$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Plantage Middenlaan 48, Amsterdam, 1018 DH

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carolineb
New York
Jul 31, 2012

Clean and efficient

Nice place to stay for a night or two. Clean well kept but small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Nov 6, 2010

Comfy and clean

I read the reviews before i went and some were quite bad but, it looked good and the location for me was perfect. The staff were very nice and helpful, they gave you maps and good tips on getting around. The rooms are small but, if you just want a shower and a good sleep, it's good. I would go back and I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A good stroll through many interesting areas including the flower market and christmas shop on your way to Anne Franks hse, Van Gogh museum finishing the evening in the Leidesplein for a meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Nov 6, 2010

Comfy and clean

I read the reviews before i went and some were quite bad but, it looked good and the location for me was perfect. The staff were very nice and helpful, they gave you maps and good tips on getting around. The rooms are small but, if you just want a shower and a good sleep, it's good. I would go back and I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A good stroll through many interesting areas including the flower market and christmas shop on your way to Anne Franks hse, Van Gogh museum finishing the evening in the Leidesplein for a meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Oct 26, 2010

Claustrophobia in Amsterdam

The location is on a tram line and is about 1 mile from the train station. We booked the hotel for one night before leaving on a river cruise. The room was very tight, even by European standards. You could actually rest your head on the wall in front of you while sitting on the commode.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

we did not dine here or nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Sep 29, 2010

Leafy quiet area for convenient hotel.

Welcoming reception staff greeted my arrival in a older style building neatly decorated. My room was small but very clean and practical. Good quiet location within walking distance of the central area of the city made for an ideal, value-for-money overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommy Cool
Business
Panama City, Panama
Jul 6, 2010

Charming and comfortable

The location is fantastic Just in front of the hotel is the Artis Zoo of Amsterdam. If you are traveling with children, I highly recommend the visit. Many little restaurants around. The staff very friendly and very helpful. Clean rooms. Internet. TV . Quiet. I highly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can have a delicious breakfast with fresh bread just out of the oven in a charming bakery couple of steps front the hotel. The price is around 4 euros per person for a sandwich and a coffee, which is very reasonable comparing the 15 euros per person breakfast of the hotel. You can also buy there turkish food for dinner or lunch or for later. This bakery closes at 6 pm. It is delicious .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 12, 2010

barely acceptable

getting around from hotel was easy on the city trams; nice surroundings with zoo in area;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Definitely buy the city card at the airport that covers all forms of transport in city (except for airport ride) and includes access to museums. We did a 48 hour combo card - and got well over its worth in museums and tram rides.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 12, 2010

barely acceptable

getting around from hotel was easy on the city trams; nice surroundings with zoo in area;

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Definitely buy the city card at the airport that covers all forms of transport in city (except for airport ride) and includes access to museums. We did a 48 hour combo card - and got well over its worth in museums and tram rides.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kailua
May 30, 2010

staying in Amsterdam

excellent staff at desk. Very very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
shmeef-face
Business
verona , nj . usa
Feb 17, 2010

nice hotel....but

the personel could have been a bit more helpful with their knowledege of the area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

do not wear high heel shoes (which i did not do)the hotel is a bit of a walk,especially in the fridgid winter(brrrrrr!!!!!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Port St Lucie, FL
Jan 25, 2010

Clean, nice, directly by the Artis Zoo

Walls a bit thin, very clean and nice inside. Great location next to the Artis Zoo with a short walk to a canal stop. Family room had 4 twins but a shower instead of a bathtub. Very helpful staff. Close to atm, food, and a small market.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

If you have kids checkout TonFun, an underground steelpark not too far from the hotel. Huge play area and only about 8 euros per kid.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top