$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176, Amsterdam, 1012 SJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Proctor
Business
Hertfordshire
Aug 12, 2012

Great location hotel

Fantastic location, close to places of interest and good travel links. Rooms were a decent size and very clean. Towels need to be upgraded to make bathroom amenities truely 4 star. Would choose this hotel for future trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy Dutch equivalent of Oyster card for easy travel on trains and trams.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
25 y o male
Business
Helsinki, Finland
Jul 27, 2012

Die Port van Cleve, July -12

First of all, NOT really a four star hotel. So if you wish to stay in a true 4 star hotel with matching service, rooms and overall quality, this is not your best choice. Rooms are small'ish with basic equipment. During our stay it seemed that pretty much everything was broken... the elevator, air conditioning, safe, water boiler etc. Location is superb, and if you mostly use your hotel room to sleeping and showering, like me and my friend did, you' ll be happy with Die Port Van Cleve. Rooms were cleaned everyday and the staff was friendly most of the time. Remember city tax which you have to pay when you check out! Slightly overpriced 3 star hotel with excellent location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
travellin okies
Business
tulsa ok
Jul 16, 2012

family trip

clean hotel, friendly front desk staff. We were a family of seven travelling and had three rooms in same hall. All rooms were clean and the wifi was the best we had in Europe! Location is perfect for families, close to Dam square but far enough from Red Light to keep younger kids away. Would recommend this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

nice ice cream place right around the corner (behind hotel) and great little bakery across street. Also right on the 5 tram so extremely easy to go around the city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Silly Goose
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 30, 2012

Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

The location is absolutely superb right across from the Royal Palace. You don't need a taxi to get around and I was able to visit museums, red light district and various coffee shops all on foot. There are plenty of large shopping plazas, restaurants, and small gift shops. The staff at the hotel were helpful, however they tended to assume that I knew certain things about the way of life on Holland, which I did not, so don't be afraid to ask questions. The amenities were ok, although Internet was not always available and I had to go to the adjacent restaurant to get ice (no ice machine on the floor).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

During the week the bars in the Red Light District close anywhere from 2330 to 0030. On the weekend they stay open much later, until 0500 so leave early during the week to make sure you are not rushing from bar to bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time Amsterdam
Business
Michigan
Jun 22, 2012

Relative to what?

From what I heard from the locals, hotels in Amsterdam tend to be a bit lacking in general, and this was no exception. The price was high, the air conditioning throughout the hotel and the main elevator were being upgraded for the duration of our stay with no prior notification, and the room was cramped. On the other hand, the space there was was quite well utilized, the location is amazing, the room was clean and the staff were quite good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Mar 23, 2012

Good hotel in Amsterdam center

This hotel has the perfect location in the center of Amsterdam, close to all the important attractions. Close by also are good restaurants and good shopping. The buffet breakfast in the morning was excellent. There can be some noise heard during the night from outside, my room was in the back of the hotel near a bar. However, I would stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Good shopping and restaurants in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cichlasoma
Business
Chicago, IL
Mar 5, 2012

great city, great hotel!

The hotel was very nice and perfectly located. Friendly staff, top notch restaurant on site, bar, snacks..pretty much everything you could need. Shopping, coffee shops, red light district all within 5 minutes of walking. The rooms are a bit small, but you're not going to spend much time there anyway. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Damsk
Business
New York, NY, USA
Feb 10, 2012

Great Location

Die Port Van Cleve has an excellent location just off Dam Square. Easy to find from Central Station even by foot. Near by grocery store provided snacks and sandwiches for a nice compliment to eating out. Located on a "trolley street" for easy transportation to anywhere in the city. A bit pricey for the room which was close quarters, but how much time are you going to spend in the room when Amsterdam is just outside your front door?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cup a la Cake a few blocks west of the hotel on Raadhuisstraat has fantastic cupcakes and treats and best of all, a daily sandwich special for one euro! Closed on Sunday.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irish traveller
Business
Dublin, Co. Dublin, Ireland
Jan 23, 2012

Splendid city centre hotel

I travlled to Amsterdam in January and have visited the city on many occasions. This hotel was ideally located in the city centre and I was given a lovely first floor room overlooking Nieuwezijds Vorburgwal. The staff were very pleasant and the amenities were top class. Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NateBoston
Business
Boston
Jan 23, 2012

Overall a good experience

Stayed for two nights in January 2012 (single guy). Overall I had a good experience. Everything was clean and the staff was very nice. Small room, but typical for a European hotel. Nothing fancy - but served my purposes. Had two single beds pushed together. The best thing about the hotel was its location - within walking distance of Central Amsterdam and Centraal train station. There is a tram station right in front of the hotel. I didn't try the restaurant. The only complaint I had was that the room smelled "mildewy" my first night. I left the window open when I went out the next morning and when I returned the smell was gone. They are in the process of updating the AC in the rooms. Might be worth checking on before reserving if you are coming in the summer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a tram pass at Centraal station - cheaper than paying on the train.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top