$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
192 reviews
Excellent Stay

Just back from 2 nights/3 days at this hotel- so pleased after endless searching that we booked... See full review

  • Icklekt
  • Jul 1, 2014
Fantastic

Perfect location, couple of blocks from the central train station, yet just outside the noisy... See full review

  • Empedocles
  • Jun 29, 2014
Feel part of Amsterdam’s rich elegance at this Art Nouveau landmark
Dating to 1913 and formerly a shipping office, the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam is a five-star Art Nouveau masterpiece. Overlooking the city's picturesque waterfront, the hotel is a monument to classic design, impeccable luxury and world-class amenities. A host of wellness and recreational facilities, including an indoor pool, fitness center and luxury spa combined with exquisite dining and state-of-the-art in-room comforts make the Grand Hotel Amrâth a destination in itself.
Highlights
  • Architectural landmark full of stunning Art Nouveau detailing
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and mini bar in all guest rooms
  • Luxury spa and full range of recreation and fitness facilities         
Rooms

Guests are greeted with warm, bright colors and cozy furnishings in the Grand Hotel Amrâth's 165 guest rooms, including 21 suites. Each room comes with a king bed or two twin beds. Complimentary Wi-Fi, top-quality Nespresso coffee and tea machines and 32-inch flat-screen HDTV with satellite channels add modern touches to each room's evocative elegance. Bathroom amenities include plush bathrobes and signature Lanvin bath essentials.

 

The Grand Hotel Amrâth's suites range from the spacious junior and two-room suites to the 1,300-square-foot two-story tower suite, boasting a fireplace and spacious bathroom with 360-degree views of Amsterdam.

Features

At Grand Hotel Amsterdam, breakfast is served at the on-site restaurant Seven Seas or at the bar/lounge. Patrons can inform hotel a night prior to opting to savour the morning meal in room. Additionally, the hotel offers a bar and lounge where guests can sip enticing cocktails, mingle and unwind in a stylish, casual setting. The Grand Hotel Amrâth also provides concierge services and complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas.

An indoor swimming pool and fitness center, along with the sauna and Turkish steam bath offer the ideal venues to decompress after sightseeing or business meetings. The hotel's Wellness Center is a world-class spa offering comprehensive treatments using only the purest bath and body products and exclusive Babor cosmetics.

Transportation
  • Schiphol Airport transportation available (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frankhuis (Anne Frank House) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Begijnhof (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 7,100 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • 8 meeting rooms

Hotel Map

52.3748 4.9041
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 12.1 km, Rotterdam Airport - 56.0 km.
Area description
You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city centre, close to the Central Station and 1100 m from Dam Square. A unique location in the historic heart of Amsterdam bordering on beautiful canals and within walking distance to the best sights. Our concierge will show you the ropes of the city. With valet parking, exclusive for our hotel guests, the concierge will take care of your car. Schiphol Airport is just 19 km away and is easy to reach by train, the Central Station is only 500 meters from the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room of 24-28 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Superior Room
Superior Room of 32-45 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with city view of 47-53 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. The bathroom features a steam shower. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.2 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.2 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Science Centre NEMO: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.4 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.4 mi
  • Bimhuis: 0.4 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.4 mi
  • Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ: 0.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.5 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • National Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.5 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.5 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.5 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Droog: 0.5 mi
  • New Church: 0.5 mi
  • Stopera: 0.5 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
After a warm welcome you will start an unforgettable culinary voyage. You will enjoy the French international cuisine, which is inspired by the Mediterranean. The cooking art of our Chef and his brigade will tickle your senses. Beautiful marble, wooden floors and stained glass decorations give you the ideal ambiance. You will hear the sound of animated conversations and enjoy the optimal harmony of elegant dishes created from pure products and specially selected wines. After dinner, simply remain seated and enjoy the wide selection of coffee and tea. You are welcome for dinner from 18:00 to 22:30 hours. From 09:00 to 01:00 hours you can have an informal bite in our Bar/lounge. On Friday and Saturday until 02:00 hours.
Breakfast
Breakfast is served in our restaurant Seven Seas or in the Bar/Lounge. At your request you can have breakfast served in your room or suite. Just let us know your wishes the evening before.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (192)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 192
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.8
Room comfort:
4.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
L.Harwood
California, US
Jul 18, 2012

Magnificent Amsterdam Hotel !

