$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 11, 2015 Check-out: Aug 14, 2015

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LizInBoston
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Great First Time in Europe thanks to the Hotel

I was a little nervous because I had not visitted Europe so I did not know what to expect. As soon as I arrived in Amsterdam with my friend and walked over to the Hotel from Central Station -- I felt wonderful and relieved. The Hotel is an architectural gem - and I could see from across the canals. Upon entering I was greeted by the lovely staff who made me feel very comfortable. They were so nice - and they offered us a very early check-in upon arrival. The room was spotless and the Free mini bar and coffee station in the room really does get stocked up every day ! -- I loved being able to unwind at ease with that. We stayed for 5 nights - and the maid service was excellent with a really great turn-down service. After travelling all around the city and visitting other hotels , eateries, etc. -- it was evident that the Location of this hotel was the best we could have imagined. It was very easy to take the trams & the trains -- while staying in a quiet neighborhood street that the hotel was on. After a long day & night -- it was a good feeling to go back to the relaxing and elegant ambience of the hotel. I would stay here again (and hope to) -- and recommed it to my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are multiple places to eat -- with varied prices and menus. We really liked the cafe accross from the train station - attached to the Tourist office. It has great breakfast & lunch menu right on the water.

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greenezes
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Amazing Hotel

A truly great experience at the Grand Amrath. It is central to everything. They cater to all your needs. I was upgrading to a junior suite with city views. One of the best hotels I stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, Ma
Jan 17, 2012

On my own in Amsterdam

This hotel was such a treat! Great location, and alot of character. Great staff and very cool ambience. I never used any of the restaurants in the hotel, but as always, they seemed abit pricier than some of the other local options closeby. I would return here without a question, and it is definitely bettter than the average hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to the Jordaan region of Amsterdam, and it is a short walk. Some cool and very nice spots.

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Domso
Business
Scotland, UK
Dec 13, 2011

Guys annual break

Hotel staff were polite and very helpful. My ground floor room was large and beautifully furnished with modern contemporary decor. The complimentary minibar was a pleasant surprise as was excellent coffee maker. The spa pool was a good size and the steam and sauna facilities were very good. Free wi fi was anothe bonus as well as access to computers in the small business centre. Breakfast too expensive to try but this was only fault.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NOLA couple
Business
New Orleans
Dec 4, 2011

Fantastic

Other than the curtains having a mind of their own, the small size of the rooms, and the mediocre spa, our stay at the Amrath was AMAZING. The location could not have been better (a 5 minute walk from the red light district) and the staff and room service were great. The entire set up is very unique with surprises lurking around every corner. The wellness center is a must see. This is certainly a high-class hotel catered to a younger, thriving crowd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MrCMA
Business
Ohio, USA
Nov 13, 2011

Shipping merchants knew how to live, grand...

Soaring high ceiling and remote-powered curtails; large bathroom and tub; warm art deco wood paneling; and comfy bed with piles of pillows. Still the room design simply could not handle the desk and chair, without all of banging ino the bed and cabinet. Concierge's two dinner recommendations: Lucius for seafood; and for contemporary Dutch cuisine, de Silveren Spiegel, were superb both for kind service and sublime dining, espcially for a solo diner. This hotel is an easy, quick walk to Dam Square, or Centraal Station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Really a medium walk from the hotel to a quintessential Dutch neighborhood of Jordaan, already festive with holiday lightings marking the shopping streets. A fine example is "The Property Of...", a leather and canvas goods shop.

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Speechie
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Nov 8, 2011

A short trip to Europe.

The hotel was beautiful and the location was perfect. There is a free mini bar in the room. The pillows are an odd shape so it took a couple nights to get used to it. Also sometimes those automatic windows would go off randomly, maybe it was a Dutch ghost. The staff was great, only one issue though. Upon checking out we were quoted 45 Euro for the cab and we specifically asked for a cab that took credit cards, however we were provided with a cab that only took cash and he charged us 58 Euro. That was a bummer, or else I would have said 5 stars. The hotel is near the central station and the red light district. Walkable distance from many touristic places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beware the red light district is close. Just don't stay there too long or too late.

