$133 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 7, 2015 Check-out: Jun 8, 2015

Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 176, Amsterdam, 1012 SJ

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
80 out of 80
Amenities:
3.4
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.8

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Craggums
Business
Newcastle, UK
May 30, 2014

Atmospheric

Good hotel in great location right next to Dam Square in Amsterdam. Needed Superior room to fit an extra bed in for our daughter - it was a good size with good bathroom. Didn't use restaurant as breakfast was extra and expensive. There is a food supermarket very nearby, so bought fresh food there for breakfast. Hotel bar was very atmospheric. Staff were very helpful - would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Food supermarket within 100 metres of hotel. Try La Place attached to V&D department store near flower market for fantastic range of self service food - surely something for everyone there!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JohnQ
Business
Coventry, UK
May 10, 2014

Great hotel

We stayed 3nights and we're very happy. Fantastic location just minutes walk from Central Station. Lovely hotel with a lot of history and style . The staff are extremely polite and helpful. Our room was clean everyday and the bathroom modern. Our only complaint is that we had 2 single beds pushed together that needed replacing - although the mattresses had been covered with a thicker layer, the originals underneath dipped quite significantly in ether middle! But overall a good stay and we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
t615
Business
KY
Dec 26, 2013

great honeymoon lodging

We booked this hotel online and had a WONDERFUL experience. The beds were clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and impeccably clean. The WiFi helped us to stay in touch with friends and family stateside. I would stay here again on trips to Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Anne Frank House is only three canals away and well worth the walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Swarmsmile
Business
NYC
Oct 31, 2013

Meer Liefde

Hotel is located in very good location in close reach of everything. amenities in room are perfect. I had a superior room and would recommend that. The only two items that needed improvement was WIFI was weak and dropped very often. Add a repeater on each floor to increase strength or add a switch on each floor. Most staff were nice except for one who forgot the guest are on vacation they flew hrs across the ocean and are tired. If you have no room ready its fine but maybe hotel can offer a drink or a discount to lunch or a nice kind you know what we will try our best to help. I told them i worked in a hotel before and was not kidding you treat your guest kindly with hope not dry character. Yes check in is at 2PM many hotels accomodate because they know flights don't follow that and you check out way earlier anyways. For the rest its a great hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Use tours of Amsterdam to book some stuff they are a short walk on damstreet . Also keep track of museum closing hrs because they close early. Go to centraal station and do mac bike tours. The tour guide is from US speaks perfect english is loads of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wild Buffalo Bill
Business
Sprinfied, virginia
Jun 26, 2013

good way to end our vacation

Location was great and staff was very helpful in recommending and helping us get reservations. Use their recommended restaurant list it would be nice if they had a weight room and also for a single sheet for those who don't like the duvet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Derry
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Dec 7, 2012

Disappointed

We were especting something magical - give the hotel's history and promotional copy - but were disappointed. The location is excellent - close to Dam Square and the shops & restaurants as well as being in walking distance of 'must-sees' like Anne Frank's House. Our room was extraordinarily small: my wife and I kept bumping into each other when moving around the bed or trying to get clothes from the wardrobe. This really spoiled the whole hotel experience for us. We had intended dining in the well-promoted Restaurant but when we arrived there were just two tables occupied and a dreadful lack of atmosphere. Instead we had the 'numbered steak' in the bar - which had marginally more activity. The staff generally were pleasant and helpful - but the items mentioned above meant a special birthday surprise fell flat on its face.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
A.Berlin
Business
Vienna
Nov 20, 2012

Very nice dutch experience

Very nice hotel in the center, easy to get to the airport via train. Friendly staff, very good service, nice locations nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JONE
Business
Coochiemudlo Island, Qld
Nov 3, 2012

Ideally situated !

Had a 2 night stopover. My cousin was allowed to share my room at very little cost! Staff were excellent, even helped this 76yr old with her wifi ! The hotel is beautifully situated near everything, we had a wonderful 2 days stay. Would certainly recommend to anyone. High standards throughout. We had a very hectic day with 2 coach and a canal trip, but a great way to see Amsterdam. Even took a walk around the Red Light District at night! Very safe, and a real eye opener for 2 old ladies! Only thing wrong...not enough time, MUST come back again soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Red light district is a must for newcomers to Amsterdam. Also a canal trip at night is wonderful. Walking shoes, an umbrella and dressing in layers is a must but fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pleased guests
Business
Columbia, MD
Sep 25, 2012

Great start to a vacation

This hotel was great! The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent, with great service. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown, an easy 20-minute walk from Central Train Station. The room was small (some might say cramped) but well-equipped and very clean. We were very comfortable. We would definitely stay here again if we return to Amsterdam.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We walked everywhere, including to the Rijksmuseum, Rembrandt House, Anne Frank House, and Resistance Museum. While some, like the Rijksmuseum might be too far for some people, it is doable on foot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Die Port van Cleve Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel mom and kids
Business
Cleveland, OH
Sep 15, 2012

Perfect Stop

Aside from the tram track construction happening directly in front of the hotel, it was perfect. My 11-year old son and I walked from Centraal station to the hotel with our baggage - easy and close!! It is the perfect location for sight seeing, shopping, museums, etc. the room was small but comfortable, extremely clean, and perfect for jet-lagging travelers. The staff is fabulous and the breakfast was delicious. Great location, great staff, clean, lovely. Enjoy your stay!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Anne Frank house is so close, as are the canal tours!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top