$55 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

4 stars
View map of Molenwerf 1, Amsterdam, 1014 AG

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
44 reviews
February short break

Hotel well placed for tram service into the city. Also Sloterdijk station (10 mins from Schiphol)... See full review

  • Peter S.
  • Feb 22, 2015
beautiful

The hotel is a little out the way but the tram is just outside and within a few minutes your in the... See full review

  • heather s. romantic trip
  • Feb 9, 2015
Modern 4 star hotel about 6 minutes away from the city center. Haarlem and Schiphol airport are only 15 minutes away. All rooms are soundproofed and equipped with airconditioning and free wifi. On site parking is available in own parking garage. Amsterdam city centre can be conveniently reached by public transport or car. The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West is located just next to highway A10 5 minutes away from railway station Sloterdijk and 6 minutes away from the city center. Schiphol Airport is only a 15 minute drive as well as Haarlem. Golden Tulip Amsterdam West is 100% non smoking.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Golden Tulip Amsterdam West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Rooms

SINGLE - ROOM
Single Room offers one twin bed with basic amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Bos en Lommer: 0.4 mi
  • Sloterdijk and Harbour: 0.5 mi
  • Westergasfabriek: 1 mi
  • Museum of the Amsterdam School: 1.2 mi
  • Amsterdam School of Architecture: 1.2 mi
  • Westerpark: 1.3 mi
  • Geuzenveld-Slotermeer: 1.3 mi
  • Lijnbaansgracht: 1.5 mi
  • Singelgracht: 1.5 mi
  • De Baarsjes: 1.5 mi
  • Oud-West: 1.5 mi
  • Wonen 2000: 1.5 mi
  • De Kasstoor: 1.5 mi
  • Moooi: 1.6 mi
  • SPRMRKT: 1.6 mi
  • Bos en Lommer: 0.4 mi
  • Sloterdijk and Harbour: 0.5 mi
  • Westergasfabriek: 1 mi
  • Museum of the Amsterdam School: 1.2 mi
  • Amsterdam School of Architecture: 1.2 mi
  • Westerpark: 1.3 mi
  • Geuzenveld-Slotermeer: 1.3 mi
  • Lijnbaansgracht: 1.5 mi
  • Singelgracht: 1.5 mi
  • De Baarsjes: 1.5 mi
  • Oud-West: 1.5 mi
  • Wonen 2000: 1.5 mi
  • De Kasstoor: 1.5 mi
  • Moooi: 1.6 mi
  • SPRMRKT: 1.6 mi
  • Fluorescent Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The World Peace Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Jordaan: 1.6 mi
  • Public Library: 1.6 mi
  • Galleria d'arte Rinascimento: 1.7 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 1.7 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 1.7 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 1.7 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 1.8 mi
  • Homomonument: 1.8 mi
  • Villa Arena: 1.8 mi
  • The Whale: 1.8 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 1.8 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Prinsengracht: 1.8 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 1.8 mi
  • Houseboat Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Netherlands Media Arts Institute: 1.9 mi
  • BeBoB Design: 1.9 mi
  • Felix Meritis Building: 1.9 mi
  • OT301: 1.9 mi
  • Herengracht: 1.9 mi
  • Single: 2 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 2 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 2 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 2 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 2 mi
  • Orgelpark: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.8
Location:
3.6
Value:
4.5

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Peter S.
Business
N/A
Feb 22, 2015

February short break

Hotel well placed for tram service into the city. Also Sloterdijk station (10 mins from Schiphol) close by. Lots of choice for the very good breakfast and dinner buffets. Room very comfortable with a modern en-suite. A tv channel guide would have been helpful. Staff very friendly and helpful. Recommend a trip to Zaanse Schans - a very enjoyable few hours at this delightful place, which can be reached in less than an hour. We would definitely stay at the Golden Tulip again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heather s. romantic trip
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

beautiful

The hotel is a little out the way but the tram is just outside and within a few minutes your in the centre but it's two trams and the day ticket at 7.50 euros is good value At meal time, if the plates was a little warm it would be perfect and the food a little warmer but there is a great choice at 29.99 euros all you can eat for 2 hours each.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Get a two day ticket and life is made easy but a taxi to the centre is 14.00 euros

