$70 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

4 stars
View map of Molenwerf 1, Amsterdam, 1014 AG

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
62 reviews
Amsterdam, June '15

Great hotel for a great price! Spacious rooms with nice furniture, and just a short tram ride from... See full review

  • Kevin M.
  • Jun 18, 2015
Brilliant mini break

Had a lovely 3 nights in this hotel would go back in a shot. Rooms very nice and staff very pleasant See full review

  • martin c.
  • Jun 13, 2015
Modern 4 star hotel about 6 minutes away from the city center. Haarlem and Schiphol airport are only 15 minutes away. All rooms are soundproofed and equipped with airconditioning and free wifi. On site parking is available in own parking garage. Amsterdam city centre can be conveniently reached by public transport or car. The Golden Tulip Amsterdam West is located just next to highway A10 5 minutes away from railway station Sloterdijk and 6 minutes away from the city center. Schiphol Airport is only a 15 minute drive as well as Haarlem. Golden Tulip Amsterdam West is 100% non smoking.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Golden Tulip Amsterdam West also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Golden Tulip Amsterdam West Rooms

SINGLE - ROOM
Single Room offers one twin bed with basic amenities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Bos en Lommer: 0.4 mi
  • Sloterdijk and Harbour: 0.5 mi
  • Westergasfabriek: 1 mi
  • Museum of the Amsterdam School: 1.2 mi
  • Amsterdam School of Architecture: 1.2 mi
  • Westerpark: 1.3 mi
  • Geuzenveld-Slotermeer: 1.3 mi
  • Lijnbaansgracht: 1.5 mi
  • Singelgracht: 1.5 mi
  • De Baarsjes: 1.5 mi
  • Oud-West: 1.5 mi
  • Wonen 2000: 1.5 mi
  • De Kasstoor: 1.5 mi
  • Moooi: 1.6 mi
  • SPRMRKT: 1.6 mi
  • Bos en Lommer: 0.4 mi
  • Sloterdijk and Harbour: 0.5 mi
  • Westergasfabriek: 1 mi
  • Museum of the Amsterdam School: 1.2 mi
  • Amsterdam School of Architecture: 1.2 mi
  • Westerpark: 1.3 mi
  • Geuzenveld-Slotermeer: 1.3 mi
  • Lijnbaansgracht: 1.5 mi
  • Singelgracht: 1.5 mi
  • De Baarsjes: 1.5 mi
  • Oud-West: 1.5 mi
  • Wonen 2000: 1.5 mi
  • De Kasstoor: 1.5 mi
  • Moooi: 1.6 mi
  • SPRMRKT: 1.6 mi
  • Fluorescent Art Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The World Peace Museum: 1.6 mi
  • The Jordaan: 1.6 mi
  • Public Library: 1.6 mi
  • Galleria d'arte Rinascimento: 1.7 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Noordermarkt: 1.7 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 1.7 mi
  • Noorderkerk: 1.7 mi
  • Kunst Antiekcentrum De Looier : 1.8 mi
  • Homomonument: 1.8 mi
  • Villa Arena: 1.8 mi
  • The Whale: 1.8 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 1.8 mi
  • Jordaan Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Prinsengracht: 1.8 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 1.8 mi
  • Houseboat Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Netherlands Media Arts Institute: 1.9 mi
  • BeBoB Design: 1.9 mi
  • Felix Meritis Building: 1.9 mi
  • OT301: 1.9 mi
  • Herengracht: 1.9 mi
  • Single: 2 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 2 mi
  • The Frozen Fountain: 2 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 2 mi
  • Frozen Fountain: 2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 2 mi
  • Orgelpark: 2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4.2
Cleanliness:
4.8
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
3.7
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Experienced Traveler
Business
N/A
May 6, 2015

Worst. Hotel. Ever.

After paying 4 star prices for a room at the Golden Tulip I expected a pleasant experience and friendly staff. Boy was I in for a surprise. The check in receptionist was downright rude, demanding payment for the city tax that wasn't included in the billing. I happily paid in full, and proceeded to my room. The receptionist failed to explain that the room key was required to turn on everything in the room, which should have been explained first thing instead of pushing tour maps on weary travelers checking in. At check out, another rude receptionist tried to charge me again for the city taxes, literally calling me a liar when I protested I had already paid upon check in. Patronizing, rude, and downright nasty perfectly describes the service aspect of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kickinthepants
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Sep 19, 2013

Alarming

Stayed here for a week long business trip. Attractive, modern facility, close to a major Metro/Train station. Ate in the restaurant nearly everyday for breakfast. Typical fare, tough I wish there was more cereal selections and custom omelets. Dined there once for dinner--thought it a bit overpriced for a buffet. Kinda strange combination of things. Asian restaurant across the street was great! Staff seemed to be under training and a bit slow on checking us out. Also disappointed in the lack of after dinner food--I had a late meeting and ended up with only Pringles to eat out of the mini-bar :-( Biggest problem was the smoke alarm went off in MY room! (No, I don't smoke.) Was already in bed, had to dress to answer the staff pounding on the door accusing me of smoking. I didn't realize it, but the alarm sounded in the entire building! Finding nothing they reset it-- 20 mins later same thing. Then another 20 and ANOTHER 20 !! Not much sleep that night! I didn't ask for anything special, but kinda thought the management should have offered some sort of gesture when I checked out (like waiving the city tax, or a couple meals complimentary or something). Probably will not stay here again, if for no other reason the quantity of taxi rides we ended up making and the distance from City Center made it 20e+ every time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
david p.
Business
Austin
Apr 9, 2015

