$222 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
220 out of 220
Amenities:
4.6
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bunko
Friends
Scotland
Jul 20, 2014

Great location

Great place for 8 ladies to stay, staff were great and because we booked with e bookers the stay was half price! The mini bar is free and restocked daily

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tired James
Couples
Sale, Manchester
Jul 15, 2014

Brilliant weekend away

Brilliant hotel, lots of character, nice big rooms with really high ceilings, really helpful staff, and a free minibar in the room to boot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elderly Nancy
Couples
West Michigan
Jul 12, 2014

Great hotel

Did not alert to needing 9 a.m. check-in but was given royal service and immediately given a room at no extra cost. Desk made day trip reservations, confirmed other reservations--excellent service. Huge and beautiful room with everything although no hair dryer (didn't bother to request but am sure one would have instantly arrived.) AC couldn't keep up with the warmth from the wall of windows but no real problem. Historical building which means charming rooms not typical hotel rooms. Do wish the hotels provided a light duvet instead of the thick winter weight...every hotel seems to have thick only. Thick bathrobe and towels but had to smile at the thread bare bathmat. Surprise and Amazingly...YES, the minibar is really free and refilled daily. Schedule did not have us eating at the restaurant but looked elegant. Terrific location near Central Station bordering two canals; definitely within short walking distance of everything shopping, museums, flower market, restaurants...which we did eventhough walking challenged due to elderly age. Our room was very quiet. Would definitely stay here again with the special pricing we found.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very short and walkable distance to Central Station, river cruise docks and all transportation as well as everything else. Super location!

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wingy3
Couples
Lancashire, England
Aug 2, 2014

3 day short brake

Lovely hotel right in the heart if Amsterdam, very close to Central station, friendly staff and spotless room, furnished to a high standard, would recommend to anyone, also free minibar is a nice touch

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cryzztal7
Couples
Miami, FL
Aug 5, 2014

Nice big clean rooms!

We were completely satisfied with our stay here. The rooms were nice and clean and the towels and mini bar were replenished frequently. Staff was helpful. Wifi worked great. We loved the location. Walking distance from where we arrived and left (central station) and walking distance to the red light district and other touristy areas. Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

When they offer to show you to your room, say yes! The building is a maze and it is very difficult to find your way around. Trust me. This will save you time.

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Andy from Leeds
Couples
Leeds
Aug 27, 2014

One of the best in Amsterdam

A fantastic hotel, great staff and well worth a stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michael1969
Couples
Cologne, Germany
Aug 15, 2014

Charming old hotel

The Amrath Hotel is a very charming old hotel with nice rooms and good amenities in walking distance to all the attractions of Amsterdam old town. The staff is personal and dedicated, I can't say anything bad. As we stayed for 6 days, they tried to put us into a room on the highest floor in order to reduce traffic noise. Because our room was not ready when we arrived, we got a free upgrade to a junior suite, which was very pleasant. The only thing is: If you think about to bring along your own car or a rental car, be aware, that parking is very difficult there. The hotel offers Valet Parking, but its 50,-- Euro (!) per day (approximately 65 $), there is no cheaper parking garage nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
trebor
Single
london
Aug 19, 2014

Wedding Guest

Room was clean and tidy, wellness suite was clean and relaxing, staff very friendly. Breakfast although pricey was better value if booked the day before, and good selection. Check in can take a while when busy. nice hotel, great location if traveling by train, enjoyed stay, would use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BradMcA
Couples
London, UK
Aug 12, 2014

The most colourful hotel I have ever stayed at

Really awesome decor, and it got a little too colourful at one point so had to go for a stroll outside.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Yellow bikes, easy bike hire.

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maximilius
Business
New York
Aug 30, 2014

Amazing room for the price

I was staying in amsterdam for a conference and the amrath was cheaper than most of the other hotels offered. I was pleasantly surprised that the minibar and nesspresso were all restocked for free. The gym wasn't amazing but the free spa was a plus. Alltogether amazing value and real pampering in a large room (I chose a single bit it can definitely sleep 2 with extra lounging space).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top