$167 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176, Amsterdam, 1012 SJ

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
84 reviews
Fantastic location

The hotel was in a very central location and was wheelchair accessible. The staff are friendly and... See full review

  • Wheelchair Carol
  • Jul 5, 2015
Fantastic stay

Ideal location within walking distance of all attractions. Excellent restaurant, bar and longed.... See full review

  • David H.
  • Jul 4, 2015

Just blocks from the historic, breathtaking Dam Square stands the Die Port van Cleve Hotel, a classic 121-room tribute to Dutch hospitality and cozy elegance. For both business and leisure travelers, the hotel offers excellent in-house comfort and cuisine in between Amsterdam excursions. Just steps from the Die Port van Cleve, guests can take in Magna Plaza's upscale shopping, while the dazzling Dam Square along with Amsterdam's wealth of architectural and cultural wonders are all within walking or biking distance.

Rooms

The Die Port van Cleve Hotel's 121 non-smoking rooms welcome guests with cozy yet modern decor, wood furnishings and accents of royal blue, burgundy and mustard for a sense of soothing elegance. Standard guest rooms come with either a twin or double bed, while the executive level business suites come with king beds. Suites also come with separate bedroom and living room quarters and two bathrooms.


The Die Port van Cleve's rooms all feature complimentary wired and Wi-Fi access, flat-screen cable TVs with On Demand entertainment (suites come with two TVs), along with laptop-accommodating safes.

Property features

The 1880s architecture and design elements of Die Port van Cleve Hotel evoke old-world Dutch warmth and charm. While modern amenities like complimentary Wi-Fi offer convenience, it's touches like the Delft blue-tile frescoes from 1887 together with the fine liquors and jenever tastings at the hotel's elegant Bar De Blauwe Parade that provide authentic appeal at the Port van Cleeve Hotel. Succulent, deservedly renowned steaks (the hotel has served more than six million) and hearty Danish cuisine are on order at the Die Port van Cleve's welcoming Brasserie Du Poort. The property also provides tour desk, reception and laundry services.

Highlights
  • Classic, renowned in-house eatery, established in 1870
  • Elegant, historic in-house bar featuring traditional jenever and liquors
  • Central Amsterdam location, close to premium shopping, dining and sightseeing
Nearby attractions
  • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1 mi/2 km)
  • Magna Plaza Shopping Center (1 block)
  • Rijksmuseum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Van Gogh Museum (2 mi/3 km)
  • Museum Amstelkring (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Historical Museum (Amsterdams Historisch Museum) (.5 mi/less than 1 km)
  • Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (.5 mi/less than 1 km)
  • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (.5 mi/less than 1 km)
Business
  • Full-service workstation               
  • 5 meeting and event spaces, including conference room
Transportation
  • Closest Tram Stop (1 block)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1 mi/1.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (10 mi/16 km)
Policies
  • A 5% city/tourist tax per room per night is due upon checkout.
  • Starting 01 Jan 2015, a child up to and including two years old should pay 20 EUR per night (inclusive of breakfast) in a provided baby cot when sharing a room with two adults. Also, a child of three years old up to and including 12 years old should pay 40 EUR per night (inclusive of breakfast) in a provided rollaway bed when sharing a room with two adults.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

★★★★
$132
4.0 / 5 58 reviews
★★★
$95
4.1 / 5 23 reviews
★★★★
$189
3.9 / 5 68 reviews
★★★★
$142
4.2 / 5 87 reviews
★★★
$80
3.7 / 5 63 reviews
★★★★
$190
3.8 / 5 49 reviews
★★★★★
$209
4.5 / 5 213 reviews
★★★★
$213
4.3 / 5 71 reviews
★★★★★
$214
4.1 / 5 113 reviews

Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Superior Room
Room with one twin bed offers a private safe, modem connection, free WIFI, coffee & tea facilities, telephone with direct dial, TV with cable television. All rooms have a toilet, bath and shower and a hair-dryer. Room service is available 24/7. Breakfast buffet is not included and costs EUR 19.50 per person. The rooms are all decorated with a touch of Dutch history and references to the authentic Delft Blue tile fresco in the bar.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Wheel chair access
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Magna Plaza: 0 mi
  • New Church: 0 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Single: 0.1 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.1 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.1 mi
  • National Monument: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.2 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0 mi
  • New Church: 0 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Single: 0.1 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.1 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0.1 mi
  • National Monument: 0.1 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.2 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.2 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.2 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.2 mi
  • The Whale: 0.3 mi
  • Homomonument: 0.3 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Old Church: 0.3 mi
  • Anne Frank House: 0.3 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.3 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.3 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.3 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.3 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdam Tulip Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.3 mi
  • Het Houten Huys: 0.3 mi
  • Netherlands Media Arts Institute: 0.3 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.3 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.3 mi
  • Galleria d'arte Rinascimento: 0.3 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.4 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.4 mi
  • De Negen Straatjes: 0.4 mi
  • BeBoB Design: 0.4 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Book Market: 0.4 mi
  • East India House: 0.4 mi

Dining

Brasserie 'De Poort'
In the Brasserie 'De Poort' you can enjoy a combination of traditional Dutch and international cuisine, prepared with fresh ingredients daily. The restaurant is famous for its numbered steaks, which have been served here since 1870 and come with their own numbered certificate. The unique 'no-nonsense' style of the executive chef ensures a pure culinary adventure.
Bar 'De Blauwe Parade'
The authentic Bar-Bodega 'De Blauwe Parade', well known for its unique Delft Blue Frieze, is an institution in Amsterdam. For an aperitif, a joyful drink or perhaps an original gin tasting, Bar-Bodega 'De Blauwe Parade' is the place to be. The bar is also a great place for an informal diner.
Coffee Corner/ Bar 'De Hooiberg'
At Coffee corner/ Bar 'De Hooiberg' the staff will gladly welcome you for a relaxing cup of coffee, tea, appetizer or a digestive. With a street front location it is great to watch the people pass by in the busy centre of Amsterdam city. This historic bar is located next to the Brasserie 'De Poort' and was once part of the Heineken brewery, which shows from the wall frescoes and wooden floors. Guests can stop in for drinks or light snacks from late morning through early evening.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
anonymous latin traveler
Couples
Tampa, Fl
Aug 21, 2012

Dissapointment in Amsterdam

Although we had fully prepaid our room two months before arriving, we were surprised when we got there with the news that they had overbooked the hotel and we had to stay the first night in a different hotel way out of town. Therefore, out of our two night stay, we spent each in a different hotel and had to spend our little time in Amsterdam moving from one hotel to the other rather than enjoying the city sights. Never received any apologies from the manager nor any compensation for our inconvenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
makati, philippines
Jul 15, 2011

die port van cleve hotel amsterdam

a poor hotel and certainly not worth 4 stars -- maybe not even 3. room TV and air/con did not work, and phone was out of order the first day. no bar of soap for the room. windows could not open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York, NY
Sep 15, 2009

Very poor value

Stay elsewhere. While the location is good, there are dozens of options with as good a location. If dirty rooms, shredded towels, horrible beds and linens - all at exhorbitant prices are your thing, this is your hotel. We paid luxury hotel prices for accomodations slightly better than a youth hostel, but not as clean. A horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
charleston, sc
Jul 4, 2011

Not what I expected

I thought the hotel had a good location, but that is the only positive thing I can say. The hotel hallways smelled like the sewage was backed up. Two of the reasons I picked this hotel because it said had air conditioning and wifi Internet access, but I was disappointed by both. The entire floor air conditioning units were not working due remodeling taking place. When I complained about this to the font desk they were rude and refused to make any accommodations in price. On top of all this the Internet was incredibly slow making it difficult to conduct business or use skype to make any personal contacts while I stayed in this hotel. In addition to all these problems, the final kicker was a 25€ city tax that was that was not previously disclosed upon checking in that was required at checkout. I would not recommend staying in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hank from Canada
Couples
Dhahran
Apr 6, 2015