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
heather s. romantic trip
Business
N/A
Feb 9, 2015

awesome hotel

We stayed at the golden tulip for 4 nights. It is a beautiful hotel. All the staff are so friendly and helpful. The room was very comfortable and I liked all the little added touches, Like the shampoos and toothbrush and paste If you had forgotten anything it was there for you In the bathroom,even slippers. All in all a lovely experience The food was lovely If only we had warm plates it would have been perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

This hotel is close to the tram which goes to The city centre.a 2 tram journey.but so close together.no waiting. A tram ticket cost 7.50€ for an all day ticket.which is good value .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stevie r.
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Great trip

Hotel is lovely staff helpful and friendly , rooms clean and very modern , location is ok just 2 quick trams to the Dam

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rob Williams
Business
N/A
Feb 3, 2015

Business trip

I stayed here to attend a trade show, the hotel is great, only issue was its a little far out from Amsterdam center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blip Morton
Business
N/A
Jan 6, 2015

Great Hotel at the Right Price

My friends and I spent one night of our month-long trip here. It was one of the nicest places we stayed in and cost the least of them all. The location is just a mile or two from downtown Amsterdam and short walk from the train that took us downtown. The man at the desk helped my friends find a laundramat to wash their clothes. The only thing that would have improved our stay would have been to include breakfast. The entire day is improved greatly when foreigners like myself don't have to think about where to get breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure you write down the name of the train depot near the hotel. Although the people in Amsterdam speak English, all the names of places are in their language. I almost failed to return to my hotel from downtown because they switched the trains around at grand central and I didn't know how to pronounce where I was going.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nazz
Business
Kuwait
Jan 5, 2015

Perfect

Two minutes away from the tram and 15m away from the city. Lovely staff offering tips map and direction The room is big and in perfect condition ... Clean abd comfortable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anjoli F.
Business
N/A
Jan 5, 2015

Couple's vacation!

The hotel was a quick walk from our commuter train which we took from Rotterdam so that was very convenient! The hotel is half a block away from the tram which we realized quickly were at the end of. This wasn't too much of a hassle as it didn't take long to get into the main parts of the city. The staff in general were a bit dismissive but I couldn't tell if this was due to a language barrier? The first hotel clerk we spoke to seemed very annoyed that we arrived so early. He even said that other guests who KNOW they are arriving so early will book an extra day. To that we replied that there was no way of knowing how long it would take to travel from our ferry port to a train, train to Rotterdam, Rotterdam to Amsterdam...He didn't seem to care about this response, and this attitude made our entry to Amsterdam a little less than welcoming. All in all, the hotel was great! Just make sure you arrive EXACTLY at the time of your reservation and leave the moment it expires or you'll "hear it" from the staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Learn the train system as much as possible! It can be a bit confusing as to which side of the street or which block even, to stand on for your train/bus etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick
Business
N/A
Dec 30, 2014

Good hotel and price..fair location

We needed a room for 3, which is hard to find in Amsterdam. Our room was very spacious and modern, especially the bathroom with heated floor and nice shower. The biggest down side is that it is a bit of a hike to the city center, maybe 15-20 minutes on the tram. There is also almost nothing within walking distance of the hotel (all apartments and places of employment). The two things they did have within walking distance were quite helpful, however: A good Chinese restaurant and a grocery store.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacob M.
Business
Columbus
Dec 21, 2014

University Student

I booked this hotel with three other friends and had a great stay. The hotel itself is wonderful, but quite far from Amsterdam's main attractions. It is not exactly in the ideal location for University students on holiday in Holland, so this could mean this hotel is quite perfect for you if you are a business traveler, traveling with children, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're on a budget, try sharing a taxi with others into the city centre. One way could cost €20 or more. Splitting it between three people or so isn't too bad, and the front desk could perhaps help one arrange this.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top