$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 11, 2014 Check-out: Nov 12, 2014

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
164 reviews
Free minibar!

Beautiful hotel, fantastic service, very comfortable bed, and free minibar replenished daily! See full review

  • Flatpoint78
  • Oct 5, 2014
FAB Hotel!!

Had a wonderful stay at the Amrath... fabulous building with great history and decor. Our room was... See full review

  • JRobson67
  • Oct 1, 2014
Feel part of Amsterdam’s rich elegance at this Art Nouveau landmark
Dating to 1913 and formerly a shipping office, the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam is a five-star Art Nouveau masterpiece. Overlooking the city's picturesque waterfront, the hotel is a monument to classic design, impeccable luxury and world-class amenities. A host of wellness and recreational facilities, including an indoor pool, fitness center and luxury spa combined with exquisite dining and state-of-the-art in-room comforts make the Grand Hotel Amrâth a destination in itself.
Highlights
  • Architectural landmark full of stunning Art Nouveau detailing
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and mini bar in all guest rooms
  • Luxury spa and full range of recreation and fitness facilities         
Rooms

Guests are greeted with warm, bright colors and cozy furnishings in the Grand Hotel Amrâth's 165 guest rooms, including 21 suites. Each room comes with a king bed or two twin beds. Complimentary Wi-Fi, top-quality Nespresso coffee and tea machines and 32-inch flat-screen HDTV with satellite channels add modern touches to each room's evocative elegance. Bathroom amenities include plush bathrobes and signature Lanvin bath essentials.

 

The Grand Hotel Amrâth's suites range from the spacious junior and two-room suites to the 1,300-square-foot two-story tower suite, boasting a fireplace and spacious bathroom with 360-degree views of Amsterdam.

Features

At Grand Hotel Amsterdam, breakfast is served at the on-site restaurant Seven Seas or at the bar/lounge. Patrons can inform hotel a night prior to opting to savour the morning meal in room. Additionally, the hotel offers a bar and lounge where guests can sip enticing cocktails, mingle and unwind in a stylish, casual setting. The Grand Hotel Amrâth also provides concierge services and complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas.

An indoor swimming pool and fitness center, along with the sauna and Turkish steam bath offer the ideal venues to decompress after sightseeing or business meetings. The hotel's Wellness Center is a world-class spa offering comprehensive treatments using only the purest bath and body products and exclusive Babor cosmetics.

Transportation
  • Schiphol Airport transportation available (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frankhuis (Anne Frank House) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Begijnhof (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 7,100 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • 8 meeting rooms

Hotel Map

52.3748 4.9041
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 12.1 km, Rotterdam Airport - 56.0 km.
Area description
You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city centre, close to the Central Station and 1100 m from Dam Square. A unique location in the historic heart of Amsterdam bordering on beautiful canals and within walking distance to the best sights. Our concierge will show you the ropes of the city. With valet parking, exclusive for our hotel guests, the concierge will take care of your car. Schiphol Airport is just 19 km away and is easy to reach by train, the Central Station is only 500 meters from the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room of 24-28 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Superior Room
Superior Room of 32-45 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with city view of 47-53 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. The bathroom features a steam shower. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.2 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.2 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Science Centre NEMO: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.4 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.4 mi
  • Bimhuis: 0.4 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.4 mi
  • Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ: 0.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.5 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • National Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.5 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.5 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.5 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Droog: 0.5 mi
  • New Church: 0.5 mi
  • Stopera: 0.5 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
After a warm welcome you will start an unforgettable culinary voyage. You will enjoy the French international cuisine, which is inspired by the Mediterranean. The cooking art of our Chef and his brigade will tickle your senses. Beautiful marble, wooden floors and stained glass decorations give you the ideal ambiance. You will hear the sound of animated conversations and enjoy the optimal harmony of elegant dishes created from pure products and specially selected wines. After dinner, simply remain seated and enjoy the wide selection of coffee and tea. You are welcome for dinner from 18:00 to 22:30 hours. From 09:00 to 01:00 hours you can have an informal bite in our Bar/lounge. On Friday and Saturday until 02:00 hours.
Breakfast
Breakfast is served in our restaurant Seven Seas or in the Bar/Lounge. At your request you can have breakfast served in your room or suite. Just let us know your wishes the evening before.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blueskies4
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 8, 2013

Highly recommended hotel!

