$66 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 2, 2015

Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

4 stars
Molenwerf 1, Amsterdam, 1014 AG
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
39 reviews
Great Hotel at the Right Price

My friends and I spent one night of our month-long trip here. It was one of the nicest places we... See full review

  • Blip Morton
  • Jan 6, 2015
Perfect

Two minutes away from the tram and 15m away from the city. Lovely staff offering tips map and... See full review

  • Nazz
  • Jan 5, 2015
Modern 4 star hotel about 6 minutes away from the city center. Haarlem and Schiphol airport are only 15 minutes away. All rooms are soundproofed and equipped with airconditioning and free wifi. On site parking is available in own parking garage. Amsterdam city centre can be conveniently reached by public transport or car. The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West is located just next to highway A10 5 minutes away from railway station Sloterdijk and 6 minutes away from the city center. Schiphol Airport is only a 15 minute drive as well as Haarlem. Golden Tulip Amsterdam West is 100% non smoking.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Golden Tulip Amsterdam West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Rooms

SINGLE - ROOM
Single Room offers one twin bed with basic amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Bos en Lommer: 0.4 mi
  • Sloterdijk and Harbour: 0.5 mi
  • Westergasfabriek: 1 mi
  • Museum of the Amsterdam School: 1.2 mi
  • Amsterdam School of Architecture: 1.2 mi
  • Westerpark: 1.3 mi
  • Geuzenveld-Slotermeer: 1.3 mi
  • Lijnbaansgracht: 1.5 mi
  • Singelgracht: 1.5 mi
  • De Baarsjes: 1.5 mi
  • Oud-West: 1.5 mi
  • Wonen 2000: 1.5 mi
  • De Kasstoor: 1.5 mi
  • Moooi: 1.6 mi
  • SPRMRKT: 1.6 mi
  • Bos en Lommer: 0.4 mi
  • Sloterdijk and Harbour: 0.5 mi
  • Westergasfabriek: 1 mi
  • Museum of the Amsterdam School: 1.2 mi
  • Amsterdam School of Architecture: 1.2 mi
  • Westerpark: 1.3 mi
  • Geuzenveld-Slotermeer: 1.3 mi
  • Lijnbaansgracht: 1.5 mi
  • Singelgracht: 1.5 mi
  • De Baarsjes: 1.5 mi
  • Oud-West: 1.5 mi
  • Wonen 2000: 1.5 mi
  • De Kasstoor: 1.5 mi
  • Moooi: 1.6 mi
  • SPRMRKT: 1.6 mi
  • Fluorescent Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The World Peace Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Jordaan: 1.6 mi
  • Public Library: 1.6 mi
  • Galleria d'arte Rinascimento: 1.7 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 1.7 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 1.7 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 1.7 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 1.8 mi
  • Homomonument: 1.8 mi
  • Villa Arena: 1.8 mi
  • The Whale: 1.8 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 1.8 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Prinsengracht: 1.8 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 1.8 mi
  • Houseboat Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Netherlands Media Arts Institute: 1.9 mi
  • BeBoB Design: 1.9 mi
  • Felix Meritis Building: 1.9 mi
  • OT301: 1.9 mi
  • Herengracht: 1.9 mi
  • Single: 2 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 2 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 2 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 2 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 2 mi
  • Orgelpark: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (39)

Ratings and reviews for Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
39 out of 39
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
4.5

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blip Morton
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Great Hotel at the Right Price

My friends and I spent one night of our month-long trip here. It was one of the nicest places we stayed in and cost the least of them all. The location is just a mile or two from downtown Amsterdam and short walk from the train that took us downtown. The man at the desk helped my friends find a laundramat to wash their clothes. The only thing that would have improved our stay would have been to include breakfast. The entire day is improved greatly when foreigners like myself don't have to think about where to get breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure you write down the name of the train depot near the hotel. Although the people in Amsterdam speak English, all the names of places are in their language. I almost failed to return to my hotel from downtown because they switched the trains around at grand central and I didn't know how to pronounce where I was going.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nazz
Business
Kuwait
Jan 5, 2015

Perfect

Two minutes away from the tram and 15m away from the city. Lovely staff offering tips map and direction The room is big and in perfect condition ... Clean abd comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anjoli F.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Couple's vacation!

