$193 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 3, 2014 Check-out: Nov 4, 2014

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
164 reviews
Free minibar!

Beautiful hotel, fantastic service, very comfortable bed, and free minibar replenished daily! See full review

  • Flatpoint78
  • Oct 5, 2014
FAB Hotel!!

Had a wonderful stay at the Amrath... fabulous building with great history and decor. Our room was... See full review

  • JRobson67
  • Oct 1, 2014
Feel part of Amsterdam’s rich elegance at this Art Nouveau landmark
Dating to 1913 and formerly a shipping office, the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam is a five-star Art Nouveau masterpiece. Overlooking the city's picturesque waterfront, the hotel is a monument to classic design, impeccable luxury and world-class amenities. A host of wellness and recreational facilities, including an indoor pool, fitness center and luxury spa combined with exquisite dining and state-of-the-art in-room comforts make the Grand Hotel Amrâth a destination in itself.
Highlights
  • Architectural landmark full of stunning Art Nouveau detailing
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and mini bar in all guest rooms
  • Luxury spa and full range of recreation and fitness facilities         
Rooms

Guests are greeted with warm, bright colors and cozy furnishings in the Grand Hotel Amrâth's 165 guest rooms, including 21 suites. Each room comes with a king bed or two twin beds. Complimentary Wi-Fi, top-quality Nespresso coffee and tea machines and 32-inch flat-screen HDTV with satellite channels add modern touches to each room's evocative elegance. Bathroom amenities include plush bathrobes and signature Lanvin bath essentials.

 

The Grand Hotel Amrâth's suites range from the spacious junior and two-room suites to the 1,300-square-foot two-story tower suite, boasting a fireplace and spacious bathroom with 360-degree views of Amsterdam.

Features

At Grand Hotel Amsterdam, breakfast is served at the on-site restaurant Seven Seas or at the bar/lounge. Patrons can inform hotel a night prior to opting to savour the morning meal in room. Additionally, the hotel offers a bar and lounge where guests can sip enticing cocktails, mingle and unwind in a stylish, casual setting. The Grand Hotel Amrâth also provides concierge services and complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas.

An indoor swimming pool and fitness center, along with the sauna and Turkish steam bath offer the ideal venues to decompress after sightseeing or business meetings. The hotel's Wellness Center is a world-class spa offering comprehensive treatments using only the purest bath and body products and exclusive Babor cosmetics.

Transportation
  • Schiphol Airport transportation available (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frankhuis (Anne Frank House) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Begijnhof (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 7,100 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • 8 meeting rooms

Hotel Map

52.3748 4.9041
Area served
Amsterdam.
Nearby airports
Schiphol - 12.1 km, Rotterdam Airport - 56.0 km.
Area description
You can find us on the Prins Hendrikkade in the city centre, close to the Central Station and 1100 m from Dam Square. A unique location in the historic heart of Amsterdam bordering on beautiful canals and within walking distance to the best sights. Our concierge will show you the ropes of the city. With valet parking, exclusive for our hotel guests, the concierge will take care of your car. Schiphol Airport is just 19 km away and is easy to reach by train, the Central Station is only 500 meters from the hotel.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room of 24-28 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Superior Room
Superior Room of 32-45 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with city view of 47-53 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. The bathroom features a steam shower. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.2 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.2 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Science Centre NEMO: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.4 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.4 mi
  • Bimhuis: 0.4 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.4 mi
  • Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ: 0.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.5 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • National Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.5 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.5 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.5 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Droog: 0.5 mi
  • New Church: 0.5 mi
  • Stopera: 0.5 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
After a warm welcome you will start an unforgettable culinary voyage. You will enjoy the French international cuisine, which is inspired by the Mediterranean. The cooking art of our Chef and his brigade will tickle your senses. Beautiful marble, wooden floors and stained glass decorations give you the ideal ambiance. You will hear the sound of animated conversations and enjoy the optimal harmony of elegant dishes created from pure products and specially selected wines. After dinner, simply remain seated and enjoy the wide selection of coffee and tea. You are welcome for dinner from 18:00 to 22:30 hours. From 09:00 to 01:00 hours you can have an informal bite in our Bar/lounge. On Friday and Saturday until 02:00 hours.
Breakfast
Breakfast is served in our restaurant Seven Seas or in the Bar/Lounge. At your request you can have breakfast served in your room or suite. Just let us know your wishes the evening before.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jeanie14
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 17, 2011

A Fabulous Hotel Stay

Our 8 day stay at the Grand Amrath Hotel was perfect. The building is old with lots of charm but the rooms are updated where you would want them to be. The location is great, very close to Centraal Train Station, where you catch trains, trams, subway and buses. The hotel has a very good restaurant and a wonderful buffet breakfast. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

We went to see Boom! Chicago, a comedy club show.It was really funny and entertaining. I don't recommend eating there as the food was not great. The cast is American so no language problem.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Euro Rookie
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 12, 2011

Amsterdam as it should be

The Amrath is a quirky, fun hotel with excellent ameneties and accommodating staff. The rooms with city views cannot be beat. The location is perfect for a first time visitor as it is a simple 5 min walk from central station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

BARNEY'S if you want to smoke while you eat and drink!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spring Grove, Il.
May 27, 2011

I'd go back.