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and we had no negative experiences. The staff are both energetic and detail-oriented and they go out of their way to provide answers to questions in a thorough and courteous way. I felt the customer service aspect of this hotel was seamless and outstanding! the location is perfect - close to everything including the city center, transportation, a wide range of excellent restaurants, shopping, and historical sights. the hotel itself is in an historical building and is stunning. Rooms are comfortable, spacious, and immaculately clean (and we were in one of the least expensive rooms). The hotel breakfast at 25 euros was expensive but offered an extensive variety of just about everything imaginable. The free minibar was conscientiously refilled every day and was a nice extra. there was an evening turndown service and a late afternoon in-room offer of coffee or tea, Housekeeping was excellent and room cleanups were done at our convenience. In every respect, this hotel was worth the charge and I really can't think of anything to complain of relative to the value:price ratio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
keren
Business
rochford essex
Mar 2, 2013

great place

It was everything and more, the staff couldn't of been more helpful and the room was more than expected. The spa was totally relaxing too. We can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rico West
Business
UK
Feb 28, 2013

Brilliant stay

Lovely room with a free mini bar restocked everyday. The spa was very relaxing and a great afternoon was spent there. In a good location very close to the central train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just over the water from the hotel is a floating chinese restaurant. Great fun and good views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Looey
Business
London, UK
Feb 26, 2013

Unique

This hotel is a unique and incredibly interesting building - if you like your architecture, you will find it intriguing. Didn't try the restaurant but it is highly rated, the spa was not bad albeit you are always running the risk of rowdy stag and hen parties in Amsterdam and this is no exception given the very good value our sub-£100 a night deal represented. The rooms are spacious with cavernously high ceiling, huge windows (great views across the old city from the 3rd floor up) and excellent modern bathrooms. The minibar being complimentary was a great touch too. On the whole, it was a very good hotel and I'd have no hesitation in recommending it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Best strip for restaurants in Amsterdam is Utrechtesstraat - some tremendous contemporary European but also great Indonesians and some other unusual treats. The little Tibetan place Tashi Deleg served fantastic food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tufty
Business
portsmouth
Feb 26, 2013

1 star or less for room comfort comfort for a 5 star hotel!

This hotel looks fantastic. The service and room comfort are not good. This is a 5 star hotel with 1 star or less for comfort and staff ! Room not prepared or checked properly- minibar half empty, no hypallergenic pillows available. We only had 2 very small pillows between us. only 1 was foam. The toilet paper ran out. the room was cold. Worst of all there was a visitor in the room - either a mouse or a rat. We were woken by vermin eating a bag of crisps. Even worse the staff were not really interested or concerned or apologetic. NOT WHAT IS EXPECTED FOR A % STAR HOTEL

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donafa
Business
Paris
Feb 26, 2013

Great!

As long as they'll keep the free minibars, wellness centre and (good!) free Wifi Internet, I shall keep coming back :-). Would be nice to include an included breakfast as at €25 per person that was pretty stiff although, it was a great breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
tufty
Business
portsmouth
Feb 26, 2013

Beautiful luxurious hotel but don't take complaints seriously

We had two wonderful nights in spite of only having one pillow each. We finally managed to get an extra pillow each for the first night after phoning several times. The checking in experience was the best I have ever had and the staff on reception were helpful an courteous. The concierge was also helpful. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant (seven seas) which was good value and delicious. However on our last night we were awoken by the sound of a mouse munching on a crisp packet in the room. Of course we phoned reception straight away-the bell boy who came to investigate did not seem to think it was something to be bothered about. Neither of us could sleep after that and checked out earlier than intended-we weren't offered an apology or even a refund on our last night's stay. Maybe mice in rooms in Holland is a common thing but I wouldn't expect it in a 5 star hotel. Until that experience we would not have hesitated in recommending the hotel or staying again. It was such a disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Seven Seas restaurant has a very good menu and excellent quality of food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs Smith
Business
Troon, Scotland
Feb 24, 2013

Wonderful

This was our first visit to Amsterdam and we stayed at the Grand Hotel Amrath for 5 nights. The location is perfect and a short walk from all the major attractions. I e-mailed the hotel prior to our visit to advise of our late check in and mentioned that we were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday on Valentine's day. On arrival we were given a room upgrade and on his birthday we returned that afternoon to find a beautiful chocolate cake and hand written birthday card from the duty manager. We were so touched by their thoughtfulness. All of the staff were polite and attentive. The rooms were beautiful and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We hope to return for another visit in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobMurray
Business
Guildford
Feb 20, 2013

Amazing Birthday Weekend

Best hotel ever. The staff were amazing and upgraded us to the penthouse suite free of charge because it was my friends birthday. We had a free minibar which was upgraded everyday and free wifi and access to all of the hotels amenities including the amazing spa area with a pool sauna etc. The staff constantly went out of their way to help us and the concierge service was top of the range. Every recommendation he made for us was perfect and he booked everything. It was amazing. Free nespresso machine in the room also which was a lovely extra. The hotel is in the most perfect location right beside the station and a 2 minute walk to everything you could possibly need. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. There was not one bad aspect of our stay. Cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Casa di David. Beautiful italian restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lorrimack
Business
Edinburgh
Feb 15, 2013

Great break

We had such a lovely room. Bed was sooo! Comfortable. Spa attractive and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Short distance walk from central station. We will certainly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top