The hotel was a quick walk from our commuter train which we took from Rotterdam so that was very convenient! The hotel is half a block away from the tram which we realized quickly were at the end of. This wasn't too much of a hassle as it didn't take long to get into the main parts of the city. The staff in general were a bit dismissive but I couldn't tell if this was due to a language barrier? The first hotel clerk we spoke to seemed very annoyed that we arrived so early. He even said that other guests who KNOW they are arriving so early will book an extra day. To that we replied that there was no way of knowing how long it would take to travel from our ferry port to a train, train to Rotterdam, Rotterdam to Amsterdam...He didn't seem to care about this response, and this attitude made our entry to Amsterdam a little less than welcoming. All in all, the hotel was great! Just make sure you arrive EXACTLY at the time of your reservation and leave the moment it expires or you'll "hear it" from the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Learn the train system as much as possible! It can be a bit confusing as to which side of the street or which block even, to stand on for your train/bus etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Good hotel and price..fair location

We needed a room for 3, which is hard to find in Amsterdam. Our room was very spacious and modern, especially the bathroom with heated floor and nice shower. The biggest down side is that it is a bit of a hike to the city center, maybe 15-20 minutes on the tram. There is also almost nothing within walking distance of the hotel (all apartments and places of employment). The two things they did have within walking distance were quite helpful, however: A good Chinese restaurant and a grocery store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacob M.
Business
Columbus
Dec 21, 2014

University Student

I booked this hotel with three other friends and had a great stay. The hotel itself is wonderful, but quite far from Amsterdam's main attractions. It is not exactly in the ideal location for University students on holiday in Holland, so this could mean this hotel is quite perfect for you if you are a business traveler, traveling with children, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're on a budget, try sharing a taxi with others into the city centre. One way could cost €20 or more. Splitting it between three people or so isn't too bad, and the front desk could perhaps help one arrange this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dudley
Business
Bournemouth
Dec 2, 2014

great place to stay just out of town

stayed before and every time great service and clean only possible down side breakfast not included and have to pay but apart from that every thing great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

get bus from airport as a same ticket for tram so no need to get train

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
elaperro
Business
Italy
Nov 14, 2014

Awesome Hotel

I stayed here for 3 nights and the hotel was awesome. I checked in and they upgraged me to a nice room, really nice beds, and set up. The food at the DREAM restaurant, in the Hotel, was really good too. I don't eat breakfast to I did not try it. I drink the coffe in the room which was free. My mini bar did not work at first but they fixed it within seconds of me calling. Also, the rooms are clean and no smoking allowed so room have a really clean smell. The only con was the location, which is at about 15 minute tram (metro/train) to the city center but it was very easy to use and the stop is within 1 minute from the hotel. Staff went out of their way to help me everytime I had a question a concern.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get a Tram/bus/metro pass at the hotel and ride in amsterdam on any bus or tram or the metro for 16 euros for 72 hours, it saved me lots on taxi fares.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
princesshazy
Business
Cheshire,UK
Oct 24, 2014

nice modern hotel

Nice Hotel in quite location about 15 mins from centre on tram.Room smart and modern.Staff very friendly and helpful.Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a 24,48 or 72 hour public transport card.Will save alot if doing several trips a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EMB traveller
Business
Montclair, New Jersey
Oct 14, 2014

Comfortable base for sightseeing

The hotel was very comfortable and clean. The room we had was spacious and the beds were comfortable. I also thought the breakfast was very good. Only down side is that it takes about 20 to 30 minutes to get to the center of Amsterdam but the tram is very convenient. We were mostly sightseeing so we left in the morning and came back at night. We were able to get the train to the airport when we left which was very convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the train from the station about a ten minute walk to the airport. A cab ride is about 60 Euros and the train was about 5 Euros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy Tourist.
Business
Georgia, US.
Oct 7, 2014

Excellent Hotel

Everything about the hotel was very modern, clean and had super dining , and only a short tram ride to the city.The staff were all so helpful. My wife and I will definitely look forward to staying there again. Being our first trip to Amsterdam, staying at the Golden Tulip really helped make our vacation a very pleasant and memorable one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food in the hotel is excellent. Both breakfast and dinner are an excellent value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top