$137 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176, Amsterdam, 1012 SJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler for work
Business
Denver
Aug 26, 2011

Good location, nothing special

Walking distance from train station and centrally located. No air condition working. They say they are fixing, and as compensation offered 25% discount at their restaurant. I did not take them up on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gravesend
Jul 30, 2011

Great Location

Hotel staff were really helpful and professional. The location was excellent right next to Damm Square. On the down side we seemed to get lots of noise from the road and didn't always get our coffee and tea tray replenished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gravesend
Jul 30, 2011

Great Location

Hotel staff were really helpful and professional. The location was excellent right next to Damm Square. On the down side we seemed to get lots of noise from the road and didn't always get our coffee and tea tray replenished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
makati, philippines
Jul 15, 2011

die port van cleve hotel amsterdam

a poor hotel and certainly not worth 4 stars -- maybe not even 3. room TV and air/con did not work, and phone was out of order the first day. no bar of soap for the room. windows could not open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
comingtoamsterdam
Business
la, ca
Jul 12, 2011

better outside than inside

This hotel looks great from the outside, and also has a beautiful breakfast room and - much appreciated - free and convenient Wi-Fi access. Unfortunately, my room was not up to snuff; a stain on the wall, empty soap/shampoo bottle in the shower. Sleeping was tough as the airconditioning did not work (they did apologize up front for this apparently temporary situation due to refurbishing)and street noise was loud till 3am, and then restarted with cleaning at 6am! Moreover, I have never witnessed such a slow check-out line. When communicating that the one person at the reception needs help around noon, the answer I got was 'yes, but it is also lunchtime for the employees'. On the plus side, that one person at check out ([...]) was the friendliest you can imagine.In sum, the hotel did not live up to my expectations (partly set by the splendid exterior), but has many fine qualities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
comingtoamsterdam
Business
la, ca
Jul 12, 2011

better outside than inside

This hotel looks great from the outside, and also has a beautiful breakfast room and - much appreciated - free and convenient Wi-Fi access. Unfortunately, my room was not up to snuff; a stain on the wall, empty soap/shampoo bottle in the shower. Sleeping was tough as the airconditioning did not work (they did apologize up front for this apparently temporary situation due to refurbishing)and street noise was loud till 3am, and then restarted with cleaning at 6am! Moreover, I have never witnessed such a slow check-out line. When communicating that the one person at the reception needs help around noon, the answer I got was 'yes, but it is also lunchtime for the employees'. On the plus side, that one person at check out ([...]) was the friendliest you can imagine.In sum, the hotel did not live up to my expectations (partly set by the splendid exterior), but has many fine qualities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lyndhurst, new jersey
Jul 10, 2011

Cozy

Location is best walking distance to almost everything a traveler wanted to see. but the floor is squeaky and no noise barrier from lobby. Staffs are fantastic, very helpful in many ways. must offer a continental breakfast at least. this is better than the hotel we stayed at copenhagen

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charleston, sc
Jul 4, 2011

Not what I expected

I thought the hotel had a good location, but that is the only positive thing I can say. The hotel hallways smelled like the sewage was backed up. Two of the reasons I picked this hotel because it said had air conditioning and wifi Internet access, but I was disappointed by both. The entire floor air conditioning units were not working due remodeling taking place. When I complained about this to the font desk they were rude and refused to make any accommodations in price. On top of all this the Internet was incredibly slow making it difficult to conduct business or use skype to make any personal contacts while I stayed in this hotel. In addition to all these problems, the final kicker was a 25€ city tax that was that was not previously disclosed upon checking in that was required at checkout. I would not recommend staying in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Jul 2, 2011

Wonderful Hotel, Perfectly Situated

Walked everywhere I could. It was the best trip I've had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Anne Frank Hius is a short walk. I went at noon and there was a massive line. Went back at 19:30 and only waited about 5 minutes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham, NC
Jun 18, 2011

Great stay in Amsterdam

This was a nice hotel for a very reasonable price. The city tram had a stop immediately in front and it was only about a 5 minute walk from the central train station. The food at the restaurant on site was delicious and they had the best pancake and ice cream dessert! The one downside was that the hotel was renovating the air conditioning system at the time, but they provided a large fan that was sufficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top