Married Couple

Loved the location. Across the street from the local tram and just down the road from the main train station. Hotel is very nice and the rooms are great. Staff is soso, borderline uppity. Great if you don't want to be in the hustle and bustle of the central Dam area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dudley
Business
Bournemouth
Jan 7, 2014

Fantastic hotel

Second time stay in this hotel .even better than last time. A little bit far out but liked that and tram just across the road and train station only 8 min walk which goes to airport . Will stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mr singh
Business
london
Feb 5, 2013

great hotel

No complaints at all. Great service. Bit out of the way from the centre but a 10min bus journey gets you to leidsplein

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dudley
Business
Bournemouth
Feb 11, 2013

great hotel for short break

This hotel is great value for the money . was not sure what to expect as very new but was very impressed . staff very helpfull and explained all about the hotel and the area. Food was great value all you can eat for 23 euros . But breakfast 15 eures so alittle expensive so gave that a miss . Will be going back to this hotel for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BizzleHizzle
Business
Manchester, England
Feb 23, 2013

16/2/13-20/2/13

Very pleasant and comfortable stay, would definitely stay again. The buffet was fantastic but a little expensive. Would have been nice to have a menu of meals to choose from as well as the buffet. Sky sports would be nice for the english football. Overall experience was brilliant. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the train into Amsterdam Central instead of the tram. You have to take 2 trams to the centre and for someone who doesn't live there it is quite confusing at first and takes a lot longer than the train. Amsterdam Sloterdijk station is 5 mins walk from the hotel and then the train is only 5 mins to Amsterdam central. Trains are very frequent.

Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trickycat
Business
Lincoln, UK
Feb 26, 2013

Wonderful stay

We stayed here for a short city break and we weren't disappointed. Although it is out if town (reflected in the price), it is close to good transport links which can get you into town quickly. Or, if like us and you enjoy a stroll, you can walk into town (about a 45 minute walk). The room was beautiful and clean - our only issue was that it was two single beds pushed together with single duvets. I wasn't too bothered about the beds, but a double duvet would have been better. The bathroom is brilliant - couldn't fault it :) Staff were friendly and helped us when we wanted to book a tour and aided up when we asked for more tea for our room. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blacksheep
Business
Yorkshire, Englnd
Feb 28, 2013

Weekend break

The hotel was further from the centre of Amsterdam that the internet indicated in the hotel location. Trams were cheap if you understood the changes required to et to the centre. Taxi fares were expensive averaging around 18 Euros. The staff at the hotel were all excellent, friendly, happy, knew their roles and were very welcoming. No more could have been asked of them. They were unique as a staff group goes, usually in a hotel you get the odd one or two staff that excel, but as already stated there was no one member of staff any less able than another

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

get to understand the tram system to go to the cetnre of Amsrdam

Review of Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alessio
Business
Sheffeild, UK
Mar 5, 2013

Golden Tulip Amsterdam West

Arrived at the hotel around 10.00 am to discover the taxi driver had already checked us in over the phone while on the way, which saved us time. Room was ready so we were allowed to go straight up and get settled. The room itself was literally immaculate, not a single hair or speck of dirt anywhere to be seen. We had a quad room but were surprised as to how much space there was even with four beds. As it is a brand new hotel the amenities within the room were top draw, with a flat screen television facing the beds and one of the best bathrooms in a hotel I have seen. The shower was brilliant, it is a walk in one with a large head that is fitted to the ceiling making it enjoyable to shower. The beds were comfy as they are all brand new. Another feature that proves extremely useful is that the rooms are all soundproof. This meant we could come in late at night and watch T.V and talk without having to worry about disturbing other residents. Equally, we were never disturbed when we wanted an early night. To top it off, there was a complementary Nespresso machine to help kick start our day in Amsterdam. The staff service within the hotel was excellent. Our room was cleaned perfectly every day and the Nespresso capsules were refilled without fail! Every time we needed information the hotel staff were more than happy to help and when we checked out, they allowed us to leave our bags with them so we could have another wander around Amsterdam without having to carry them. I cannot comment on the food service as we did not eat at the hotel. The only slight niggle we had during our stay is that there is little do in the close vicinity of the hotel as it is in a remote part of Amsterdam. However, the tram stop is literally 40/ 50 meters from the entrance of the hotel giving easy access to Amsterdam center. Overall I cannot fault the hotel due to everything I mentioned above. I would recommend this hotel to both friends and family, or anyone who is going away on business or a family weekend. If I return to Amsterdam, I will definitely use the Golden Tulip West as my first port of call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

The Heineken factory was excellent, definitely worth the money and one of my favorite activities of the holiday.

Back to menu Return to top