$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 13, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
174 reviews
5**** hotel

We went to Amsterdam over the Thanksgiving break. I am glad we choose Grand Hôtel Amrâth, because... See full review

  • AC B
  • Dec 4, 2014
mamuka margishvili

nice hotel, free minibar, have little problem for car parking See full review

  • mamuka
  • Nov 22, 2014
Feel part of Amsterdam’s rich elegance at this Art Nouveau landmark
Dating to 1913 and formerly a shipping office, the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam is a five-star Art Nouveau masterpiece. Overlooking the city's picturesque waterfront, the hotel is a monument to classic design, impeccable luxury and world-class amenities. A host of wellness and recreational facilities, including an indoor pool, fitness center and luxury spa combined with exquisite dining and state-of-the-art in-room comforts make the Grand Hotel Amrâth a destination in itself.
Highlights
  • Architectural landmark full of stunning Art Nouveau detailing
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and mini bar in all guest rooms
  • Luxury spa and full range of recreation and fitness facilities         
Rooms

Guests are greeted with warm, bright colors and cozy furnishings in the Grand Hotel Amrâth's 165 guest rooms, including 21 suites. Each room comes with a king bed or two twin beds. Complimentary Wi-Fi, top-quality Nespresso coffee and tea machines and 32-inch flat-screen HDTV with satellite channels add modern touches to each room's evocative elegance. Bathroom amenities include plush bathrobes and signature Lanvin bath essentials.

 

The Grand Hotel Amrâth's suites range from the spacious junior and two-room suites to the 1,300-square-foot two-story tower suite, boasting a fireplace and spacious bathroom with 360-degree views of Amsterdam.

Features

At Grand Hotel Amsterdam, breakfast is served at the on-site restaurant Seven Seas or at the bar/lounge. Patrons can inform hotel a night prior to opting to savour the morning meal in room. Additionally, the hotel offers a bar and lounge where guests can sip enticing cocktails, mingle and unwind in a stylish, casual setting. The Grand Hotel Amrâth also provides concierge services and complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas.

An indoor swimming pool and fitness center, along with the sauna and Turkish steam bath offer the ideal venues to decompress after sightseeing or business meetings. The hotel's Wellness Center is a world-class spa offering comprehensive treatments using only the purest bath and body products and exclusive Babor cosmetics.

Transportation
  • Schiphol Airport transportation available (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frankhuis (Anne Frank House) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Begijnhof (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 7,100 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • 8 meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room of 24-28 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Superior Room
Superior Room of 32-45 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with city view of 47-53 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. The bathroom features a steam shower. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.2 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.2 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Science Centre NEMO: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.4 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.4 mi
  • Bimhuis: 0.4 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.4 mi
  • Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ: 0.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.5 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • National Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.5 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.5 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.5 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Droog: 0.5 mi
  • New Church: 0.5 mi
  • Stopera: 0.5 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
After a warm welcome you will start an unforgettable culinary voyage. You will enjoy the French international cuisine, which is inspired by the Mediterranean. The cooking art of our Chef and his brigade will tickle your senses. Beautiful marble, wooden floors and stained glass decorations give you the ideal ambiance. You will hear the sound of animated conversations and enjoy the optimal harmony of elegant dishes created from pure products and specially selected wines. After dinner, simply remain seated and enjoy the wide selection of coffee and tea. You are welcome for dinner from 18:00 to 22:30 hours. From 09:00 to 01:00 hours you can have an informal bite in our Bar/lounge. On Friday and Saturday until 02:00 hours.
Breakfast
Breakfast is served in our restaurant Seven Seas or in the Bar/Lounge. At your request you can have breakfast served in your room or suite. Just let us know your wishes the evening before.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (174)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marky mark
Business
London
Jan 30, 2013

First class hotel

Great hotel and staff. Spa lovely. Great location, in the middle of it all but still quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lorrimack
Business
Edinburgh
Feb 15, 2013