Funb

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
May 21, 2011

Great location, beautiful hotel

The hotel was beautiful - the old paternoster elevators are a neat museum-piece and the entire place feels very grand. The rooms have high ceilings and are very comfortable. It's just a bit off the beaten track so the rooms were quiet. But it's close enough to walk to Centraal station, the Damrak, Red-Light District, etc. After staying in two plane-jane hotels in London and Paris (for roughly the same price), I was really excited to arrive at the Grand Hotel Amrath at the end of a recent European trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant in the hotel is overpriced. Just walk out the door and hit a streetside cafe instead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tennessee, USA
May 8, 2011

Grand Amrath *****

This hotel was perfect for our needs. The room was very large with 15 foot ceilings and huge windows to let in lots of light. The bathroom layout was a little small but functional.There was a separate shower and tub which was a plus. The room was clean and well maintained. The mini bar was stocked daily with premium spirits, water, sodas, a few snacks, beer and not so good wine at no charge. There is an espresso maker and a tea kettle in the room which is very handy. It was also nice to have the fridge to store some snacks of our own. I think we saved at least 30-40 euro daily by having our morning coffee and occasional cocktail or beer from the mini bar. The bed was fantastic. I usually complain about the bedding at most hotels but this was a very comfortable bed with great pillows and comforter. There is a nice cafe around the back and over the bridge called Cafe Captein & Co. it has a large Gulpener Beer sign on the front. Very friendly staff and good food average prices. The Central station is maybe 500 meters away. We took the train to and from the airport with no trouble. The hotel will also call a cab to th airport for fixed 40 euro rate if you prefer. Easy walking distance to red light district, Dam Square, Anne Frank House, Jordaan and Niewmarket. A bit of a hike to Museumplien and De Pijp. I would say about 45 min walk. or you can take the tram. The room had free WIFI and a safe which will hold a laptop which made Staying in touch via email and Skype very easy. I can't think of any reason to not stay here again. It was fantastic and I would recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Albert Cuyp Market in De Pijp was fun and worth the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sassy Savta
Business
North Carolina
Apr 23, 2011

Great for a splurge

I arrived early and jet-lagged and had asked for early check-in. I was given a choice of rooms at the personalized and civilized check in. The ambience is great. The spa /wellness center is very nice as well. I was able to book a massage before arrival. The concierge recommended a lovely restaurant and breakfast buffet was lovely although it would be expensive if one wasn't hungry. This is a city of walkers and bicycles and distances are measured on foot. The hotel is "five minutes" from the central station" but I have mobility issues and it took me twenty. I don't know if there is a handicapped entrance but the stairs at the front of the hotel are also a challenge. The staff was very helpful in these regards. The weather was quite warm for the season and the hotel is not air-conditioned. I was given a fan which helped somewhat. Free Wi-fi and minibar was great as were the generous shower and tub.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sira
Business
Bangkok, Thailand
Apr 19, 2011

Free Minibar, but too small of a room

I was in Amsterdam for the first time in April 2011. We have been to Europe for over 20+ trips. The hotel is located in a good location, walking distance from the Central Train Station. It is also stone throw from almost anything the city has to offer. The "FREE" minibar for both non-al and al drinks is incredible - especially when you consider "Dutch" culture to charge everything including a "public" restroom or even ketchup! The hotel also has a small swimming pool at the basement. The building is very old. But it could be considered "classic." The lift was broken when we were there. Luckily, we were only on the second floor. Will we stay over there again? Certainly, however, we would also consider the IBIS hotel near the station and hotels around "Damrak" for a change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mwbk_99
Business
Long Beach Ca
Apr 11, 2011

Loved It

The room was very nice, big, quite with a great bed. The bathroom was nice and big. The staff was great and very helpful. We loved where the hotel was located, very close to the main station and within walking distance to all the main sights. We are looking forward to staying and the Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam again. Thanks for a great time!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
Mar 20, 2011

Great hotel, great location

Everything was great from the start. The hotel turned out to be only 2 blocks from the central railroad station (although I depended on a couple locals to be able to show me where). I was able to check in at 9am and got a room upgrade for free. Unlike most hotels, coffee, tea, sodas, and liquor in your room are free. The room includes a teapot and coffee maker. The bathroom was excellent, and the bed very comfortable. Although somewhat pricey, I strongly recommend the breakfast buffet at the restaurant on the ground floor. Overall a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Feeney's
Business
Stratford, CT
Feb 25, 2011

Luxury with a value Price [...]

Every request was dealt with within 10 minutes (and in person). Accomodations were gorgeous. Received a free upgrade to a superior room with a city view. Free Minibar stocked with top of the line liquors, wine, soft drinks, and water. Terrific location. Excellent Concierge service. Would go back in a minute!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Certainly buy the Canal Bus Ticket to sightsee with hop-on hop-off service. Be advised that time schedules are loose and the canal bus is often up to 1/2 hour early (and leaves up to 1/2 hour early). Also, if you can buy Anne Frank tickets well in advance on line. If you can't do that, go at around 4 p.m. when there is no line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top