$168 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 20, 2015 Check-out: Jan 23, 2015

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

5 stars
Prins Hendrikkade 108, Amsterdam, 1011 AK
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
176 reviews
Great hotel near Red light

The hotel, a landmark, that housed the headquarters of multiple shipping companies to sell tickets... See full review

  • Karen Mercado
  • Dec 23, 2014
Great hotel near Red light

The hotel, a landmark, that housed the headquarters of multiple shipping companies to sell tickets... See full review

  • Karen Mercado
  • Dec 22, 2014
Feel part of Amsterdam’s rich elegance at this Art Nouveau landmark
Dating to 1913 and formerly a shipping office, the Grand Hotel Amrâth Amsterdam is a five-star Art Nouveau masterpiece. Overlooking the city's picturesque waterfront, the hotel is a monument to classic design, impeccable luxury and world-class amenities. A host of wellness and recreational facilities, including an indoor pool, fitness center and luxury spa combined with exquisite dining and state-of-the-art in-room comforts make the Grand Hotel Amrâth a destination in itself.
Highlights
  • Architectural landmark full of stunning Art Nouveau detailing
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and mini bar in all guest rooms
  • Luxury spa and full range of recreation and fitness facilities         
Rooms

Guests are greeted with warm, bright colors and cozy furnishings in the Grand Hotel Amrâth's 165 guest rooms, including 21 suites. Each room comes with a king bed or two twin beds. Complimentary Wi-Fi, top-quality Nespresso coffee and tea machines and 32-inch flat-screen HDTV with satellite channels add modern touches to each room's evocative elegance. Bathroom amenities include plush bathrobes and signature Lanvin bath essentials.

 

The Grand Hotel Amrâth's suites range from the spacious junior and two-room suites to the 1,300-square-foot two-story tower suite, boasting a fireplace and spacious bathroom with 360-degree views of Amsterdam.

Features

At Grand Hotel Amsterdam, breakfast is served at the on-site restaurant Seven Seas or at the bar/lounge. Patrons can inform hotel a night prior to opting to savour the morning meal in room. Additionally, the hotel offers a bar and lounge where guests can sip enticing cocktails, mingle and unwind in a stylish, casual setting. The Grand Hotel Amrâth also provides concierge services and complimentary Wi-Fi in all public areas.

An indoor swimming pool and fitness center, along with the sauna and Turkish steam bath offer the ideal venues to decompress after sightseeing or business meetings. The hotel's Wellness Center is a world-class spa offering comprehensive treatments using only the purest bath and body products and exclusive Babor cosmetics.

Transportation
  • Schiphol Airport transportation available (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14 mi/22.5 km)

 

Attractions
  • Museum Amstelkring (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Oude Kerk (.5 mi/.8 km)
  • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Anne Frankhuis (Anne Frank House) (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Begijnhof (1.5 mi/2 km)
  • Rijksmuseum (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (3 mi/5 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • 7,100 square feet of flexible meeting and event space
  • 8 meeting rooms

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam Rooms

Deluxe Room
Deluxe Room of 24-28 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Superior Room
Superior Room of 32-45 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.
Junior Suite
Junior Suite with city view of 47-53 m in size, designed in an Art Nouveau style with warm colours, luxury and lots of comfort to assure that you have a truly memorable stay. The bathroom features a steam shower. Wireless internet access and the mini bar are complimentary! Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Hairdryer, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Heating, Internet access, Laundry service, Pay-per-view movies, Safe in room, Mini bar, Room service, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone, Valet service.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.2 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0.1 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.2 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Central Station: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Science Centre NEMO: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.4 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.4 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.4 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.4 mi
  • Bimhuis: 0.4 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.4 mi
  • Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ: 0.4 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.5 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • National Monument: 0.5 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.5 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.5 mi
  • Portuguese-Israelite Synagogue: 0.5 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.5 mi
  • The National Maritime Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Droog: 0.5 mi
  • New Church: 0.5 mi
  • Stopera: 0.5 mi
  • Trade Unions Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.5 mi

