$225 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 24, 2014

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
193 reviews
Beautiful place to stay with the family.

This hotel is where every body's dream. Centre of Amsterdam .The mini bar is free ,room are really... See full review

  • Merlita
  • Jul 6, 2014
Excellent Stay

Just back from 2 nights/3 days at this hotel- so pleased after endless searching that we booked... See full review

  • Icklekt
  • Jul 1, 2014
Feel part of Amsterdam’s rich elegance at this Art Nouveau landmark
Dating to 1913 and formerly a shipping office, the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam is a five-star Art Nouveau masterpiece. Overlooking the city's picturesque waterfront, the hotel is a monument to classic design, impeccable luxury and world-class amenities. A host of wellness and recreational facilities, including an indoor pool, fitness center and luxury spa combined with exquisite dining and state-of-the-art in-room comforts make the Grand Hotel Amrâth a destination in itself.
Highlights
  • Architectural landmark full of stunning Art Nouveau detailing
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and mini bar in all guest rooms
  • Luxury spa and full range of recreation and fitness facilities         
Rooms

Guests are greeted with warm, bright colors and cozy furnishings in the Grand Hotel Amrâth's 165 guest rooms, including 21 suites. Each room comes with a king bed or two twin beds. Complimentary Wi-Fi, top-quality Nespresso coffee and tea machines and 32-inch flat-screen HDTV with satellite channels add modern touches to each room's evocative elegance. Bathroom amenities include plush bathrobes and signature Lanvin bath essentials.

 

The Grand Hotel Amrâth's suites range from the spacious junior and two-room suites to the 1,300-square-foot two-story tower suite, boasting a fireplace and spacious bathroom with 360-degree views of Amsterdam.

Features

At Grand Hotel Amsterdam, breakfast is served at the on-site restaurant Seven Seas or at the bar/lounge. Patrons can inform hotel a night prior to opting to savour the morning meal in room. Additionally, the hotel offers a bar and lounge where guests can sip enticing cocktails, mingle and unwind in a stylish, casual setting. The Grand Hotel Amrâth also provides concierge services and complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas.

An indoor swimming pool and fitness center, along with the sauna and Turkish steam bath offer the ideal venues to decompress after sightseeing or business meetings. The hotel's Wellness Center is a world-class spa offering comprehensive treatments using only the purest bath and body products and exclusive Babor cosmetics.

Transportation
  • Schiphol Airport transportation available (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frankhuis (Anne Frank House) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Begijnhof (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 7,100 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • 8 meeting rooms

Hotel Map

52.3748 4.9041
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 12.1 km, Rotterdam Airport - 56.0 km.
Area description
You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city centre, close to the Central Station and 1100 m from Dam Square. A unique location in the historic heart of Amsterdam bordering on beautiful canals and within walking distance to the best sights. Our concierge will show you the ropes of the city. With valet parking, exclusive for our hotel guests, the concierge will take care of your car. Schiphol Airport is just 19 km away and is easy to reach by train, the Central Station is only 500 meters from the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room of 24-28 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Superior Room
Superior Room of 32-45 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with city view of 47-53 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. The bathroom features a steam shower. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.2 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.2 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Science Centre NEMO: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.4 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.4 mi
  • Bimhuis: 0.4 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.4 mi
  • Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ: 0.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.5 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • National Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.5 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.5 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.5 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Droog: 0.5 mi
  • New Church: 0.5 mi
  • Stopera: 0.5 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
After a warm welcome you will start an unforgettable culinary voyage. You will enjoy the French international cuisine, which is inspired by the Mediterranean. The cooking art of our Chef and his brigade will tickle your senses. Beautiful marble, wooden floors and stained glass decorations give you the ideal ambiance. You will hear the sound of animated conversations and enjoy the optimal harmony of elegant dishes created from pure products and specially selected wines. After dinner, simply remain seated and enjoy the wide selection of coffee and tea. You are welcome for dinner from 18:00 to 22:30 hours. From 09:00 to 01:00 hours you can have an informal bite in our Bar/lounge. On Friday and Saturday until 02:00 hours.
Breakfast
Breakfast is served in our restaurant Seven Seas or in the Bar/Lounge. At your request you can have breakfast served in your room or suite. Just let us know your wishes the evening before.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (193)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
193 out of 193
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tufty
portsmouth
Feb 26, 2013

Beautiful luxurious hotel but don't take complaints seriously

We had two wonderful nights in spite of only having one pillow each. We finally managed to get an extra pillow each for the first night after phoning several times. The checking in experience was the best I have ever had and the staff on reception were helpful an courteous. The concierge was also helpful. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant (seven seas) which was good value and delicious. However on our last night we were awoken by the sound of a mouse munching on a crisp packet in the room. Of course we phoned reception straight away-the bell boy who came to investigate did not seem to think it was something to be bothered about. Neither of us could sleep after that and checked out earlier than intended-we weren't offered an apology or even a refund on our last night's stay. Maybe mice in rooms in Holland is a common thing but I wouldn't expect it in a 5 star hotel. Until that experience we would not have hesitated in recommending the hotel or staying again. It was such a disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Seven Seas restaurant has a very good menu and excellent quality of food.

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Seteven
Devon
Sep 4, 2011

Appalled

The location was fine. We got off the train and walked to the hotel. The room was good. We had booked room only, which included a free mini bar which we mad good use of. We had a major problem with the electric curtains. The curtains would open spontaneously in the middle of the night; they would open at 6:00am letting the sun stream in waking us. We reported it to reception three times. We were told it was a computer failure, a power failure, someone else opening their curtains. Beyond their excuses they're only response thank you, yes we know. Being woken up at ridiculous times ruined what was supposed to be a romantic weekend. I was appalled at their attitude for a five star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tufty
portsmouth
Feb 26, 2013

1 star or less for room comfort comfort for a 5 star hotel!

