$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 30, 2015 Check-out: Oct 2, 2015

Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176, Amsterdam, 1012 SJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minoobie
Family
Baltimore, MD, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Awesome location and undergoing renovation

This hotel was at the heart of Amsterdam. My sister and I found it's location to be very convenient to all our planned acitivities. The hotel has a major tram and bus stop out front to make any length of travel within the city easy. The rooms were fairly clean, the wifi was free with good strength, and the staff were knowledgeable. The only drawback was at this particular time in January the AC and water were undergoing renovations so there were short time blocks when water couldn't be used. This wasn't too inconvenient and we received a discount on the restaurant for this trouble. Renovations aside, I would say that this hotel is a good value any time of the year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Pancake Bakery is awesome, but it doesn't open until 12pm.

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayCB
Friends
Dallas, TX, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Excellent location, everything else pretty average

We stayed in a perfectly nice room with two single beds, although it was so small they were pushed together as though a double...so sort of an odd choice overall. The location was excellent and couldn't have been better. 10-minute walk or 2-minute tram ride from the central station and immediately across from the Royal Palace. The website claimed it was a four-star hotel, but it's really more of a three and half-star hotel. The staff fell over themselves to be helpful, but they were a little surprised when I asked them basic things about Amsterdam, which seemed odd to me. They spent a lot of time (diligently) looking things up on the internet for us that I sort of expected someone working in a hotel lobby to know

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Facing the hotel, about 300 feet to the left is a large grocery and liquor store where you can get anything you need. There is a "coffee shop" to the right by about 600 feet.

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1BNB
Couples
Lancaster, CA, USA
Oct 29, 2011

Center of most anything one would want to see in Amsterdam

easy walking distance and public transport access for anything one would want to see in this historic city. we did not get a chance to sample the menu but the prices seemed comparable to local restaurants. beds were very comfy! if one is on the roadside of the hotel, however, the noise ends at about midnight and begins at about 6:30 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

watch out for unscrupulous cabbies! they will give you the scenic route from the airport to hotel costing 15 to 20 euros more than direct route. therefore, know where you are going, advise route and pay attention. train may be best idea if not during rush hour or have modest luggage. Enjoy!

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rml76
Couples
Birmingham, AL, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Great hotel right on Dam Square

Charming hotel right behind the Royal Palace and the Niewe Kirche. Within 10 minutes walk from the Central Station, canals, and the red light district. Die Blaue Parade is a charming 19th century bar. The steaks are outstanding, and you should definitely try the Port van Cleve garnish with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Niewe Kirche is a 14th century cathedral converted to a Protestant Church around the 1600's. It is right across the street from the hotel next to the Royal Palace It houses the graves of several Dutch Naval heroes, as well as some of Amsterdam's prominent citizens. The interior of the church is amazing, with it's ornate organ, and detailed woodwork and monuments. It's an interesting quick historical excursion right across the street from the hotel, and only costs 4 euro to get in.

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mammy
Couples
Mt Pleasant, MI 48858, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Frequent traveler

We were pleasantly surprised at the room. It was nicely restored and very comfortable. It was close to everything - Dam Square, shopping and the train station.The restaurant served delicious food with large portions. We were able to split our entree and added soup for a full meal. Plus, the staff was very helpful. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mammy
Couples
Mt Pleasant, MI 48858, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Frequent traveler

We were pleasantly surprised at the room. It was nicely restored and very comfortable. It was close to everything - Dam Square, shopping and the train station.The restaurant served delicious food with large portions. We were able to split our entree and added soup for a full meal. Plus, the staff was very helpful. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't listen to the negative reports from anyone. It was a great hotel at a great bargain.

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler for work
Business
Denver
Aug 26, 2011

Good location, nothing special

Walking distance from train station and centrally located. No air condition working. They say they are fixing, and as compensation offered 25% discount at their restaurant. I did not take them up on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Gravesend
Jul 30, 2011

Great Location

Hotel staff were really helpful and professional. The location was excellent right next to Damm Square. On the down side we seemed to get lots of noise from the road and didn't always get our coffee and tea tray replenished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Gravesend
Jul 30, 2011

Great Location

Hotel staff were really helpful and professional. The location was excellent right next to Damm Square. On the down side we seemed to get lots of noise from the road and didn't always get our coffee and tea tray replenished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
makati, philippines
Jul 15, 2011

die port van cleve hotel amsterdam

a poor hotel and certainly not worth 4 stars -- maybe not even 3. room TV and air/con did not work, and phone was out of order the first day. no bar of soap for the room. windows could not open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top