$202 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Marky mark
Business
London
Jan 30, 2013

First class hotel

Great hotel and staff. Spa lovely. Great location, in the middle of it all but still quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lorrimack
Business
Edinburgh
Feb 15, 2013

Great break

We had such a lovely room. Bed was sooo! Comfortable. Spa attractive and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Short distance walk from central station. We will certainly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RobMurray
Business
Guildford
Feb 20, 2013

Amazing Birthday Weekend

Best hotel ever. The staff were amazing and upgraded us to the penthouse suite free of charge because it was my friends birthday. We had a free minibar which was upgraded everyday and free wifi and access to all of the hotels amenities including the amazing spa area with a pool sauna etc. The staff constantly went out of their way to help us and the concierge service was top of the range. Every recommendation he made for us was perfect and he booked everything. It was amazing. Free nespresso machine in the room also which was a lovely extra. The hotel is in the most perfect location right beside the station and a 2 minute walk to everything you could possibly need. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. There was not one bad aspect of our stay. Cannot wait to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Casa di David. Beautiful italian restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mrs Smith
Business
Troon, Scotland
Feb 24, 2013

Wonderful

This was our first visit to Amsterdam and we stayed at the Grand Hotel Amrath for 5 nights. The location is perfect and a short walk from all the major attractions. I e-mailed the hotel prior to our visit to advise of our late check in and mentioned that we were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday on Valentine's day. On arrival we were given a room upgrade and on his birthday we returned that afternoon to find a beautiful chocolate cake and hand written birthday card from the duty manager. We were so touched by their thoughtfulness. All of the staff were polite and attentive. The rooms were beautiful and we would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We hope to return for another visit in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Donafa
Business
Paris
Feb 26, 2013

Great!

As long as they'll keep the free minibars, wellness centre and (good!) free Wifi Internet, I shall keep coming back :-). Would be nice to include an included breakfast as at €25 per person that was pretty stiff although, it was a great breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
keren
Business
rochford essex
Mar 2, 2013

great place

It was everything and more, the staff couldn't of been more helpful and the room was more than expected. The spa was totally relaxing too. We can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rico West
Business
UK
Feb 28, 2013

Brilliant stay

Lovely room with a free mini bar restocked everyday. The spa was very relaxing and a great afternoon was spent there. In a good location very close to the central train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just over the water from the hotel is a floating chinese restaurant. Great fun and good views.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blueskies4
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 8, 2013

Highly recommended hotel!

We stayed at this hotel for 7 nights and we had no negative experiences. The staff are both energetic and detail-oriented and they go out of their way to provide answers to questions in a thorough and courteous way. I felt the customer service aspect of this hotel was seamless and outstanding! the location is perfect - close to everything including the city center, transportation, a wide range of excellent restaurants, shopping, and historical sights. the hotel itself is in an historical building and is stunning. Rooms are comfortable, spacious, and immaculately clean (and we were in one of the least expensive rooms). The hotel breakfast at 25 euros was expensive but offered an extensive variety of just about everything imaginable. The free minibar was conscientiously refilled every day and was a nice extra. there was an evening turndown service and a late afternoon in-room offer of coffee or tea, Housekeeping was excellent and room cleanups were done at our convenience. In every respect, this hotel was worth the charge and I really can't think of anything to complain of relative to the value:price ratio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
critical janet
Business
Norwich UK
Mar 14, 2013

Stunning and historical

From the moment you approach the hotel you know you are in for something special. This has the standard 5 star modern fixtures and fittings in the bedrooms (plus free mini bar!) but the entrance, dining area, reception and other communal areas are steeped in the history of the early 20th century. If you love Art Deco, Arts and Crafts and Art Nouveau, then this is THE place to go. This is not a bland modern 'could be anywhere' hotel, this is a transportation back to a time when money was no object when you wanted to impress. Being only 5 minutes walk from the rail station just makes it convenient too. Staff superb. Can't recommend it enough.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M and S
Business
Falmouth, UK
Apr 10, 2013

Fabulous birthday treat

Our first trip to Amsterdam, celebrating a special birthday. The Amrath did everything they possibly could to make it one that we will remember for ever. Great location, attentive service and excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy the I Amsterdam card, to make the best of all the museums on offer.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top