We are just back from 3 days in your beautiful hotel. We were in room 309, huge room with gorgeous view of the canal and the sunset. All items in the minibar were complimentary and appreciated. I rooms are magestic, full of an art deco style...hight ceilings, perfect views, centrally located. Just perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Luna Pura Indonesian restaraunt... Do not miss!

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Stickemgbird
NYC
Jul 9, 2012

Awesome Hotel

Great hotel and solid value considering the alternatives in Europe. Spa is incredible (although they need to juice up the steam room), minibar is always stocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bubbles and Wine is a great place to check out. Good break from other Amsterdam establishments.

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Slorebag Riding
Orange County
Aug 15, 2012

Bachelor Party in Amsterdam!

The hotel was great, very friendly and very helpful with everything. It was in a good area and we felt safe walking home every night. I recommend to families as well as singles who are not big smokers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LizInBoston
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Great First Time in Europe thanks to the Hotel

I was a little nervous because I had not visitted Europe so I did not know what to expect. As soon as I arrived in Amsterdam with my friend and walked over to the Hotel from Central Station -- I felt wonderful and relieved. The Hotel is an architectural gem - and I could see from across the canals. Upon entering I was greeted by the lovely staff who made me feel very comfortable. They were so nice - and they offered us a very early check-in upon arrival. The room was spotless and the Free mini bar and coffee station in the room really does get stocked up every day ! -- I loved being able to unwind at ease with that. We stayed for 5 nights - and the maid service was excellent with a really great turn-down service. After travelling all around the city and visitting other hotels , eateries, etc. -- it was evident that the Location of this hotel was the best we could have imagined. It was very easy to take the trams & the trains -- while staying in a quiet neighborhood street that the hotel was on. After a long day & night -- it was a good feeling to go back to the relaxing and elegant ambience of the hotel. I would stay here again (and hope to) -- and recommed it to my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are multiple places to eat -- with varied prices and menus. We really liked the cafe accross from the train station - attached to the Tourist office. It has great breakfast & lunch menu right on the water.

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobMurray
Guildford
Feb 20, 2013

Amazing Birthday Weekend

Best hotel ever. The staff were amazing and upgraded us to the penthouse suite free of charge because it was my friends birthday. We had a free minibar which was upgraded everyday and free wifi and access to all of the hotels amenities including the amazing spa area with a pool sauna etc. The staff constantly went out of their way to help us and the concierge service was top of the range. Every recommendation he made for us was perfect and he booked everything. It was amazing. Free nespresso machine in the room also which was a lovely extra. The hotel is in the most perfect location right beside the station and a 2 minute walk to everything you could possibly need. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. There was not one bad aspect of our stay. Cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Casa di David. Beautiful italian restaurant

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston TX
Jun 9, 2010

Wonderful!

We had a pretty rough day getting to Amsterdam, but forgot about it all as soon as we checked in. The staff was so incredibly friendly, helpful and thorough. I have not had a better experience with hotel staff than this. The fitness center and spa are lovely, clean and relaxing. We both had exceptional massages for a very reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a better map than the hotel has to offer, it is missing a lot of details that will keep you on the right track.

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donafa
Paris
Feb 26, 2013

Great!

As long as they'll keep the free minibars, wellness centre and (good!) free Wifi Internet, I shall keep coming back :-). Would be nice to include an included breakfast as at €25 per person that was pretty stiff although, it was a great breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marky mark
London
Jan 30, 2013

First class hotel

Great hotel and staff. Spa lovely. Great location, in the middle of it all but still quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jun 28, 2009

Fantastic hotel

This is a wonderful hotel and a great value in my opinion. We stayed in a junior suite which was fantastic. The free minibar and wireless internet are awesome (especially when some 5* hotels charge $10 for a small bottle of Coke or $40 a day for internet access). The staff could not have been nicer. We also liked the pool and spa area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chuck from Chelsea
New York City
Oct 29, 2010

Paying for the Best is worth it

Fabulous hotel, competent, friendly staff. Worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Remember to get some sleep.

Back to menu Return to top