Terrible room stay - poor value for your money

Worst 4 night stay ever. Room is small and confined. No sound proofing in the room whatsoever can hear people walking on the creepy old floor as well as zooming car and motorcycle noises from the street all night long. The beds are extremely uncomfortable mattresses shows severe sagging in the middle and should have been replaced long ago. Staff didn't give a care nor apologize for the bed condition when reported.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Derry
Couples
Dublin, Ireland
Dec 7, 2012

Disappointed

We were especting something magical - give the hotel's history and promotional copy - but were disappointed. The location is excellent - close to Dam Square and the shops & restaurants as well as being in walking distance of 'must-sees' like Anne Frank's House. Our room was extraordinarily small: my wife and I kept bumping into each other when moving around the bed or trying to get clothes from the wardrobe. This really spoiled the whole hotel experience for us. We had intended dining in the well-promoted Restaurant but when we arrived there were just two tables occupied and a dreadful lack of atmosphere. Instead we had the 'numbered steak' in the bar - which had marginally more activity. The staff generally were pleasant and helpful - but the items mentioned above meant a special birthday surprise fell flat on its face.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Belmont
Dec 29, 2008

Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam is located in walking distance of all old-town sites. The room for two was much too cramped and the two beds we ordered were really two mattresses moved together. There was no separation, only separate sheets and blankets. The dinner was far too expensive if compared to other restaurants nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Shy Di
Couples
edinburgh
Aug 31, 2014

Good for city break

I was greeted by very helpful friendly staff and found the concierge a mine of information happy to book restaurants suggest trips suitable for m y needs The location of hotel is ideal for all public transport I would say the general appearance is rather shabby certainly not 4 star needing a lot of TLC The breakfast buffet was fairly basic completely self service even to machine tea and coffee and paper mats on chipped shabby tables Again not 4 star But I did enjoy my stay and survived crossing the road!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Candle light dining cruise was really enjoyable 2 1/2 hour canal cruise with a very high standard meal a choice of 3 menus fish meat or veg but book ahead Great for a special occasion

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DAG2013
Couples
Tucson, AZ
Nov 11, 2014

Mediocre Hotel in Prime Location

Die Port is only a ten minute walk from the central train station, a five minute tram ride from the Rijksmuseum and near many restaurants and other attractions. Unfortunately, this historic property is in need of major renovation. Our first room was dark and cramped; neither the Wi-Fi nor the TV worked. The very responsive staff moved us to a much nicer room with a working TV, but no heat (remedied quickly with a space heater). Apparently, the Wi-Fi works only in the lobby. We felt sorry for the staff who tried to be responsive but were obviously stymied by management that simply doesn't care about their guests' comfort and convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The canal boat tours, while very touristy, still give patrons an unmatched view of Amsterdam's many canals and the harbour. You can save money if you buy your tickets at the hotel desk.

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayCB
Friends
Dallas, TX, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Excellent location, everything else pretty average

We stayed in a perfectly nice room with two single beds, although it was so small they were pushed together as though a double...so sort of an odd choice overall. The location was excellent and couldn't have been better. 10-minute walk or 2-minute tram ride from the central station and immediately across from the Royal Palace. The website claimed it was a four-star hotel, but it's really more of a three and half-star hotel. The staff fell over themselves to be helpful, but they were a little surprised when I asked them basic things about Amsterdam, which seemed odd to me. They spent a lot of time (diligently) looking things up on the internet for us that I sort of expected someone working in a hotel lobby to know

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Facing the hotel, about 300 feet to the left is a large grocery and liquor store where you can get anything you need. There is a "coffee shop" to the right by about 600 feet.

Back to menu Return to top