$205 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 29, 2015

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
196 out of 196
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NYC Traveler2
Business
New York
Mar 26, 2013

Nice but not 5 stars

Overall I would say that the experience was less than expected given the 5 star rating but since I received a steeply discounted rate I thought the value was appropriate. The hotel is nice but more of a traditional European hotel. I tend to prefer more modern trendy hotels (or high end chains) but if you are into old European style hotels you will enjoy it. The rooms are large with comfortable amenities including a jacuzzi tub. The free mini bar is also a nice touch. Location is convienent to the central train station and a pretty easy walk to most places in the city. Overall it is a nice hotel just had much higher expectations given the 5 star rating. I would recommend but with the caveat that it would have to be at a reasonable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
critical janet
Business
Norwich UK
Mar 14, 2013

Stunning and historical

From the moment you approach the hotel you know you are in for something special. This has the standard 5 star modern fixtures and fittings in the bedrooms (plus free mini bar!) but the entrance, dining area, reception and other communal areas are steeped in the history of the early 20th century. If you love Art Deco, Arts and Crafts and Art Nouveau, then this is THE place to go. This is not a bland modern 'could be anywhere' hotel, this is a transportation back to a time when money was no object when you wanted to impress. Being only 5 minutes walk from the rail station just makes it convenient too. Staff superb. Can't recommend it enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blueskies4
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 8, 2013

Highly recommended hotel!

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and we had no negative experiences. The staff are both energetic and detail-oriented and they go out of their way to provide answers to questions in a thorough and courteous way. I felt the customer service aspect of this hotel was seamless and outstanding! the location is perfect - close to everything including the city center, transportation, a wide range of excellent restaurants, shopping, and historical sights. the hotel itself is in an historical building and is stunning. Rooms are comfortable, spacious, and immaculately clean (and we were in one of the least expensive rooms). The hotel breakfast at 25 euros was expensive but offered an extensive variety of just about everything imaginable. The free minibar was conscientiously refilled every day and was a nice extra. there was an evening turndown service and a late afternoon in-room offer of coffee or tea, Housekeeping was excellent and room cleanups were done at our convenience. In every respect, this hotel was worth the charge and I really can't think of anything to complain of relative to the value:price ratio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
keren
Business
rochford essex
Mar 2, 2013

great place

It was everything and more, the staff couldn't of been more helpful and the room was more than expected. The spa was totally relaxing too. We can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rico West
Business
UK
Feb 28, 2013

Brilliant stay

Lovely room with a free mini bar restocked everyday. The spa was very relaxing and a great afternoon was spent there. In a good location very close to the central train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just over the water from the hotel is a floating chinese restaurant. Great fun and good views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Looey
Business
London, UK
Feb 26, 2013

Unique

This hotel is a unique and incredibly interesting building - if you like your architecture, you will find it intriguing. Didn't try the restaurant but it is highly rated, the spa was not bad albeit you are always running the risk of rowdy stag and hen parties in Amsterdam and this is no exception given the very good value our sub-£100 a night deal represented. The rooms are spacious with cavernously high ceiling, huge windows (great views across the old city from the 3rd floor up) and excellent modern bathrooms. The minibar being complimentary was a great touch too. On the whole, it was a very good hotel and I'd have no hesitation in recommending it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Best strip for restaurants in Amsterdam is Utrechtesstraat - some tremendous contemporary European but also great Indonesians and some other unusual treats. The little Tibetan place Tashi Deleg served fantastic food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tufty
Business
portsmouth
Feb 26, 2013

1 star or less for room comfort comfort for a 5 star hotel!

This hotel looks fantastic. The service and room comfort are not good. This is a 5 star hotel with 1 star or less for comfort and staff ! Room not prepared or checked properly- minibar half empty, no hypallergenic pillows available. We only had 2 very small pillows between us. only 1 was foam. The toilet paper ran out. the room was cold. Worst of all there was a visitor in the room - either a mouse or a rat. We were woken by vermin eating a bag of crisps. Even worse the staff were not really interested or concerned or apologetic. NOT WHAT IS EXPECTED FOR A % STAR HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donafa
Business
Paris
Feb 26, 2013

Great!

As long as they'll keep the free minibars, wellness centre and (good!) free Wifi Internet, I shall keep coming back :-). Would be nice to include an included breakfast as at €25 per person that was pretty stiff although, it was a great breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tufty
Business
portsmouth
Feb 26, 2013

Beautiful luxurious hotel but don't take complaints seriously

We had two wonderful nights in spite of only having one pillow each. We finally managed to get an extra pillow each for the first night after phoning several times. The checking in experience was the best I have ever had and the staff on reception were helpful an courteous. The concierge was also helpful. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant (seven seas) which was good value and delicious. However on our last night we were awoken by the sound of a mouse munching on a crisp packet in the room. Of course we phoned reception straight away-the bell boy who came to investigate did not seem to think it was something to be bothered about. Neither of us could sleep after that and checked out earlier than intended-we weren't offered an apology or even a refund on our last night's stay. Maybe mice in rooms in Holland is a common thing but I wouldn't expect it in a 5 star hotel. Until that experience we would not have hesitated in recommending the hotel or staying again. It was such a disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Seven Seas restaurant has a very good menu and excellent quality of food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs Smith
Business
Troon, Scotland
Feb 24, 2013

Wonderful

This was our first visit to Amsterdam and we stayed at the Grand Hotel Amrath for 5 nights. The location is perfect and a short walk from all the major attractions. I e-mailed the hotel prior to our visit to advise of our late check in and mentioned that we were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday on Valentine's day. On arrival we were given a room upgrade and on his birthday we returned that afternoon to find a beautiful chocolate cake and hand written birthday card from the duty manager. We were so touched by their thoughtfulness. All of the staff were polite and attentive. The rooms were beautiful and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We hope to return for another visit in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top