$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 28, 2015 Check-out: Jul 31, 2015

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lanny
Business
Bristol
Nov 18, 2014

Weekend break

This hotel is a five star for the location... Everything else is more four star. That being said, it is a fantastic hotel for the money! The pool and spa were pleasant if a little cool and the complimentary mini bar is a definite bonus. I wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Albert Heijn supermarket at Newmarket. 5 minutes walk and sensible prices for snacks and nibbles. The supermarkets opposite the hotel are extortionate ie. 12 euros for a 6 pack of Amstel. Albert Heijn €3.60!

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JB007
Business
London
Nov 17, 2014

Great as always

This is my fourth stay in the Grand Amrath and I still have no complaints. Only a few minutes outside Dam Square so you are close enough to all the action. I was visiting a friends restaurant in the Jordaan area and it's a easy 15 minute walk but as we were running late the hotel called us a taxi and it was right on time. I like to travel quite a bit and I must say that the Amrath still has the most comfortable beds going...and coming from a insomniac that's saying something!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Free minibar

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher 13
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 11, 2014

Amazing hotel

This hotel and the service is amazing. Great location and great hotel with large comfortable rooms in a classic, history filled hotel. I can wait to stay there again. Due to this last stay, we are planning another visit to Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to shopping and red light district :)

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flatpoint78
Business
Chicago
Oct 5, 2014

Free minibar!

Beautiful hotel, fantastic service, very comfortable bed, and free minibar replenished daily!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JRobson67
Business
UK
Oct 1, 2014

FAB Hotel!!

Had a wonderful stay at the Amrath... fabulous building with great history and decor. Our room was huge, more like a suite.... Free mini bar is a great plus too. Would highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We went down for breakfast and they ran up €50 before we sat down, I explained we only wanted an omelette each............ total came to €18.......... don't accept the set price of €25 pp for breakfast

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fergal
Business
Dublin
Sep 28, 2014

really enjoyed my stay

excellent hotel in a great location. staff were very friendly and helpful. interior has a nice 1920s feel to it. Bed were very comfortable to ensure a good night's sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rita O.
Business
Santa Monica, CA
Sep 18, 2014

Great Ending to My European Vacation

This hotel has a very interesting exterior. The room I stayed in was outstanding as far as cleanliness, decor and comfort. The mini bar was well equipped and selection of coffee was nice. At first, it was a little hot in the room and the window didn't open, but it cooled off eventually. It would be nice if there was parking space near the entrance. All the major attractions were within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R who travels much
Business
CA
Sep 9, 2014

Funky, but not 5 star

The hotel is conveniently close (literally across the street) to the train station for Amsterdam Central - don't worry, you don't hear any train noise. However, this puts the hotel a little far north, especially if you are planning to spend a lot of time in old town or at the museums. Best thing - the hotel rents nice bikes and vespas, and bikes are a must-do in Amsterdam. It would take you an hour to walk somewhere, but 10 or 15 minutes from the hotel on the bike path. Overall, the rooms are huge, beds are comfortable, and bathrooms are modern and new. However, the hotel has wear and tear that you just don't see in a true 5-star hotel - frayed carpet in the halls, lack of deep clean in the rooms (we had major dust on furniture and the walls, and spots in the carpet on the floor). Minibar is free and WiFi is free - rooms have Nespresso also. Concierge is very friendly and helpful, taxis are quick and plentiful. Recommend that you book activities and restaurants in advance, as they fill up quickly. Hotel is art deco style, very funky and cool to stay in a place with that history, but the history of the building also makes the layout a bit strange and the amenities retro. If you are looking for predictable luxury, you will pay much more, and need to look elsewhere. Overall - hotel is good, rooms are very nice, a little off the beaten track, but good spot for Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MEM107
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 3, 2014

good location

the hotel is within walking distance to Central Station. The hotel was clean but a little tired and the staff was very helpful. We had a problem with our room (heavy dust coming from the air vent) that was addressed quickly. They also with restaurant recommendations/ reservations . I would recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maximilius
Business
New York
Aug 30, 2014

Amazing room for the price

I was staying in amsterdam for a conference and the amrath was cheaper than most of the other hotels offered. I was pleasantly surprised that the minibar and nesspresso were all restocked for free. The gym wasn't amazing but the free spa was a plus. Alltogether amazing value and real pampering in a large room (I chose a single bit it can definitely sleep 2 with extra lounging space).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top