$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dhtalves
Business
Brazil
Dec 1, 2014

Perfect stay in Amsterdam

I spent 3 nights in Amsterdam and chose this hotel. It is very confort. My room was hugh. The staff Washington nice and kind. Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit the zoo

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Courtjester
Business
north Carolina
Nov 30, 2014

fantastic stay at the Amrath

Huge bedrooms. Great location which is a three minute walk to new market. The best concierge. Great facilities. The maid staff was the only complaint I have. No hand towels were provided; only bath towels and the effort just wasn't there. But I would return in a second as we loved the classy yet unpretentious nature of this hotel. Very laid back vibe. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Mikes bike tours is a must.

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mamuka
Business
Georgia
Nov 22, 2014

mamuka margishvili

nice hotel, free minibar, have little problem for car parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Morey
Business
Ireland
Nov 18, 2014

Disappointing

We had stayed in this hotel before, hence decided t stay again and had been looking forward to the same high standards that we had previously experienced. Unfortunately, this was not the case. Our room was a small and dingy room looking out onto the courtyard, with only a small window to allow in some natural light. The design of the room was confusing, and made no ergonomic sense. We asked to change room and the staff were more than happy to accommodate our request. The second room was brighter and had a canal view. However, the bed sheets were ripped, and the usual pens and hotel menus were missing. The gymnasium was ill equipped and did not have many suitable items to use. The equipment that they did have was old and out-dated. The leisure and spa area itself however, was well lit and modern, and tastefully decorated. Before leaving the hotel I met another couple who also shared our views and felt that the hotel was not of 5* standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lanny
Business
Bristol
Nov 18, 2014

Weekend break

This hotel is a five star for the location... Everything else is more four star. That being said, it is a fantastic hotel for the money! The pool and spa were pleasant if a little cool and the complimentary mini bar is a definite bonus. I wouldn't hesitate to return or recommend this hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Albert Heijn supermarket at Newmarket. 5 minutes walk and sensible prices for snacks and nibbles. The supermarkets opposite the hotel are extortionate ie. 12 euros for a 6 pack of Amstel. Albert Heijn €3.60!

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JB007
Business
London
Nov 17, 2014

Great as always

This is my fourth stay in the Grand Amrath and I still have no complaints. Only a few minutes outside Dam Square so you are close enough to all the action. I was visiting a friends restaurant in the Jordaan area and it's a easy 15 minute walk but as we were running late the hotel called us a taxi and it was right on time. I like to travel quite a bit and I must say that the Amrath still has the most comfortable beds going...and coming from a insomniac that's saying something!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Free minibar

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Christopher 13
Business
Tampa, FL
Nov 11, 2014

Amazing hotel

This hotel and the service is amazing. Great location and great hotel with large comfortable rooms in a classic, history filled hotel. I can wait to stay there again. Due to this last stay, we are planning another visit to Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to shopping and red light district :)

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Flatpoint78
Business
Chicago
Oct 5, 2014

Free minibar!

Beautiful hotel, fantastic service, very comfortable bed, and free minibar replenished daily!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JRobson67
Business
UK
Oct 1, 2014

FAB Hotel!!

Had a wonderful stay at the Amrath... fabulous building with great history and decor. Our room was huge, more like a suite.... Free mini bar is a great plus too. Would highly recommend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We went down for breakfast and they ran up €50 before we sat down, I explained we only wanted an omelette each............ total came to €18.......... don't accept the set price of €25 pp for breakfast

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fergal
Business
Dublin
Sep 28, 2014

really enjoyed my stay

excellent hotel in a great location. staff were very friendly and helpful. interior has a nice 1920s feel to it. Bed were very comfortable to ensure a good night's sleep

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top