Dining

Restaurant
After a warm welcome you will start an unforgettable culinary voyage. You will enjoy the French international cuisine, which is inspired by the Mediterranean. The cooking art of our Chef and his brigade will tickle your senses. Beautiful marble, wooden floors and stained glass decorations give you the ideal ambiance. You will hear the sound of animated conversations and enjoy the optimal harmony of elegant dishes created from pure products and specially selected wines. After dinner, simply remain seated and enjoy the wide selection of coffee and tea. You are welcome for dinner from 18:00 to 22:30 hours. From 09:00 to 01:00 hours you can have an informal bite in our Bar/lounge. On Friday and Saturday until 02:00 hours.
Breakfast
Breakfast is served in our restaurant Seven Seas or in the Bar/Lounge. At your request you can have breakfast served in your room or suite. Just let us know your wishes the evening before.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
keren
rochford essex
Mar 2, 2013

great place

It was everything and more, the staff couldn't of been more helpful and the room was more than expected. The spa was totally relaxing too. We can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen Mercado
Business
Kew Gardens
Dec 23, 2014

Great hotel near Red light

The hotel, a landmark, that housed the headquarters of multiple shipping companies to sell tickets for voyages by sea to the Dutch East Indies, Africa and other destinations in the early 1900's is an enchanting hotel. It breathes old world charm mixed with modernity of today’s times. Room are very spacious providing a seating area. Beds are big and comfy. Bathrooms are also spacious proving a standup shower and tub. Our room had a double sink. The hotel has a lovely spa and a limited gym, providing a 1 elliptical and a stationary bike. The hotel location is perfect. 2 short blocks walking distance from the red light district and a walking distance from the Central train station. It was just the right amount of distance from shops and nightlife and tranquility. The hotel is a must see even to explore as most if not all of the interior has been kept to its original state. The staff couldn't have been more inviting and accommodating. We had a very pleasant stay as I’m sure you will have if you go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just 2 short blocks, over a canal from the redlight district but far enough to not see it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen Mercado
Business
Kew Gardens
Dec 22, 2014

Great hotel near Red light

The hotel, a landmark, that housed the headquarters of multiple shipping companies to sell tickets for voyages by sea to the Dutch East Indies, Africa and other destinations in the early 1900's is an enchanting hotel. It breathes old world charm mixed with modernity of today’s times. Room are very spacious providing a seating area. Beds are big and comfy. Bathrooms are also spacious proving a standup shower and tub. Our room had a double sink. The hotel has a lovely spa and a limited gym, providing a 1 elliptical and a stationary bike. The hotel location is perfect. 2 short blocks walking distance from the red light district and a walking distance from the Central train station. It was just the right amount of distance from shops and nightlife and tranquility. The hotel is a must see even to explore as most if not all of the interior has been kept to its original state. The staff couldn't have been more inviting and accommodating. We had a very pleasant stay as I’m sure you will have if you go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Just 2 short blocks, over a canal from the redlight district but far enough to not see it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Courtjester
Business
N/A
Dec 16, 2014

great visit to Amsterdam at the wonderful Amrath.

We recently stayed at the Amrath and thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Great location. Unpretentious, yet elegant. Concierge is the best. Would come back in a second. Huge rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janeinhull
Business
Yorkshire
Dec 8, 2014

Great location

Everything you would expect from a 5* hotel rooms very comfortable and clean free mini bar was great. But very curious as to why I was charged a fee on my debit card when I got home after not ordering room service etc and paying the local tax in cash on departure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of choice from breakfasts locally a lot cheaper than at the hotel restaurant and better value for money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AC B
Business
Manhattan, New York
Dec 4, 2014

