$202 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee, USA
May 8, 2011

Grand Amrath *****

This hotel was perfect for our needs. The room was very large with 15 foot ceilings and huge windows to let in lots of light. The bathroom layout was a little small but functional.There was a separate shower and tub which was a plus. The room was clean and well maintained. The mini bar was stocked daily with premium spirits, water, sodas, a few snacks, beer and not so good wine at no charge. There is an espresso maker and a tea kettle in the room which is very handy. It was also nice to have the fridge to store some snacks of our own. I think we saved at least 30-40 euro daily by having our morning coffee and occasional cocktail or beer from the mini bar. The bed was fantastic. I usually complain about the bedding at most hotels but this was a very comfortable bed with great pillows and comforter. There is a nice cafe around the back and over the bridge called Cafe Captein & Co. it has a large Gulpener Beer sign on the front. Very friendly staff and good food average prices. The Central station is maybe 500 meters away. We took the train to and from the airport with no trouble. The hotel will also call a cab to th airport for fixed 40 euro rate if you prefer. Easy walking distance to red light district, Dam Square, Anne Frank House, Jordaan and Niewmarket. A bit of a hike to Museumplien and De Pijp. I would say about 45 min walk. or you can take the tram. The room had free WIFI and a safe which will hold a laptop which made Staying in touch via email and Skype very easy. I can't think of any reason to not stay here again. It was fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Albert Cuyp Market in De Pijp was fun and worth the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sassy Savta
Business
North Carolina
Apr 23, 2011

Great for a splurge

I arrived early and jet-lagged and had asked for early check-in. I was given a choice of rooms at the personalized and civilized check in. The ambience is great. The spa /wellness center is very nice as well. I was able to book a massage before arrival. The concierge recommended a lovely restaurant and breakfast buffet was lovely although it would be expensive if one wasn't hungry. This is a city of walkers and bicycles and distances are measured on foot. The hotel is "five minutes" from the central station" but I have mobility issues and it took me twenty. I don't know if there is a handicapped entrance but the stairs at the front of the hotel are also a challenge. The staff was very helpful in these regards. The weather was quite warm for the season and the hotel is not air-conditioned. I was given a fan which helped somewhat. Free Wi-fi and minibar was great as were the generous shower and tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sira
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
Apr 19, 2011

Free Minibar, but too small of a room

I was in Amsterdam for the first time in April 2011. We have been to Europe for over 20+ trips. The hotel is located in a good location, walking distance from the Central Train Station. It is also stone throw from almost anything the city has to offer. The "FREE" minibar for both non-al and al drinks is incredible - especially when you consider "Dutch" culture to charge everything including a "public" restroom or even ketchup! The hotel also has a small swimming pool at the basement. The building is very old. But it could be considered "classic." The lift was broken when we were there. Luckily, we were only on the second floor. Will we stay over there again? Certainly, however, we would also consider the IBIS hotel near the station and hotels around "Damrak" for a change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mwbk_99
Business
Long Beach Ca
Apr 11, 2011

Loved It

The room was very nice, big, quite with a great bed. The bathroom was nice and big. The staff was great and very helpful. We loved where the hotel was located, very close to the main station and within walking distance to all the main sights. We are looking forward to staying and the Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam again. Thanks for a great time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 20, 2011

Great hotel, great location

Everything was great from the start. The hotel turned out to be only 2 blocks from the central railroad station (although I depended on a couple locals to be able to show me where). I was able to check in at 9am and got a room upgrade for free. Unlike most hotels, coffee, tea, sodas, and liquor in your room are free. The room includes a teapot and coffee maker. The bathroom was excellent, and the bed very comfortable. Although somewhat pricey, I strongly recommend the breakfast buffet at the restaurant on the ground floor. Overall a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Feeney's
Business
Stratford, CT
Feb 25, 2011

Luxury with a value Price [...]

Every request was dealt with within 10 minutes (and in person). Accomodations were gorgeous. Received a free upgrade to a superior room with a city view. Free Minibar stocked with top of the line liquors, wine, soft drinks, and water. Terrific location. Excellent Concierge service. Would go back in a minute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Certainly buy the Canal Bus Ticket to sightsee with hop-on hop-off service. Be advised that time schedules are loose and the canal bus is often up to 1/2 hour early (and leaves up to 1/2 hour early). Also, if you can buy Anne Frank tickets well in advance on line. If you can't do that, go at around 4 p.m. when there is no line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wamos80
Business
Atlanta, Ga.
Feb 8, 2011

Best Hotel in quite a while

What a great experience. The people were extremely nice and helpful. All hotels should learn from the Amrath's free mini bar idea. I would stay there every time, no exceptions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft lauderdale, FL
Feb 5, 2011

Top Spot

We found the hotel was fantastic, great staff and super comfortable beds. Breakfast was a little on pricey side, but with all the other options just a stones throw away it is hardly a concern. Concierge very helpful with directions, tickets and other options. Cool old building!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Central just short walk. Be very careful crossing streets, watch for the trams, cars, and Bicycles!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PenName
Business
Henderson, NV
Dec 27, 2010

Christmas Warmth & Cheer

For me a return to a favorite city; for my girlfriend, a first trip to Amsterdam, but the Hotel Amrath was a beautiful, convenient home base for a Netherlands Christmas. The location? Perfect. It's a five minute walk from Centraal Station where one can arrive / depart by train or catch a tram or metro to any Amsterdam attraction deemed too far to walk (which is pretty much none of the museums, restaurants, shopping or historical destinations for us). The hotel is a converted shipping house that has been maintained and refurbished to a splendor. The staff was invisibly attentive, where you're left wanting for nothing as things appear or are taken care of almost before you realize you want or need them. The rooms are spacious (by European standards), with high ceilings, electronic drape closings, flat screen televisions and the largest bathrooms encountered (for standard rooms) on pretty much any continent. Room service? 24-hour and delicious the two times we tried it -- including some tagliatelle at 03.00 AM one jet-lagged night. Concierge? Pleasant, helpful and very much interested in facilitating the happiness and good travel of guests. Facilities? Full spa, pub-style bar, with food and a well-done restaurant with fine dining and high tea. Free Internet and Mini-Bar? Yes! Hard to believe but true, and the Internet was some of the fastest I've encountered in hotels around the world, even those charging US$10.00 or more day. The free mini-bar includes water, soft drinks, wine (one red, one white serving) and beer. Easily worth $15.00 a day of whatever rate one pays, all by itself. The Amrath may very well be my / our exclusive hotel for Amsterdam, especially when their rates were as discounted as they were for the holidays this year. If you have a chance and want to do something nice for yourself or the someone special in your life, give the Amrath a look. It's 5-star Amsterdam, which means well turned-out, but accessible and unpretentious.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Restaurant Tomaz! [...] is the owner and could not be a better host. The restaurant is small so make a reservation, but the food is fresh, organic and selected and purchased each day by the owner himself. It's about a fifteen minute walk from the hotel, right off the Damrak and main area of town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Saint Petersburg Russia
Dec 2, 2010

Good hotel

We spanned three days in Amsterdam,we went to the Lady GaGa concert, hotel was very good, free wifi and free minibar so as coffemaker was very useful.I like this hotel pretty much. Little bit far from public transport,especially when it cold.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top