$194 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
View map of Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
190 out of 190
Amenities:
4.5
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cathy Anne
Business
Long Island, NY
Apr 17, 2012

great location in the heart of things

Enjoyed our stay at this hotel....with a few quirks. Our room was in a terrible location, with unused elevators which ran all day-very noisy, making rest almost impossible. No hand towels, or wash cloths at all- kind of unusual. Hotel was clean. Staff at hotel was excellent - tried to accommodate in every way (except for those elevators!). Great location, close walk to most tourist areas or Central Station. Would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
erue21
Business
Kansas City, MO, USA
Apr 3, 2012

Enjoyable Stay @ Grand Hotel!!!!

Greeted by very helpful & professional staff... less than 5 min. walk to central station....free mini bar stocked daily!! clean & spacious rooms w/ a city view & window that opens! I will certainly stay here on my next trip to holland!! try it out!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1Ian
Business
South Lanarkshire, UK
Apr 3, 2012

Fantastic Hotel

Perfect from beginning to end. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
wnresident
Business
West Newbury, MA, USA
Mar 31, 2012

Terrific anniversary in Amsterdam

This hotel was a wonderful choice for us..a short walk to the Central Station and yet removed from very busy traffic, etc. We are walkers and found it easy to navigate into the old section or just stroll along the canals. We received an nice room upgrade on the canal side. The hotel staff is so friendly and welcoming. While there isn't a grand lobby, the hotel has wonderful architectural features from its prior life as a shipping company office building. It is a very unique hotel and absolutely worth 5 stars!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Buy museum tickets online and avoid waits--

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ryan8383
Business
Houston
Mar 28, 2012

IF YOUR GOING TO AMSTERDAM, STAY HERE!!!

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and my birthday. They had fresh flowers in our room when we arrived plus they upgraded us to a superior delux city view. On my birthday they put a delicous terimsu covered in a white chocolate box. The concierge was very helpful in planning day trips and directions around town. Room serivce was extremely fast for Europe and delicous as well. Compared to the other hotels we saw around the the city, the Grand Amrath trumps any hotel. The hotel still has the classic architecture with all new ammenities. The bathroom was amazing with a huge tub which is great for relaxing your legs after walking all day. Plus it had an additional shower with a waterfall spout.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want good italian there is a resturant a few blocks from the hotel that the concierge recommended. They served me pasta that was mixed in a huge paramsian cheese wheel. DELICIOUSO!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CLLou
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Mar 28, 2012

Beautiful building, rooms, services

Meticulous hotel with all the amenities...near the train station and easy in and out. Spa was clean and robes and slippers were provided. Highly recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spudzz47
Business
Manchester, UK
Mar 27, 2012

Super location

Beautiful hotel building and in a great location close to a great many attractions Amsterdam has to offer.You don't need a car as walkable are the boat trips(which vary in price so be wary- 10 mins) Dam Square and shopping (15 mins),Rembrant Sq.(15 mins) Flower Market (20 mins) and Anne Franks House(30 mins) the Red Light area 10-15mins. Best tip is to book and print entry to the Anne Frank museum online before you go as you will skip a long queue.Centraal station is 10 min walk away as well.Super hotel and FREE mini bar.Too many bars/cafes and restaurants to review so take your pick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Amsterdam discount cards....we didn't bother with any as you really would need to have been very busy to recoup the cost of the card.Not exactly a relaxing weekend then!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Peev
Business
Sellersburg, IN 47172, USA
Mar 11, 2012

Let down

hot water didnt exist, rollie pollies would make an appearance atleast once a day. There is a hundred euro deposit for every night stayed and the restaraunt was overpriced. Definitly not a five star hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LizInBoston
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 7, 2012

Great First Time in Europe thanks to the Hotel

I was a little nervous because I had not visitted Europe so I did not know what to expect. As soon as I arrived in Amsterdam with my friend and walked over to the Hotel from Central Station -- I felt wonderful and relieved. The Hotel is an architectural gem - and I could see from across the canals. Upon entering I was greeted by the lovely staff who made me feel very comfortable. They were so nice - and they offered us a very early check-in upon arrival. The room was spotless and the Free mini bar and coffee station in the room really does get stocked up every day ! -- I loved being able to unwind at ease with that. We stayed for 5 nights - and the maid service was excellent with a really great turn-down service. After travelling all around the city and visitting other hotels , eateries, etc. -- it was evident that the Location of this hotel was the best we could have imagined. It was very easy to take the trams & the trains -- while staying in a quiet neighborhood street that the hotel was on. After a long day & night -- it was a good feeling to go back to the relaxing and elegant ambience of the hotel. I would stay here again (and hope to) -- and recommed it to my family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are multiple places to eat -- with varied prices and menus. We really liked the cafe accross from the train station - attached to the Tourist office. It has great breakfast & lunch menu right on the water.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greenezes
Business
New York, NY, USA
Mar 5, 2012

Amazing Hotel

A truly great experience at the Grand Amrath. It is central to everything. They cater to all your needs. I was upgrading to a junior suite with city views. One of the best hotels I stayed in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top