$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

3 stars
View map of Oudezijds Kolk 11, Amsterdam, 1012 AL

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.0
out of 5
8 reviews
Fantastic location, but.....

The hotel is all about location. It is perfectly situated near the Central Station and on the edge... See full review

  • Martin
  • Feb 4, 2015
They have bedbugs!

The elephant in the room, this place has bedbugs! The room cleanliness was sub-par, there was mold... See full review

  • Bitten in Austin
  • Dec 8, 2014
For the traveller who wishes to see as many of Amsterdams tourist attractions as possible, there is no better location than that of the France Hotel Amsterdam. This stylish 3-star hotel is situated on the 'Oudezijds Kolk', one of the oldest canals in the ancient heart of the city. From here you can easily walk to the most famous of Amsterdams tourist attractions. The rooms on the street side of the hotel have a beautiful view of the old canals. The hotel has 55 single, double, or triple rooms, each of which has its own bathroom, television, radio, and telephone. Right next to the hotel you may find the hotels own restaurant and an Irish pub, where you can enjoy our breakfast buffet in the morning. Floris Hotels combine a unique blend of traditional hospitality values, a contemporary approach and an open mind. All hotels were chosen for their special touch, bringing together a special character, unique charm and a central location so you can experience the very essence of the location you're visiting without compromising the comfort you're used to.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Floris France Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Floris France Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

STANDARD - ROOM
Iron and Ironing Board (on request), Color TV, Satellite TV, Telephone, Heating, Hair Dryer (on request), Air Conditioning, Wireless Broadband Internet Access, Radio.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Schreierstoren: 0 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • Schreierstoren: 0 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0 mi
  • Scheepvaarthuis: 0.2 mi
  • The Chocolate Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Central Station: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.2 mi
  • Waag: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.4 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.4 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • National Monument: 0.4 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.4 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.4 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.4 mi
  • New Church: 0.5 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.5 mi
  • Science Centre NEMO: 0.5 mi
  • Museum Het Rembrandthuis: 0.5 mi
  • Bimhuis: 0.5 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.5 mi
  • Muziekgebouw aan 't IJ: 0.5 mi
  • Rembrandt House Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Euronext Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.5 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein Flea Market: 0.5 mi
  • Waterlooplein: 0.6 mi
  • Markenplein: 0.6 mi
  • Moses and Aaron Church: 0.6 mi
  • EYE Film Institute: 0.6 mi
  • Single: 0.6 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The France Hotel Amsterdam has its own restaurant, which is situated next to the hotel. There you will also find an Irish pub, where the hotel serves a breakfast buffet in the morning. The hotel has several vending machines with various snacks and drinks as well.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 8
Amenities:
1.8
Cleanliness:
2.1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1.9
Location:
4.1
Value:
2.1

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
charlieob
Business
waterford ireland
Oct 30, 2009

booking into a cell

When I saw the website for this hotel I thought it looked fabolous. We found it very easy,the location was great you are right in the middle of everything, the atmosphere around the city was great .thats where the happiness ended. Then we got to the hotel it was much smaller then we thought,we were told or room no. and when we got to the room i was disgusted we were supposed to have a twin room it was like a jail cell there were no windows in the room there was 2 tiny slits up the top of the wall that was meant to pass as a window. our two single beds were pushed together and up against the wall.You could touch all the walls of the room from sitting on your bed.we had the smalleat shower room and cleanliness wasnt top of there agenda. I went to reception to complain and I asked her had she any of the rooms off the website or was that just for show she nodded in agreement that it was only for show.I told her I was claustraphobic and that under no curcumstances was I staying in that room, we were transfereed to another room where we had 2 windows WOW!!! or beds were pushed together aswell but the room was a bit better. While we were waiting for our new room 2 more customers came to reception to complain about their rooms but they were told nothing could be done about it. Any of the staff we encountered were very friendly but I would not recommend this hotel to a dog,it looks beautiful on the website but in reality it really is a dump! I will definetly be returning to Amsterdam but never to this hovel of a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

if you are going to do a few of the tourist attractions buy a multisave ticket available at all the tourist info buildings you really do save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Douglas Minoru
Business
Sao Paulo, Brazil
May 10, 2012

No windows in the room

My first room didn't have window, the heating was not working and the internet wifi didn't work because the signal was so weak... This floor dind't have elevators. I tried to change the room so, the hotel was full (I booked and paid 4 months before my stay). So my room was changed 1 night after I checked in, and this new room had 2 windows, the heating was good, but the internet was so slowly (about 32kbps). The room was small and the bathroom was not clean. The wooden floor was broken and the bed was against the wall. The staff was very good, but room without window is very bad. I realized that the most of rooms don't have windows, and many have windows facing corridor and not to outside with fresh air and natural ilumination. Conclusion: I can't understand how was possible to book a hotel whtiout windows in the room, at thie website.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to restaurants, shops and central station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bitten in Austin
Business
Austin, Texas
Dec 8, 2014

They have bedbugs!

