$141 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176, Amsterdam, 1012 SJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Silly Goose
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 30, 2012

Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

The location is absolutely superb right across from the Royal Palace. You don't need a taxi to get around and I was able to visit museums, red light district and various coffee shops all on foot. There are plenty of large shopping plazas, restaurants, and small gift shops. The staff at the hotel were helpful, however they tended to assume that I knew certain things about the way of life on Holland, which I did not, so don't be afraid to ask questions. The amenities were ok, although Internet was not always available and I had to go to the adjacent restaurant to get ice (no ice machine on the floor).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

During the week the bars in the Red Light District close anywhere from 2330 to 0030. On the weekend they stay open much later, until 0500 so leave early during the week to make sure you are not rushing from bar to bar.

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time Amsterdam
Business
Michigan
Jun 22, 2012

Relative to what?

From what I heard from the locals, hotels in Amsterdam tend to be a bit lacking in general, and this was no exception. The price was high, the air conditioning throughout the hotel and the main elevator were being upgraded for the duration of our stay with no prior notification, and the room was cramped. On the other hand, the space there was was quite well utilized, the location is amazing, the room was clean and the staff were quite good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Good hotel in Amsterdam center

This hotel has the perfect location in the center of Amsterdam, close to all the important attractions. Close by also are good restaurants and good shopping. The buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent. There can be some noise heard during the night from outside, my room was in the back of the hotel near a bar. However, I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Good shopping and restaurants in the area.

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cichlasoma
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 5, 2012

great city, great hotel!

The hotel was very nice and perfectly located. Friendly staff, top notch restaurant on site, bar, snacks..pretty much everything you could need. Shopping, coffee shops, red light district all within 5 minutes of walking. The rooms are a bit small, but you're not going to spend much time there anyway. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Damsk
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 10, 2012

Great Location

Die Port Van Cleve has an excellent location just off Dam Square. Easy to find from Central Station even by foot. Near by grocery store provided snacks and sandwiches for a nice compliment to eating out. Located on a "trolley street" for easy transportation to anywhere in the city. A bit pricey for the room which was close quarters, but how much time are you going to spend in the room when Amsterdam is just outside your front door?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cup a la Cake a few blocks west of the hotel on Raadhuisstraat has fantastic cupcakes and treats and best of all, a daily sandwich special for one euro! Closed on Sunday.

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irish traveller
Business
Dublin, Co. Dublin, Ireland
Jan 23, 2012

Splendid city centre hotel

I travlled to Amsterdam in January and have visited the city on many occasions. This hotel was ideally located in the city centre and I was given a lovely first floor room overlooking Nieuwezijds Vorburgwal. The staff were very pleasant and the amenities were top class. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NateBoston
Business
Boston
Jan 23, 2012

Overall a good experience

Stayed for two nights in January 2012 (single guy). Overall I had a good experience. Everything was clean and the staff was very nice. Small room, but typical for a European hotel. Nothing fancy - but served my purposes. Had two single beds pushed together. The best thing about the hotel was its location - within walking distance of Central Amsterdam and Centraal train station. There is a tram station right in front of the hotel. I didn't try the restaurant. The only complaint I had was that the room smelled "mildewy" my first night. I left the window open when I went out the next morning and when I returned the smell was gone. They are in the process of updating the AC in the rooms. Might be worth checking on before reserving if you are coming in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a tram pass at Centraal station - cheaper than paying on the train.

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Minoobie
Business
Baltimore, MD, USA
Jan 19, 2012

Awesome location and undergoing renovation

This hotel was at the heart of Amsterdam. My sister and I found it's location to be very convenient to all our planned acitivities. The hotel has a major tram and bus stop out front to make any length of travel within the city easy. The rooms were fairly clean, the wifi was free with good strength, and the staff were knowledgeable. The only drawback was at this particular time in January the AC and water were undergoing renovations so there were short time blocks when water couldn't be used. This wasn't too inconvenient and we received a discount on the restaurant for this trouble. Renovations aside, I would say that this hotel is a good value any time of the year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The Pancake Bakery is awesome, but it doesn't open until 12pm.

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayCB
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Jan 8, 2012

Excellent location, everything else pretty average

We stayed in a perfectly nice room with two single beds, although it was so small they were pushed together as though a double...so sort of an odd choice overall. The location was excellent and couldn't have been better. 10-minute walk or 2-minute tram ride from the central station and immediately across from the Royal Palace. The website claimed it was a four-star hotel, but it's really more of a three and half-star hotel. The staff fell over themselves to be helpful, but they were a little surprised when I asked them basic things about Amsterdam, which seemed odd to me. They spent a lot of time (diligently) looking things up on the internet for us that I sort of expected someone working in a hotel lobby to know

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Facing the hotel, about 300 feet to the left is a large grocery and liquor store where you can get anything you need. There is a "coffee shop" to the right by about 600 feet.

Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linds3d11
Business
Davenport, IA
Nov 29, 2011

Awesome location and decent size!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a middle end hotel (not a hostel) in a perfect location. We arrived in winter and were able to walk to almost everything we wanted to see. Dam Square is one minute away, Red Light District 5 minutes, Anne Frank Haus and Prinsengracht 10 minute walk. the food is good and the staff was friendly! I'd stay here if I ever come back to Ammie!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy water and soda to drink in the grocery store which is on the same side of the street, a couple of blocks down. You will save a ton versus buying on the street or in hotel!!

Back to menu Return to top