$94 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Plantage Middenlaan 48, Amsterdam, 1018 DH

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
60 out of 60
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hermiston, Or US
Dec 21, 2010

Good value location away from the crowds

Visitng daughter going to college there, the time of year not the best due to winter weather conditions. Hotel located away from the city core but close enough to get there by tram which runs by. Located nest to the Zoo. Resturants and bars near by so one could eat and drink in the area with locals,which was fun. Canal boat trips were great. took high speed train to Colgne,Germany to take in the Christmas Markets they are worth seeing. The architecture in Rotterdam is good to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston Mass
Dec 7, 2010

Good enough

I've stayed in Amsterdam several times. This place is just a standard 2 star with small bathrooms and small rooms. A good value if you are traveling alone in the Dam and just need a room you wont be in very much.Beds are fine.100% non smoking.Use Tram 9.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 29, 2010

Small but workable

A nice Hotel conveniently located if you plan on using public transportation in Amsterdam. The rooms are very small and the bathrooms are tiny! Still, if you intend to explore the city this Hotel can be a good base.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Be careful about the cabs at the Central Station. They might overcharge tourists. It's very easy to take a tram that stops directly in front of the Hotel.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Late 30's guest
Business
Florida
Nov 29, 2010

Nice room with everything you need.

There is pleanty around the hotel to grab food, and a drink at night. Next time would pick something a little coser to more action.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Must get a tram pass, especially if staying at this hotel. It is in a nice area but too far to walk to the main action.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kdu54
Business
San Francisco, CA
Nov 22, 2010

Quiet and convenient location

Came week early for annual meeting to enjoy one of my favorite European cities. Have stayed at this hotel before and like the quiet neighborhood. Rooms are small, clean and quiet. WiFi available in lobby. Hotel location 1-block from tram line makes transportation quick and easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Nov 6, 2010

Comfy and clean

I read the reviews before i went and some were quite bad but, it looked good and the location for me was perfect. The staff were very nice and helpful, they gave you maps and good tips on getting around. The rooms are small but, if you just want a shower and a good sleep, it's good. I would go back and I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A good stroll through many interesting areas including the flower market and christmas shop on your way to Anne Franks hse, Van Gogh museum finishing the evening in the Leidesplein for a meal.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
London
Nov 6, 2010

Comfy and clean

I read the reviews before i went and some were quite bad but, it looked good and the location for me was perfect. The staff were very nice and helpful, they gave you maps and good tips on getting around. The rooms are small but, if you just want a shower and a good sleep, it's good. I would go back and I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A good stroll through many interesting areas including the flower market and christmas shop on your way to Anne Franks hse, Van Gogh museum finishing the evening in the Leidesplein for a meal.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Oct 26, 2010

Claustrophobia in Amsterdam

The location is on a tram line and is about 1 mile from the train station. We booked the hotel for one night before leaving on a river cruise. The room was very tight, even by European standards. You could actually rest your head on the wall in front of you while sitting on the commode.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

we did not dine here or nearby.

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
UK
Sep 29, 2010

Leafy quiet area for convenient hotel.

Welcoming reception staff greeted my arrival in a older style building neatly decorated. My room was small but very clean and practical. Good quiet location within walking distance of the central area of the city made for an ideal, value-for-money overnight stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mommy Cool
Business
Panama City, Panama
Jul 6, 2010

Charming and comfortable

The location is fantastic Just in front of the hotel is the Artis Zoo of Amsterdam. If you are traveling with children, I highly recommend the visit. Many little restaurants around. The staff very friendly and very helpful. Clean rooms. Internet. TV . Quiet. I highly recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can have a delicious breakfast with fresh bread just out of the oven in a charming bakery couple of steps front the hotel. The price is around 4 euros per person for a sandwich and a coffee, which is very reasonable comparing the 15 euros per person breakfast of the hotel. You can also buy there turkish food for dinner or lunch or for later. This bakery closes at 6 pm. It is delicious .

Back to menu Return to top