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GO HOME
Business
barrie
Oct 11, 2011

Amrath Hotel

The hotel was fabulous. It was near the train station and very central. We upgraded our rooms and they were huge. Also, it had a free minibar. Staff was good except concierges did not give the best advice for restaurants. Janet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
keralite
Business
gilbertsville , PA
Oct 11, 2011

Impressive Hotel with some problems

Hotel was great , room is very spacious, bathroom was beautiful . mini bar is included which was great ! few problems, we arrived early ,they kept our luggage but when we came back way past the check in time, room was not ready, because we were upset gave us another room, settled in then someone else was given the same room. which they apologized for but still its a five star hotel please you could have done something better for your guest who you inconvenienced ,how about a free dinner in your restaurant... Two beds put together not very comfortable for couples

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

short walk to red dist, central station and mostly all attractions

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LA Lisa
Business
Venice, CA
Oct 11, 2011

The Good, The Bad, & The Ugly

First, let me preference this by saying that we enjoyed our stay, liked our room and would be inclined to stay here again. That being said, I believe that people like to have very honest assessments, so... THE GOOD: The rooms are quite spacious when compared to most European hotel rooms. And the ceilings are at least 18ft high! Beds are VERY comfortable and have warm, cozy comforters. TV is new and nice. Drapes, which are opened/closed with a nifty remote control, are of the "black out" variety which makes it very easy to sleep in late. Our room had the "City View" which also overlooked a canal and it was very picturesque. Rooms are also very quiet. The bathrooms are newly renovated and quite modern and the big, deep bathtub was definitely a plus. The staff at the hotel was also quite friendly and helpful. Location is also ideal as you can easily access the trains, canal boats or just walk to many locations. There is a restaurant and lounge on the first floor that are also convenient. Oh, and the totally free mini-bar was a huge convenience and savings!! THE BAD: The bathroom, while new and modern and chic, is not entirely functional. The toilet was in its own little room and completely seperate from the sink and bathtub area so you actually had to leave one little room and go into the other to wash your hands. Worse though was the lack of a shower curtain or any type of barrier to keep the water from splashing everywhere when showering. As I mentioned, the bath tub is lovely but you can't stand up and use the shower without flooding the floor. Also bad is the internet service. The Amrath offers free wi-fi but it is a huge pain to use. Every device requires a seperate user name as well as an impossibly long password and one must fill this info out EVERY time one opens a new browser or re-checks her email. Huge waste of time not to mention tedious and frustrating. (trust me, you'll see what I mean). Lastly, in this category, while I mentioned that the staff is friendly and helpful, the check-in procedure takes a terribly long time and there is often a long line. I also want to note here that, this property really isn't what most Americans would consider to be a 5 Star hotel. It is certainly no Penninsula, Four Seasons or even a Ritz-Carlton. I would give it about a 3.5. So, if you have visions of total luxury and grandeur, you will probably be pretty disappointed. THE UGLY: This hotel has very little in the way of a lobby. There is no where to sit while waiting to check in. Actually, the lobby almost scared me off from checking in to this hotel because it is so small and antiquated (not in a pretty or charming way). The hallways are not all that much better. The red carpets that line the hallways could use some pampering, if not total replacement. And, the hallways kind of smell... Bottom line: This is a nice hotel. It's in a good location. It has really comfortable beds in nicely appointed rooms and a helpful staff. It is not, however, 5 Star quality. If you like all the pros and are ok with the cons AND you get a decent room rate, you shouldn't be disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a 24hr pass for the Hop on/Hop off canal boat cruise. You can get on and off at almost every major attraction (Anne Frank Huis, Van Gogh Museum, Rembrandt Museum, etc) and you'll love cruising the canal in between stops.

Back to menu Return to top