotel again and highly recommend to any visitor to Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EXCELLENT dining on the opposite end of the block from the hotel. 4 star dining and very affordable!!

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Matt Poteat
Business
Atlanta, GA
Nov 2, 2009

Great location and price.

The hotel is perfectly located in the city. It is outside of the busy hussle and bussle of the downtown crowds. Directly across the street from Artis, which houses the botanical gardens, the zoo and the aquarium. Easy access to the trams to send you to any part of the city. The park beside the hotel is divine. Quite little park that locals take their dogs too to run and play. Excellent dining just down the street towards the market area. Had some the best Italian meals that I have ever had in my life; plus the local bar introduced me to a wonderful local brew for the Autumn season. I would stay at this hotel again and highly recommend to any visitor to Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

EXCELLENT dining on the opposite end of the block from the hotel. 4 star dining and very affordable!!

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Oct 19, 2009

Legit Hotel

Very nice hotel for being in sketchy Amsterdam. It is about a 10min walk from Centraal station and Red Light District and isnt too 'central' like the info says about it, but it is probably better to be just far enough away from areas like Red Light. We walked around most of the time but there are metro stops all around the hotel and are an easy way to get around the city. The rooms were nice and clean, just a bit small though for how much you pay for them but it wasnt a big deal. It is right next to the zoo so if you want something cool to do just stroll across the street and check it out. There are a few coffee shops close by and a nice little park next door to the hotel where you can enjoy your purchases. They have an info stand that has a bunch of different things to do around the city but we had to ask the front desk for a map which was by far the most useful. (tells you shopping areas, dining areas, museums as well as info about them and different attractions) The breakfast should have been included and cost about $15 euro which was pretty weak. I recommend take a 5 min walk and find a Dutch bakery which has delicious pastries and waffles for just a few euro. The only other complaint is that their toilets are 'shelf' toilets so when you go it doesnt go into water it just sits there which is pretty gross. Overall very happy with this hotel and would definitly go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If your looking for something besides the Red Light district check out Rembrandt plaza which has a bunch of bars clubs and restaurants. There were a lot more local and cool people around there rather than the dirty sketchy side streets around RLD

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mexico
Oct 12, 2009

Dutch experience

The building is nice and interesting. Rooms are small but cozy. A great breakfast is offered at very convenient time, and the person in charge (who is not from Amsterdam) is kind and friendly. The rest of the staff is not very friendly but I just learned (first hand) that is the way with locals everywhere in Amsterdam. The hotel is close to many interesting places, tram line stop is half block away, there are at least 7 restaurants closeby, and it is located in a beautiful and quiet zone. The only problem I had was the impossibility to connect to internet in my room, not even with the help of a member of the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 30, 2009

Small but Clean

Vacationing in Amsterdam, Eden Lancaster Hotel was in a residential area (very quiet). The room and bathroom were very clean; but the bathroom was the smallest I have ever seen. We arrived before the room was ready; there was a closet to leave your luggage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We recommend using the Tram system, it is very effecient. The 9 & 14 trams drop you off a half a block from the hotel; til midnight, then use the bus sytem.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rapho
Business
Sydney, Australia
Sep 3, 2009

eden lancaster

This hotel has nothing to do with the descrition on the your web site. Rating is not more than 2 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top