This hotel looks fantastic. The service and room comfort are not good. This is a 5 star hotel with 1 star or less for comfort and staff ! Room not prepared or checked properly- minibar half empty, no hypallergenic pillows available. We only had 2 very small pillows between us. only 1 was foam. The toilet paper ran out. the room was cold. Worst of all there was a visitor in the room - either a mouse or a rat. We were woken by vermin eating a bag of crisps. Even worse the staff were not really interested or concerned or apologetic. NOT WHAT IS EXPECTED FOR A % STAR HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jolly Joker Man
San Francisco, CA
Aug 16, 2013

Faded

This is an old hotel, well past its prime. Location is convenient if you want to be near Cental Station. Rooms are very small and not very modern, though the bathroom was new. The elevator is decades old and barely functions. It's not a terrible experience, but there are likely better places for those who like modern amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jay Sav
Greece
Dec 29, 2012

Not a five star hotel

We stayed there for one night, on the Christmas Eve. There was no place for us to dine in the hotel, but this is not what the problem was. The hotel looked really old, it surely needs a renovation because it looks like it belongs to the 80s. I wouldn't rate it as a five star hotel, it's borderline as a four star. In addition, I wasn't crazy about the staff either, they were not really helpful with the luggage and the whole check in thing. Total dissappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marina Resident
Marina del Rey, CA
Oct 13, 2010

Not a great location

The architecture is very interesting. The building was converted from offices, so each room is like a small office. Mine faced an enclosed courtyard and I heard loud flags and chains flapping all night long off the roof equipment. The housekeeping staff is clean but weird - they'd leave three shampoos and no conditioner or soap one day; the next they'd replace one towel and leave the others; they'd restock things wrong; just odd. The whole place is ghost-town quiet, which is a little unsettling. I wondered for days if I was the only guest. It's really dark inside the building. The location is middle of nowhere - long walk to almost anything except the train station. Doesn't have a warm, friendly feeling. Gym/spa area stinks of chlorine and is very small, despite glorious pictures on their website. In general service personnel in Holland are not as cheery or helpful as Americans, and the hotel is no exception. I would not stay in this hotel again, but then again, I wasn't at all impressed with Amsterdam in general so it is a moot point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Definitely take the tram from the Central Station to Dam Square or wherever you want to go. It's an exceptionally long walk past a lot of construction and closed-up shops to get to the tourist areas if you don't.

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Aug 3, 2009

Disapppointing

This five star hotel seems to have misplaced two of it's stars, along with it's staff. My wife and I stayed at the Amrath Amsterdam for three nights. The room was of generous size, the tall ceilings were especially nice, the plush king bed was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly - when they could be found. Upon arriving at the hotel, at 2 pm, there was no doorman or bell hop in sight. After lugging our bags up the stairs I was able to locate hotel personnel and check in. The concierge's desk remained vacant most of our stay. The non-smoking rooms appeared to be designated by whether or not there was presently an ash tray in the room. Internet service was problematic. Fortunately, one of the business centers two computers was working. The elevator was particularly unnerving, as it's floor would stop about six inches above the hotel floor - we used the stairs. The room service was timely and the hotel rate included complimentary mini bar. Given the choice, I would have gladly traded the minibar for the misplaced stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Apr 24, 2010

Good Location

1. Had 3 reservations for me, instead of just 1 therefore delay check-in.2. charged me city taxes after trip fully paid to [...]3. Had to call daily to separate beds into twins instead of one queen.4. Had to call daily to get fresh face towels.5. Porter and concierge were excellent!6. Upon arrival, was told that there would be no water from 11 am until 4 pm for three days, due to construction.7. Buffet prices extremely high.8. Jacuzzi water not hot, just warm9. Valet parking extremely high, 40 euros daily10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful markets. Concierge very helpful in planning bus tours.

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luckyryoji
Business
San Diego, CA
Mar 14, 2010

Overall so so...

Great location. Close to the central area where everything is walking distance. Problem is being under staffed. When you call for service, nothing gets done it time. My laudry was sitting at the hotel even though I called several times for the pick up and leaving it out side as instructed. I had to personally track it down, resulting in getting it done in 2 days. Other than that, the staff were very friendly and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Taxis are very expensive in Amsterdam. Need to figure out how the Tram and the bus works. This should save you a lot of money.

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco
Aug 3, 2009

Disapppointing

This five star hotel seems to have misplaced two of it's stars, along with it's staff. My wife and I stayed at the Amrath Amsterdam for three nights. The room was of generous size, the tall ceilings were especially nice, the plush king bed was very comfortable and the staff were very friendly - when they could be found. Upon arriving at the hotel, at 2 pm, there was no doorman or bell hop in sight. After lugging our bags up the stairs I was able to locate hotel personnel and check in. The concierge's desk remained vacant most of our stay. The non-smoking rooms appeared to be designated by whether or not there was presently an ash tray in the room. Internet service was problematic. Fortunately, one of the business centers two computers was working. The elevator was particularly unnerving, as it's floor would stop about six inches above the hotel floor - we used the stairs. The room service was timely and the hotel rate included complimentary mini bar. Given the choice, I would have gladly traded the minibar for the misplaced stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top