$162 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176, Amsterdam, 1012 SJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robvan11
Couples
Waterford, Michigan
Sep 10, 2012

Great hotel and Location

Would definitely stay here again. Great Dutch ambiance in the old Heineken Brewery. Right near the Dam. Breakfast is a little expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Switzerland
Apr 6, 2010

Good Location

Helpful staff. Super location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New York, NY
Sep 15, 2009

Very poor value

Stay elsewhere. While the location is good, there are dozens of options with as good a location. If dirty rooms, shredded towels, horrible beds and linens - all at exhorbitant prices are your thing, this is your hotel. We paid luxury hotel prices for accomodations slightly better than a youth hostel, but not as clean. A horrible experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dville420
Friends
Jacksonville, Florida USA
Sep 15, 2009

Small, No Electricity, Quite, No View

The hotel was average nothing that stood out. Good dinners. Didn't have electricity when first checked in. Very small room, didn't get the room I requested. The view was of other windows in a courtyard. Fairly helpful staff. Locations was the best thing. Close to many attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dtw57
Single
Pittsburgh, PA
Sep 14, 2009

Die Port van Cleve

The hotel staff was friendly and very accomodating. I did not spend much time at the hotel, but was very satisfied with the experience. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steph & Mike
Couples
Long Island, New York
Sep 1, 2009

PERFECT PLACE!!

This hotel is the only place to stay in the Dam! It is literally in the center of everything. Great food/shopping/coffeeshops surrounding the hotel. As soon as we got off the plane we used the bathroom. unfortunately when we weren't looking someone snagged our laptop. We took the train to Central Station(10minutes) and then from there it is a really short walk to the hotel. When we arrived we told the staff about the laptop and before they even checked us in they were on the phone with the airline trying to find it. As we checked in, we mentioned that the balcony rooms (only 4 in the whole hotel) looked cool from outside- and just like that she switched us to a gorgeous HUGE (for europe) room with a balcony and huge windows floor to ceiling that open up to the street. It was the most spacious comfortable room. Not a lot of frills, just basic amenities- but we didn't spend much time there regardless. The hotel staff was super friendly and helpful. We didnt eat at the restaurant though, because there are plenty of cafe's open right across the street and it is a little pricey. This hotel is definitely the place to stay. There wasn't ONE thing we wanted to see that wasn't within 15-20 min walk. Even while exploring the city- we didn't like any other hotel more than ours. WE LOVE DIE PORT VAN CLEVE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

The hotel is a busy and safe area- but within a few blocks you will find all the coffeeshops and cafe's and shopping you could ever dream of! Anne Frank house is within 5 min walk. Zoo/Aquarium are a 15 min tram ride OR 5 min bike ride (RENT A BIKE!! BEST WAY TO SEE AMSTERDAM!!)

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Austin, TX
Aug 27, 2009

Service is the word @ Die Port van Cleve

Right on the Tram route and across from the Royal Palace is the best place to be in Amsterdam. And yet, Die Port van Cleve was absolutely quiet to sleep at night. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we felt at home and safe there. Best was the Countryside tour to see the Windmills, the cheese factory and the wooden shoe factory. Well worth the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Native Dutch food wasn't to our liking but we found a great Pizza place on the same street towards the Central station, and a great Indian place a bit down Rokin (ask the staff).

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Chicago, IL
Aug 27, 2009

Die Port Van Cleve Hotel

Very nice hotel not far from Amsterdam Centraal station. Located on tram line. Very close to shopping/tourist areas/Dam Square/red light district. Note that the red light district is not some seedy underbelly. Red lit windows are interdispersed with shops cafes and restaurants and blend in with the neighborhood. Don't be afraid. My single a-framed room was cozy and comfortable. Nice to have an in-room safe. No shower curtain, as is the custom in Europe I guess. Good value through Orbitz (I got $120 per night).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Talk to the locals. Get chummy with a bartender and have them point you in the right direction. Stay away from the "English Breakfast". It's the weirdest combination of food products you'll ever find on one plate.

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Phoenix, AZ
Aug 15, 2009

Great location and service

Everything you may need is 5 min. away including a huge supermarket almost next door. Walking to many attractions is easy otherwise a tram stop is outside the front door. We asked for a room with a window that opened and got a room on the 3rd floor and the backside of the hotel so the view was not great but we always had a great, cool breeze. Evidently the front windows do not open. It would have been nice to have had a small, cheaper breakfast but the market solved that problem. Yes, the room was small but we were hardly ever there. It suited us perfectly, great beds and adequate bathroom. The desk people could not have been more helpful. We can't wait to go back and will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a transportation pass (they have varying hours, we bought the 96 hour pass) Saves time and money and makes getting on and off easier.

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Cleveland, OH
Aug 3, 2009

wonderful location, great time!

We travelled around the city by foot or bike a lot. So the central location was wonderful. We just went in a different direction each day. The staff was always helpful and very friendly, and the food from the restaurant was fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from Dam Square and all the entertainment of the Red Light District.

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Raleigh, NC
Jul 28, 2009

best price for quality

very good price for the location and quality, cant find a better deal for the price you pay in amsterdam in july

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top