$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
169 reviews
5**** hotel

We went to Amsterdam over the Thanksgiving break. I am glad we choose Grand Hôtel Amrâth, because... See full review

  • AC B
  • Dec 4, 2014
mamuka margishvili

nice hotel, free minibar, have little problem for car parking See full review

  • mamuka
  • Nov 22, 2014
Feel part of Amsterdam’s rich elegance at this Art Nouveau landmark
Dating to 1913 and formerly a shipping office, the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam is a five-star Art Nouveau masterpiece. Overlooking the city's picturesque waterfront, the hotel is a monument to classic design, impeccable luxury and world-class amenities. A host of wellness and recreational facilities, including an indoor pool, fitness center and luxury spa combined with exquisite dining and state-of-the-art in-room comforts make the Grand Hotel Amrâth a destination in itself.
Highlights
  • Architectural landmark full of stunning Art Nouveau detailing
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and mini bar in all guest rooms
  • Luxury spa and full range of recreation and fitness facilities         
Rooms

Guests are greeted with warm, bright colors and cozy furnishings in the Grand Hotel Amrâth's 165 guest rooms, including 21 suites. Each room comes with a king bed or two twin beds. Complimentary Wi-Fi, top-quality Nespresso coffee and tea machines and 32-inch flat-screen HDTV with satellite channels add modern touches to each room's evocative elegance. Bathroom amenities include plush bathrobes and signature Lanvin bath essentials.

 

The Grand Hotel Amrâth's suites range from the spacious junior and two-room suites to the 1,300-square-foot two-story tower suite, boasting a fireplace and spacious bathroom with 360-degree views of Amsterdam.

Features

At Grand Hotel Amsterdam, breakfast is served at the on-site restaurant Seven Seas or at the bar/lounge. Patrons can inform hotel a night prior to opting to savour the morning meal in room. Additionally, the hotel offers a bar and lounge where guests can sip enticing cocktails, mingle and unwind in a stylish, casual setting. The Grand Hotel Amrâth also provides concierge services and complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas.

An indoor swimming pool and fitness center, along with the sauna and Turkish steam bath offer the ideal venues to decompress after sightseeing or business meetings. The hotel's Wellness Center is a world-class spa offering comprehensive treatments using only the purest bath and body products and exclusive Babor cosmetics.

Transportation
  • Schiphol Airport transportation available (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frankhuis (Anne Frank House) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Begijnhof (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 7,100 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • 8 meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room of 24-28 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Superior Room
Superior Room of 32-45 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with city view of 47-53 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. The bathroom features a steam shower. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.2 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.2 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Science Centre NEMO: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.4 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.4 mi
  • Bimhuis: 0.4 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.4 mi
  • Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ: 0.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.5 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • National Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.5 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.5 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.5 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Droog: 0.5 mi
  • New Church: 0.5 mi
  • Stopera: 0.5 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
After a warm welcome you will start an unforgettable culinary voyage. You will enjoy the French international cuisine, which is inspired by the Mediterranean. The cooking art of our Chef and his brigade will tickle your senses. Beautiful marble, wooden floors and stained glass decorations give you the ideal ambiance. You will hear the sound of animated conversations and enjoy the optimal harmony of elegant dishes created from pure products and specially selected wines. After dinner, simply remain seated and enjoy the wide selection of coffee and tea. You are welcome for dinner from 18:00 to 22:30 hours. From 09:00 to 01:00 hours you can have an informal bite in our Bar/lounge. On Friday and Saturday until 02:00 hours.
Breakfast
Breakfast is served in our restaurant Seven Seas or in the Bar/Lounge. At your request you can have breakfast served in your room or suite. Just let us know your wishes the evening before.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (169)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Worth Texas
Jul 3, 2009

As good as it gets,

Our a/c went out within an hour of our arrival, within 30 minutes the manager had prepared a new room , an upgrade from our existing room, and had us moved. Can't say enough about the way we were treated. Beautiful hotel, wellness center was nice, food and service was great. We will stay here in the future

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Italian American Recommended
Business
Honolulu, Hawaii
Aug 6, 2009

Secret Hidden Wonder

I have to admit, I stay in the finest hotels in the world. I have never had such a personal great time as I did at the Amrath. Super awesome staff, wonderful atmosphere, if they don't have it. They will run and get it. I was so impressed. I didn't want to leave. I was on first name basis with everyone. Wonderful guests from all over the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some of the most wonderful side street and canal dinning experiences are just walks around a corner, cross the street or a canal cruise to anywhere is just out the door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MrJ
Business
Newcastle
Oct 13, 2010

Second visit to the Grand Amrath.