The elephant in the room, this place has bedbugs! The room cleanliness was sub-par, there was mold in the shower, and the window (I was lucky to have one) wouldn't close. There are some good points. You get to eat breakfast in an Irish Pub next door (Molly Malones), which is a bit of an experience (decent food though). Also, the location is right on the border of De Wallen, so if that is your destination, you are close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
charlieob
Business
waterford ireland
Oct 30, 2009

booking into a cell

When I saw the website for this hotel I thought it looked fabolous. We found it very easy,the location was great you are right in the middle of everything, the atmosphere around the city was great .thats where the happiness ended. Then we got to the hotel it was much smaller then we thought,we were told or room no. and when we got to the room i was disgusted we were supposed to have a twin room it was like a jail cell there were no windows in the room there was 2 tiny slits up the top of the wall that was meant to pass as a window. our two single beds were pushed together and up against the wall.You could touch all the walls of the room from sitting on your bed.we had the smalleat shower room and cleanliness wasnt top of there agenda. I went to reception to complain and I asked her had she any of the rooms off the website or was that just for show she nodded in agreement that it was only for show.I told her I was claustraphobic and that under no curcumstances was I staying in that room, we were transfereed to another room where we had 2 windows WOW!!! or beds were pushed together aswell but the room was a bit better. While we were waiting for our new room 2 more customers came to reception to complain about their rooms but they were told nothing could be done about it. Any of the staff we encountered were very friendly but I would not recommend this hotel to a dog,it looks beautiful on the website but in reality it really is a dump! I will definetly be returning to Amsterdam but never to this hovel of a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

if you are going to do a few of the tourist attractions buy a multisave ticket available at all the tourist info buildings you really do save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Woody 1000 2000
Business
Gloucester, UK
Jan 29, 2012

Cheap but not chearful

This is a good hotel for being close to the city. But that's where it ends. There is nothing else good about this hotel. The rooms were ok nothing to shout out about. The bathrooms were a bit run down. The beds were uncomfortable but the sheets were cleanish. However the towels were diabolical at one point I nearly went out and bought my own. I can't say anything else really.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fumi
Business
Boston
May 14, 2012

Good value

Clean and comfortable. Centrally located with easy access to town center, central train station and Lindburg tour agency.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Concise One
Business
England
Jul 12, 2013

July 2013 - City Break

The good points were; location was superb and right at the heart of the city, breakfast was also good and better than expected. Works with pub next door who also do good porter and meals and have real accents. Less good were the rooms with no windows which a lot of these old houses have by the way, but then you're only there to sleep and whatever! The rooms were clean but the bathroom had no plug in the sink, bad if you wash and wet shave like me; and the shower head fitting was broken and one third of the shower door was missing. All in all it was OK just, for a budget hotel. Would I stay there again? YES; for the location mainly but the hotel really was OK, just the details let it down a bit. Atmosphere was vibrant and alive, mix of cultures and lots of good places to eat and drink. Go to the art museum and the flower market and take a canal cruise, all good fun. I'll do Amsterdam again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Gay and Lesbian scene right on the doorstep from hotel, but good atmosphere and friendly to all. Some of the restaurants can be a bit "sharp" with offers etc, as in you may find it difficult to get the offers at night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Floris France Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Martin
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Fantastic location, but.....

The hotel is all about location. It is perfectly situated near the Central Station and on the edge of the clubs, bars and restaurants of the famous and beautiful Red Light District. But the hotel is tired and the rooms are very basic. We upgraded to a canal view room at the front, but even this needed redecoration and new furniture. The breakfast was very good and the basic experience was good - all part of the fun. But if you want luxury, this hotel is not for you. If you want the perfect location and a slight feeling of 'roughing it', go for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to stroll out to the nightlife, the coffee shops, the ambience of the naughty Amsterdam, stay in this location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top