$217 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 11, 2015 Check-out: May 12, 2015

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
207 out of 207
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
amsterdamster
Business
New Jersey
Aug 31, 2009

Worth the money

the room, the service, the atmosphere and the location were superb. i don't believe I've ever slept so well. close enough to get to everything, but far enough that you could feel removed from the tourists and just unwind. fell in love with whirlpool and sauna. i would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

definitely take the trains and trams over the taxi, particularly to and from the airport. taxi was 44 Euro, train was 2.60, no contest.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mwbk_99
Business
Long Beach Ca
Apr 11, 2011

Loved It

The room was very nice, big, quite with a great bed. The bathroom was nice and big. The staff was great and very helpful. We loved where the hotel was located, very close to the main station and within walking distance to all the main sights. We are looking forward to staying and the Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam again. Thanks for a great time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee, USA
May 8, 2011

Grand Amrath *****

This hotel was perfect for our needs. The room was very large with 15 foot ceilings and huge windows to let in lots of light. The bathroom layout was a little small but functional.There was a separate shower and tub which was a plus. The room was clean and well maintained. The mini bar was stocked daily with premium spirits, water, sodas, a few snacks, beer and not so good wine at no charge. There is an espresso maker and a tea kettle in the room which is very handy. It was also nice to have the fridge to store some snacks of our own. I think we saved at least 30-40 euro daily by having our morning coffee and occasional cocktail or beer from the mini bar. The bed was fantastic. I usually complain about the bedding at most hotels but this was a very comfortable bed with great pillows and comforter. There is a nice cafe around the back and over the bridge called Cafe Captein & Co. it has a large Gulpener Beer sign on the front. Very friendly staff and good food average prices. The Central station is maybe 500 meters away. We took the train to and from the airport with no trouble. The hotel will also call a cab to th airport for fixed 40 euro rate if you prefer. Easy walking distance to red light district, Dam Square, Anne Frank House, Jordaan and Niewmarket. A bit of a hike to Museumplien and De Pijp. I would say about 45 min walk. or you can take the tram. The room had free WIFI and a safe which will hold a laptop which made Staying in touch via email and Skype very easy. I can't think of any reason to not stay here again. It was fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Albert Cuyp Market in De Pijp was fun and worth the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix , AZ
May 22, 2010

great location and the staff was even be

overall I would rate our stay a 9 out of 10. The hotal could make the stay a little eaiser if there food prices were more competitive. Only had one meal and realized we could get the same food on the streets for less than half the price.But maybe thats how they off set the free mini bar,whick is free by the way as long as you follow the rules. Overall don't think it could have been much better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Staff at the hotel can give you a lot of good info and they are very helpful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, Mi
Mar 2, 2009

Great Hotel

Hotel is a remodeled wearhouse so its a little confusing trying to find the room the first time. The room is very lager for euorpe and he 10 foot windows are very nice. The bathroom was very nice other than it needed a little more lighting, lights are behind you when you face the mirror. Restaurant in the hotel was very accomadating and staffed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The hotel is a little far from the main attractions but the tram is a shot walk and from there you can get anywhere

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
travelpaul
Business
norfolk va
Jun 28, 2010

Grand!

The Grand Hotel Amrath was incredible. We traveled during June and it was hot outside and unfortunately the Hotel doesnt have A/C. The window in our room did not open and was hot at times in the room. Our room was amazing with very nice amenities, completely renovated bathrooms with Marble tile throughout. The hotel staff are very accomadating and friendly. The concierage has tickets to museums in the area so you dont have to wait in lines. The hotel has new bikes and mopeds for rent at reasonable prices. We rented bikes for three days and they allowed us to enjoy the city and get around easily. The hotel has a free mini bar and they restock it daily !!! It is a nice treat since in the city a coke or water can cost 2-4 euro. The hotel has a spa area with steam room, saunas, jacuzzi, and swimming pool. It was great to relax at the end of the day and enjoy the spa. The hotel is very conveinent to Central Station, 5-10 minute walk. We found a quaint pancake restaurant located about 10 minutes bike ride away called the "The Pancake Bakery" located on a canal and we ate the best pancakes on a canal watching boats stroll by. WOW The Anne Frank House is located nearby. We didn't eat at the hotel, the menu looks really good and they have room service available but we wanted to eat at local spots. The wireless internet access was free and we never had any problems getting connected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We purchased the eyewitness guide to amsterdam and found it to be very helpful. Buy your tickets for the Anne Frank House online or at the concierage at your hotel so you can skip the long line there. There were over 100 people in line and we went to a secret entrance and passed all people in line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DRMFS
Business
London
Jun 15, 2014

Holidays

Every thing was good except there was no proper lobby for guests. Staff was very helpfull. Will recommend for leisure stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jacnic
Business
england
Jun 25, 2014

love this hotel!

Great stay! Had one. Of our best weekends in Amsterdam to date!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Empedocles
Business
Cambridge, MA
Jun 29, 2014

Fantastic

Perfect location, couple of blocks from the central train station, yet just outside the noisy tourist part of the town. The free mini-bar, plus endless supplies of espresso, a big plus. Spacious room, with high ceilings, excellent bathroom. I had a package deal together with plane that resulted in a ridiculously low price for the value. Had a nice meal at the restaurant, very reasonably priced. The only possible downside (for some) could be that it is not a modern building.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Icklekt
Business
Norfolk
Jul 1, 2014

Excellent Stay

Just back from 2 nights/3 days at this hotel- so pleased after endless searching that we booked here as we had a fantastic time. Spacious king sized room, free mini bar stocked with soft drinks, beers, wine & spirits & large bathroom with use of slippers & robes. Excellent location, just a few minutes walk from central station & easy walk to dam square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try mas y mas restaurant, just off dam square- excellent steak!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top