$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TraciandKracka
Business
Worcester, MA, USA
Sep 16, 2011

5 Star Treatment

If you want the FULL 5 Star hotel treatment at a great value, Amrath Hotel is the place! great location and amazing rooms!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Central Station is VERY close by... take the train there and walk the 2-3 minutes to the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida
Jul 27, 2010

luxury adult hotel

friendly, helpful staff. very personable....looking forward to going back and staying again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

everything was close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bolingbrook, IL
Jun 13, 2009

"The right place"

The Grand Hotel Amrath is a beautiful stately turn of the century building. Upon arrival the staff at the reception desk were very personable and friendly. We stayed in a superior deluxe room and found it to be very spacious, comfortable and clean. The room had a wonderful city view that overlooked the canal. The staff was outstanding and very attentive to our every need. Orbitz got it right, it certainly deserved the five star rating. I would certainly recommend this hotel for business or pleasure. The hotel is a short walk from the Central Station for the Tram. The tourist office is directly across the street from Cental Station. Its also a short walk to the dock for boarding the canal cruises. We took the dinner cruise and had a marvelous time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 15, 2010

Best Hotel I've Ever Stayed

My boyfriend and I took the train in to Amsterdam from Paris and did a late check-in on Sunday night (March 13, 2010). The hotel is slightly hidden from view from Amsterdam Central Station, so if you're leaving the station, you want to head left out of the station. When we arrived, the reception host was so lovely and kind and she surprised us with a room upgrade! We were upgraded from a "Superior Deluxe Room - City View" to a "Four Poster Room - City View" with a huge bed, a huge bathroom, two leather couches, and an amazing view of the canal. The gentleman who showed us around the hotel was very professional and gave us a great tour of the hotel and a great tour of our room…yes, it was that big (try getting it! Room 300). The bathroom was amazing. The standing shower was basically the size of a walk-in closet and had 4 shower heads. Separate from the shower was a large bathtub with fizzy bubble bath soap provided. The two sinks were so modern-looking and we were provided with nice soaps and lotions. The FREE mini bar was stocked with sodas, orange juice, water, wine, hard liquor, and chocolate. There was a Nespresso machine that made gourmet espresso drinks comparable to a fancy cafe. (I've never heard of a Nespresso in the US and I was so impressed with this machine that I may buy one this weekend!) The four post bed was so comfortable and was piled on with large, fluffy pillows. The wellness center was by far the BEST wellness center I've ever been to at a hotel. The heated pool was a decent size and the jacuzzi seated four. There were three separate saunas and showers to rinse. The actual gym had a few basic machines, but you do so much walking in Amsterdam that you don't need to do any cardio when you go to visit the city! Our check out was fast and easy and they held our luggage while my boyfriend and I wandered around Amsterdam during the afternoon. The hotel is really close to the Red Light District but far enough from it to where there is really no rowdy noise. It's also conveniently located a couple blocks away from Amsterdam Central and the main tram stop. Overall, I have to say that the Grand Amrath is the best hotel I've ever stayed in and I would highly recommend this place to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Red Light District

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 21, 2011

Great location, beautiful hotel

The hotel was beautiful - the old paternoster elevators are a neat museum-piece and the entire place feels very grand. The rooms have high ceilings and are very comfortable. It's just a bit off the beaten track so the rooms were quiet. But it's close enough to walk to Centraal station, the Damrak, Red-Light District, etc. After staying in two plane-jane hotels in London and Paris (for roughly the same price), I was really excited to arrive at the Grand Hotel Amrath at the end of a recent European trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant in the hotel is overpriced. Just walk out the door and hit a streetside cafe instead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 20, 2011

Great hotel, great location

Everything was great from the start. The hotel turned out to be only 2 blocks from the central railroad station (although I depended on a couple locals to be able to show me where). I was able to check in at 9am and got a room upgrade for free. Unlike most hotels, coffee, tea, sodas, and liquor in your room are free. The room includes a teapot and coffee maker. The bathroom was excellent, and the bed very comfortable. Although somewhat pricey, I strongly recommend the breakfast buffet at the restaurant on the ground floor. Overall a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wamos80
Business
Atlanta, Ga.
Feb 8, 2011

Best Hotel in quite a while

What a great experience. The people were extremely nice and helpful. All hotels should learn from the Amrath's free mini bar idea. I would stay there every time, no exceptions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr. going to make this an annual event
Business
NY, NY
Oct 3, 2010

greatest hotel i have stayed in

the location was superb, i was situated convienently to get to all major locations with ease. the staff was very friendly and accommodating. the hotel and room were beautiful. Free Wifi and Minibar were an excellent comfort and made it a lot easier to just relax in the room. Finally i knew there were other people on my floor, within my corridor, but you would never know as you could not hear a sound from any one. Incredibly relaxing, i recommend for all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

red light district and coffee shops were a five minutes walk away, if you walk very slowly. plenty of restuarants around to accommodate any type of desire. Nightlife is incredible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lagos, Nigeria
Oct 7, 2010

Historic hotel

Excellent hotel, location is perfect for business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Coloradans
Business
Boulder, CO
Apr 15, 2010

Great Trip

Wonderful hotel and location for first time visit to Amsterdam. Would recommend it highly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel dining is pricey but excellent. All types of restaurants and price ranges available within short walking distance. Hotel is short walking distance from Central Train Station making transportation to and from airport very easy.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top