$156 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 19, 2015 Check-out: Apr 20, 2015

Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176, Amsterdam, 1012 SJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minoobie
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Awesome location and undergoing renovation

This hotel was at the heart of Amsterdam. My sister and I found it's location to be very convenient to all our planned acitivities. The hotel has a major tram and bus stop out front to make any length of travel within the city easy. The rooms were fairly clean, the wifi was free with good strength, and the staff were knowledgeable. The only drawback was at this particular time in January the AC and water were undergoing renovations so there were short time blocks when water couldn't be used. This wasn't too inconvenient and we received a discount on the restaurant for this trouble. Renovations aside, I would say that this hotel is a good value any time of the year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Pancake Bakery is awesome, but it doesn't open until 12pm.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayCB
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Excellent location, everything else pretty average

We stayed in a perfectly nice room with two single beds, although it was so small they were pushed together as though a double...so sort of an odd choice overall. The location was excellent and couldn't have been better. 10-minute walk or 2-minute tram ride from the central station and immediately across from the Royal Palace. The website claimed it was a four-star hotel, but it's really more of a three and half-star hotel. The staff fell over themselves to be helpful, but they were a little surprised when I asked them basic things about Amsterdam, which seemed odd to me. They spent a lot of time (diligently) looking things up on the internet for us that I sort of expected someone working in a hotel lobby to know

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Facing the hotel, about 300 feet to the left is a large grocery and liquor store where you can get anything you need. There is a "coffee shop" to the right by about 600 feet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linds3d11
Business
Davenport, IA
Nov 29, 2011

Awesome location and decent size!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a middle end hotel (not a hostel) in a perfect location. We arrived in winter and were able to walk to almost everything we wanted to see. Dam Square is one minute away, Red Light District 5 minutes, Anne Frank Haus and Prinsengracht 10 minute walk. the food is good and the staff was friendly! I'd stay here if I ever come back to Ammie!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy water and soda to drink in the grocery store which is on the same side of the street, a couple of blocks down. You will save a ton versus buying on the street or in hotel!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1BNB
Business
Lancaster, CA, USA
Oct 29, 2011

Center of most anything one would want to see in Amsterdam

easy walking distance and public transport access for anything one would want to see in this historic city. we did not get a chance to sample the menu but the prices seemed comparable to local restaurants. beds were very comfy! if one is on the roadside of the hotel, however, the noise ends at about midnight and begins at about 6:30 am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

watch out for unscrupulous cabbies! they will give you the scenic route from the airport to hotel costing 15 to 20 euros more than direct route. therefore, know where you are going, advise route and pay attention. train may be best idea if not during rush hour or have modest luggage. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rml76
Business
Birmingham, AL, USA
Oct 24, 2011

Great hotel right on Dam Square

Charming hotel right behind the Royal Palace and the Niewe Kirche. Within 10 minutes walk from the Central Station, canals, and the red light district. Die Blaue Parade is a charming 19th century bar. The steaks are outstanding, and you should definitely try the Port van Cleve garnish with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Niewe Kirche is a 14th century cathedral converted to a Protestant Church around the 1600's. It is right across the street from the hotel next to the Royal Palace It houses the graves of several Dutch Naval heroes, as well as some of Amsterdam's prominent citizens. The interior of the church is amazing, with it's ornate organ, and detailed woodwork and monuments. It's an interesting quick historical excursion right across the street from the hotel, and only costs 4 euro to get in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mammy
Business
Mt Pleasant, MI 48858, USA
Sep 21, 2011

Frequent traveler

We were pleasantly surprised at the room. It was nicely restored and very comfortable. It was close to everything - Dam Square, shopping and the train station.The restaurant served delicious food with large portions. We were able to split our entree and added soup for a full meal. Plus, the staff was very helpful. We would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler for work
Business
Denver
Aug 26, 2011

Good location, nothing special

Walking distance from train station and centrally located. No air condition working. They say they are fixing, and as compensation offered 25% discount at their restaurant. I did not take them up on that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gravesend
Jul 30, 2011

Great Location

Hotel staff were really helpful and professional. The location was excellent right next to Damm Square. On the down side we seemed to get lots of noise from the road and didn't always get our coffee and tea tray replenished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
makati, philippines
Jul 15, 2011

die port van cleve hotel amsterdam

a poor hotel and certainly not worth 4 stars -- maybe not even 3. room TV and air/con did not work, and phone was out of order the first day. no bar of soap for the room. windows could not open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
comingtoamsterdam
Business
la, ca
Jul 12, 2011

better outside than inside

This hotel looks great from the outside, and also has a beautiful breakfast room and - much appreciated - free and convenient Wi-Fi access. Unfortunately, my room was not up to snuff; a stain on the wall, empty soap/shampoo bottle in the shower. Sleeping was tough as the airconditioning did not work (they did apologize up front for this apparently temporary situation due to refurbishing)and street noise was loud till 3am, and then restarted with cleaning at 6am! Moreover, I have never witnessed such a slow check-out line. When communicating that the one person at the reception needs help around noon, the answer I got was 'yes, but it is also lunchtime for the employees'. On the plus side, that one person at check out ([...]) was the friendliest you can imagine.In sum, the hotel did not live up to my expectations (partly set by the splendid exterior), but has many fine qualities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top