We had a great time again at the Amrath, top hotel and the location is brilliant. The mini baris stocked daily and is free. The wellness centre is great, it has a sauna, steam room, gym, jacuzzi and a pool with a swimming jet. Also available are massages and special treatments(never tried so cant comment). Will defo be staying there again. One of the best ive stayed in, in Amsterdam

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Toro Dorado, if you like steak then go here. It does the best steak in Amsterdam, you have a choice which beef you would like. Choices include Argentinian steak, Aberdeen Black Angus or Wagyu beef. All choices are good but try the golden triangle and you get a bit of each.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Super teacher
Business
Dalgety Bay, Fife
Sep 29, 2010

excellent luxurious stay

The staff were very friendly from the moment we arrived and couldn't do enough for us. The room was elegant, clean and well stocked. This trip was for our 20th wedding anniversary and it lived up to our expectations and beyond!! Would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely go back again given the chance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PWK26
Business
Commerce City, CO
Nov 28, 2010

great service, great hotel

Fairly close to everything, and right next to central station. Very friendly staff. Will stay there next time I am in Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

They have tickets to most of the museums so you can beat the lines.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Domso
Business
Scotland, UK
Dec 13, 2011

Guys annual break

Hotel staff were polite and very helpful. My ground floor room was large and beautifully furnished with modern contemporary decor. The complimentary minibar was a pleasant surprise as was excellent coffee maker. The spa pool was a good size and the steam and sauna facilities were very good. Free wi fi was anothe bonus as well as access to computers in the small business centre. Breakfast too expensive to try but this was only fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greenezes
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Amazing Hotel

A truly great experience at the Grand Amrath. It is central to everything. They cater to all your needs. I was upgrading to a junior suite with city views. One of the best hotels I stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LizInBoston
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Great First Time in Europe thanks to the Hotel

I was a little nervous because I had not visitted Europe so I did not know what to expect. As soon as I arrived in Amsterdam with my friend and walked over to the Hotel from Central Station -- I felt wonderful and relieved. The Hotel is an architectural gem - and I could see from across the canals. Upon entering I was greeted by the lovely staff who made me feel very comfortable. They were so nice - and they offered us a very early check-in upon arrival. The room was spotless and the Free mini bar and coffee station in the room really does get stocked up every day ! -- I loved being able to unwind at ease with that. We stayed for 5 nights - and the maid service was excellent with a really great turn-down service. After travelling all around the city and visitting other hotels , eateries, etc. -- it was evident that the Location of this hotel was the best we could have imagined. It was very easy to take the trams & the trains -- while staying in a quiet neighborhood street that the hotel was on. After a long day & night -- it was a good feeling to go back to the relaxing and elegant ambience of the hotel. I would stay here again (and hope to) -- and recommed it to my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are multiple places to eat -- with varied prices and menus. We really liked the cafe accross from the train station - attached to the Tourist office. It has great breakfast & lunch menu right on the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spudzz47
Business
Manchester, UK
Mar 27, 2012

Super location

Beautiful hotel building and in a great location close to a great many attractions Amsterdam has to offer.You don't need a car as walkable are the boat trips(which vary in price so be wary- 10 mins) Dam Square and shopping (15 mins),Rembrant Sq.(15 mins) Flower Market (20 mins) and Anne Franks House(30 mins) the Red Light area 10-15mins. Best tip is to book and print entry to the Anne Frank museum online before you go as you will skip a long queue.Centraal station is 10 min walk away as well.Super hotel and FREE mini bar.Too many bars/cafes and restaurants to review so take your pick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Amsterdam discount cards....we didn't bother with any as you really would need to have been very busy to recoup the cost of the card.Not exactly a relaxing weekend then!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan8383
Business
Houston
Mar 28, 2012

IF YOUR GOING TO AMSTERDAM, STAY HERE!!!

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and my birthday. They had fresh flowers in our room when we arrived plus they upgraded us to a superior delux city view. On my birthday they put a delicous terimsu covered in a white chocolate box. The concierge was very helpful in planning day trips and directions around town. Room serivce was extremely fast for Europe and delicous as well. Compared to the other hotels we saw around the the city, the Grand Amrath trumps any hotel. The hotel still has the classic architecture with all new ammenities. The bathroom was amazing with a huge tub which is great for relaxing your legs after walking all day. Plus it had an additional shower with a waterfall spout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want good italian there is a resturant a few blocks from the hotel that the concierge recommended. They served me pasta that was mixed in a huge paramsian cheese wheel. DELICIOUSO!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top