5**** hotel

We went to Amsterdam over the Thanksgiving break. I am glad we choose Grand Hôtel Amrâth, because it was centrally located and it was luxury and style all the way. We had also booked a private taxi transfer to and from the airport through the hotel concierge. It was flawless and smooth, the drivers were courteous and we arrived at our destination(s) in style. The hotel is BEAUTIFUL and charming. The building use to be offices to six shipping companies, which was a perfect location for selling tickets for voyages to customers. Now, it is a Grand Hotel and rightly so. The check-in process is very civilized, you don't stand and check-in, but, you enter a classic old room and take a seat and check-in. We arrived earlier than the check-in time; the check-in process was smooth. We were told to come back around 2 pm and the room should be ready. We did and as promised, the room was ready. We grabbed our bags and headed to our room - all the while admiring the hotel, the decor and art nouveau style and not to mention the welcoming smiles on all hotel personnel. We checked into our room and were pleasantly surprised; high ceilings, a separate shower room and a separate bath, gorgeous canal views. The bed was very comfortable and big. The pillows were comforting and big. The duvet was plush and warm. There is a Nespresso coffee machine with coffee pods. The pods are replenished every day. The coffee machine is a great asset for people like us, who drink a lot of coffee. There is also a free minibar, which is also replenished every day. The mini-bar comes in handy for having a cocktail before dinner. The room was immaculate, clean and beautiful. The free WiFi in our room was great - good reception. We could not figure out the heat in our room, so, we contacted front desk. Literally, less than 2 minutes there was an engineer knocking at our door. He told us that the heating is through radiators and not central. He checked to make sure that we had sufficient heat and everything was working properly before he left the room. Another instance, there was an overlap in room service - we called downstairs to get our room cleaned and again, in less than 2 minutes there were a group of cleaning ladies - all smiling entered our room as we walked out. Needless to say, the service was Exceptional. I have to single out one person, Peter, the Concierge; he made our trip very special and memorable. He gave us fantastic options for dinner, breakfast and lunch places around Amsterdam. All of the places he recommended were fabulous. Anytime we asked him for his assistance, he was more than happy to help and guide us and always with a smile. We had a great meal every day!!!! Our trip was Fantastic, our hotel was Grand, and the people we encountered were charming and friendly. I wish we had stayed longer, but, all good times must come to an end (if only for a bit). When we go back to Amsterdam, there is NO OTHER hotel in Amsterdam that I would choose to stay. Grand Hôtel Amrâth is our place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Holidaygary
Business
UK
Dec 4, 2014

Amrath stay.

Well appointed hotel close to the centre of Amsterdam. Friendly staff, quality rooms, no complaints at all. I will be staying there the next time i visit Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dhtalves
Business
Brazil
Dec 1, 2014

Perfect stay in Amsterdam

I spent 3 nights in Amsterdam and chose this hotel. It is very confort. My room was hugh. The staff Washington nice and kind. Great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Visit the zoo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Courtjester
Business
north Carolina
Nov 30, 2014

fantastic stay at the Amrath

Huge bedrooms. Great location which is a three minute walk to new market. The best concierge. Great facilities. The maid staff was the only complaint I have. No hand towels were provided; only bath towels and the effort just wasn't there. But I would return in a second as we loved the classy yet unpretentious nature of this hotel. Very laid back vibe. Loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Mikes bike tours is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mamuka
Business
Georgia
Nov 22, 2014

mamuka margishvili

nice hotel, free minibar, have little problem for car parking

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grand Hotel Amrath Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Morey
Business
Ireland
Nov 18, 2014

Disappointing

We had stayed in this hotel before, hence decided t stay again and had been looking forward to the same high standards that we had previously experienced. Unfortunately, this was not the case. Our room was a small and dingy room looking out onto the courtyard, with only a small window to allow in some natural light. The design of the room was confusing, and made no ergonomic sense. We asked to change room and the staff were more than happy to accommodate our request. The second room was brighter and had a canal view. However, the bed sheets were ripped, and the usual pens and hotel menus were missing. The gymnasium was ill equipped and did not have many suitable items to use. The equipment that they did have was old and out-dated. The leisure and spa area itself however, was well lit and modern, and tastefully decorated. Before leaving the hotel I met another couple who also shared our views and felt that the hotel was not of 5* standard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top