$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Plantage Middenlaan 48, Amsterdam, 1018 DH

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.6

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Likes airconditioning
Business
Southern California
Jul 30, 2013

Small, clean rooms.

The hotel was good, But it needs to state it has no airconditioning. The window did not open much, and the provided fan was a joke (moved almost no air and was noisy.) The desk clerks were very helpful with luggage and directions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
french face irish mind
Business
london
Jun 29, 2013

single guy in amsterdam

i should start buy staying that i enjoyed my stay at the hotel. The room was much bigger and and nicer than i expected for the great price and had no problem at all with the size of the bathroom as stated in reviews i read. the staff were friendly and helpful and its in a nice quite part of the dam so you get a rest from the maddness from the center. will say that it is a bit of a walk tho ... i got lost finding it so when you arrive defo get the number 9 train from the station or dam square, and would also say that theres no a big smoking buzz at the hotel met no1 outside or there and the snack machine is really expensive and robbed my twix :) over all really good and great value for the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

train 9 from metro and get off at the zoo .. or walk to dam square and get the 9 or 14. amsterdam is a maze and your just get lost best using the train for the first day or so

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddie Smith
Business
Clemson, SC
May 21, 2013

Staff was very helpful

The rooms were spacious and I think the beds were very comfortable. I had a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mike Samuels
Business
Stockport , England
May 15, 2013

Good value, not outstanding

I left the Hampshire knowing that I'd come back, if I couldn't find anywhere else. Good location, next to the zoo with good cafes nearby (providing much better value for breakfast than the Hampshire's 16 euro offer. Try "Coffee To Walk" next door! As a single traveler I chose a twin room which was big enough for me. Should I return with a friend we shall upgrade to a "superior" twin. The hotel is 20 mins walk from central Amsterdam and on a main tram line to the centre so access is no problem. Rijksmuseum is a pleasant walk or tram ride away. Staff were helpful and friendly; overall I would recommend this hotel, not as the best, but as good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Coffee To Walk." Fantastic little cafe, magical ambience with great choice of coffee, friendly host and "Aussie Breakfast PIe" to accompany beautiful jazz background music. Breakfast pie indeed!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anatolian American
Business
Florida
Dec 24, 2012

Overall Good Experience

Overall Good Experience. Bottom line: Best for mid-range travelers who want to stay in Amsterdam. The hotel itself is good overall but average in terms of building/room quality and furnishings. It is a good value and economical considering location and very easy access to transportation. The good aspects: - Very good location. Tram to downtown, ATM, and places to eat all within 50 M - 100 M of the hotel. Good, safe neighborhood - Bed/Linens were clean and comfortable - Staff friendly and professional, quick to solve problems/answer questions. Bad aspects: - I would say worst aspect was the heating system, room was not cold but not particularly warm. Was difficult to take a shower and not get cold when we went during winter. - Room/carpet/bathroom slightly a bit old and worn, but is still acceptable and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian Cafe/Restaurant Sapori del Mondo less than 2 blocks away. Ending up nearly eating every meal there. Outstanding food quality and unbeatable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carolineb
Business
New York
Jul 31, 2012

Clean and efficient

Nice place to stay for a night or two. Clean well kept but small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
H. Eleinen
Business
Alexandria,Egypt
Jul 6, 2012

It' a nice hotel for a short stay.

It was nice hotel with nice room, except that you don't get WI FI in your room only in the reception. And I was staying in a room with 4 bedrooms alone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is 15 min walking to centrum, also very near to a tram and bus station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Akdoc
Business
Glasgow, Scotland
Jul 2, 2012

Family trip - not really a family friendly hotel

Only good thing was location. Quiet but central. Hotel rooms small and dust present and dirty carpets. No room service for a room worth £170 per night Too expensive for no significant service Reception small and not comfortable. Reception team overall satisfactory - got phone charger when did not have working adaptor. We went as two families together and rooms given to us on different floors and reception manager claiming he did not know that we were together!! Airport transfer £14 per person! Overall I will only recommend if you get room at £120 or less and only want good location. Also very nice coffee shop just next to hotel. Definitely highlight of the trip was breakfast and coffee in the coffe shop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Coffee shop excellent just 20 m from hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Maroun
Business
Florida
Jun 5, 2012

Good for a weekend vacation

Good location, within a walking distance to red light district and rambrandt square

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tchu
Business
California, USA
Oct 20, 2011

good value

everything was fine. we only had a problem with bedding situation. we 2 adults were given a room with 2 twin beds putting together. it was so uncomfortable to sleep like that so we ended up sleeping in just one twin bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top