Great break

We had such a lovely room. Bed was sooo! Comfortable. Spa attractive and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Short distance walk from central station. We will certainly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobMurray
Business
Guildford
Feb 20, 2013

Amazing Birthday Weekend

Best hotel ever. The staff were amazing and upgraded us to the penthouse suite free of charge because it was my friends birthday. We had a free minibar which was upgraded everyday and free wifi and access to all of the hotels amenities including the amazing spa area with a pool sauna etc. The staff constantly went out of their way to help us and the concierge service was top of the range. Every recommendation he made for us was perfect and he booked everything. It was amazing. Free nespresso machine in the room also which was a lovely extra. The hotel is in the most perfect location right beside the station and a 2 minute walk to everything you could possibly need. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. There was not one bad aspect of our stay. Cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Casa di David. Beautiful italian restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs Smith
Business
Troon, Scotland
Feb 24, 2013

Wonderful

This was our first visit to Amsterdam and we stayed at the Grand Hotel Amrath for 5 nights. The location is perfect and a short walk from all the major attractions. I e-mailed the hotel prior to our visit to advise of our late check in and mentioned that we were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday on Valentine's day. On arrival we were given a room upgrade and on his birthday we returned that afternoon to find a beautiful chocolate cake and hand written birthday card from the duty manager. We were so touched by their thoughtfulness. All of the staff were polite and attentive. The rooms were beautiful and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We hope to return for another visit in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donafa
Business
Paris
Feb 26, 2013

Great!

As long as they'll keep the free minibars, wellness centre and (good!) free Wifi Internet, I shall keep coming back :-). Would be nice to include an included breakfast as at €25 per person that was pretty stiff although, it was a great breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
keren
Business
rochford essex
Mar 2, 2013

great place

It was everything and more, the staff couldn't of been more helpful and the room was more than expected. The spa was totally relaxing too. We can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rico West
Business
UK
Feb 28, 2013

Brilliant stay

Lovely room with a free mini bar restocked everyday. The spa was very relaxing and a great afternoon was spent there. In a good location very close to the central train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just over the water from the hotel is a floating chinese restaurant. Great fun and good views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blueskies4
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 8, 2013

Highly recommended hotel!

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and we had no negative experiences. The staff are both energetic and detail-oriented and they go out of their way to provide answers to questions in a thorough and courteous way. I felt the customer service aspect of this hotel was seamless and outstanding! the location is perfect - close to everything including the city center, transportation, a wide range of excellent restaurants, shopping, and historical sights. the hotel itself is in an historical building and is stunning. Rooms are comfortable, spacious, and immaculately clean (and we were in one of the least expensive rooms). The hotel breakfast at 25 euros was expensive but offered an extensive variety of just about everything imaginable. The free minibar was conscientiously refilled every day and was a nice extra. there was an evening turndown service and a late afternoon in-room offer of coffee or tea, Housekeeping was excellent and room cleanups were done at our convenience. In every respect, this hotel was worth the charge and I really can't think of anything to complain of relative to the value:price ratio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
critical janet
Business
Norwich UK
Mar 14, 2013

Stunning and historical

From the moment you approach the hotel you know you are in for something special. This has the standard 5 star modern fixtures and fittings in the bedrooms (plus free mini bar!) but the entrance, dining area, reception and other communal areas are steeped in the history of the early 20th century. If you love Art Deco, Arts and Crafts and Art Nouveau, then this is THE place to go. This is not a bland modern 'could be anywhere' hotel, this is a transportation back to a time when money was no object when you wanted to impress. Being only 5 minutes walk from the rail station just makes it convenient too. Staff superb. Can't recommend it enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M and S
Business
Falmouth, UK
Apr 10, 2013

Fabulous birthday treat

Our first trip to Amsterdam, celebrating a special birthday. The Amrath did everything they possibly could to make it one that we will remember for ever. Great location, attentive service and excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the I Amsterdam card, to make the best of all the museums on offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top