$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
211 out of 211
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Concordint1
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
May 26, 2012

Five star hotel with no AC

Hard to believe that a 5 star hotel will not have AC ! The food is mediocre but the personnel is nice. Too expensive. Great location. Excellent bed and shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kmann
Business
Boston MA USA
May 11, 2012

Great Euro Trip

The staff was very polite as well the being nice and clean with restocked amenities everyday. I had a guest with me for a night and extra pillows and a blanket were provided per my request. I stayed at this hotel before and that was the reason I stayed here again. The location is close to Central Station and the GVB will get you anywhere in the city. Big Fan

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JayBofNashuaNH
Business
Nashua, NH, USA
Apr 19, 2012

Great Boutique Hotel, Large room, excellent amenities

Temperature control is simple, but very noiseless, so it is not clear if it working fast enough. The blankets are soft and light, but too warm for comfort. Would have liked a less warm blanket, since temperature does not go too low. Great view of harbor and central station, which is about 5 to 7 minutes walk from the hotel. Overall experience is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Vijaya Restaurant has excellent Indian and Indonesian food. If you use public transportation, but 3-day, 5-day or 7-day unlimited tram and bus rides at the tourist buidling just opposite Centraal Station

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cathy Anne
Business
Long Island, NY
Apr 17, 2012

great location in the heart of things

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel....with a few quirks. Our room was in a terrible location, with unused elevators which ran all day-very noisy, making rest almost impossible. No hand towels, or wash cloths at all- kind of unusual. Hotel was clean. Staff at hotel was excellent - tried to accommodate in every way (except for those elevators!). Great location, close walk to most tourist areas or Central Station. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
erue21
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Enjoyable Stay @ Grand Hotel!!!!

Greeted by very helpful & professional staff... less than 5 min. walk to central station....free mini bar stocked daily!! clean & spacious rooms w/ a city view & window that opens! I will certainly stay here on my next trip to holland!! try it out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1Ian
Business
South Lanarkshire, UK
Apr 3, 2012

Fantastic Hotel

Perfect from beginning to end. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wnresident
Business
West Newbury, MA, USA
Mar 31, 2012

Terrific anniversary in Amsterdam

This hotel was a wonderful choice for us..a short walk to the Central Station and yet removed from very busy traffic, etc. We are walkers and found it easy to navigate into the old section or just stroll along the canals. We received an nice room upgrade on the canal side. The hotel staff is so friendly and welcoming. While there isn't a grand lobby, the hotel has wonderful architectural features from its prior life as a shipping company office building. It is a very unique hotel and absolutely worth 5 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Buy museum tickets online and avoid waits--

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan8383
Business
Houston
Mar 28, 2012

IF YOUR GOING TO AMSTERDAM, STAY HERE!!!

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and my birthday. They had fresh flowers in our room when we arrived plus they upgraded us to a superior delux city view. On my birthday they put a delicous terimsu covered in a white chocolate box. The concierge was very helpful in planning day trips and directions around town. Room serivce was extremely fast for Europe and delicous as well. Compared to the other hotels we saw around the the city, the Grand Amrath trumps any hotel. The hotel still has the classic architecture with all new ammenities. The bathroom was amazing with a huge tub which is great for relaxing your legs after walking all day. Plus it had an additional shower with a waterfall spout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want good italian there is a resturant a few blocks from the hotel that the concierge recommended. They served me pasta that was mixed in a huge paramsian cheese wheel. DELICIOUSO!!!

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CLLou
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Beautiful building, rooms, services

Meticulous hotel with all the amenities...near the train station and easy in and out. Spa was clean and robes and slippers were provided. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spudzz47
Business
Manchester, UK
Mar 27, 2012

Super location

Beautiful hotel building and in a great location close to a great many attractions Amsterdam has to offer.You don't need a car as walkable are the boat trips(which vary in price so be wary- 10 mins) Dam Square and shopping (15 mins),Rembrant Sq.(15 mins) Flower Market (20 mins) and Anne Franks House(30 mins) the Red Light area 10-15mins. Best tip is to book and print entry to the Anne Frank museum online before you go as you will skip a long queue.Centraal station is 10 min walk away as well.Super hotel and FREE mini bar.Too many bars/cafes and restaurants to review so take your pick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Amsterdam discount cards....we didn't bother with any as you really would need to have been very busy to recoup the cost of the card.Not exactly a relaxing weekend then!

Back to menu Return to top