$114 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 12, 2015 Check-out: Jan 15, 2015

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
Damrak 93-94, 1012 Lp, Amsterdam, 1012 LP
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
58 reviews
5 days trip in Amsterdam

The hotel is situated in perfect location next to Dam and close to the Central Station! Nice and... See full review

  • Charalampos
  • Apr 25, 2014
De Roode Leeuw

The staff are fantastic. The room was small (what does one expect in an old building), but... See full review

  • xjrs
  • Aug 17, 2013
Historic elegance, classic comforts in the heart of old-world Amsterdam
Built in 1911, the De Roode Leeuw Amsterdam Hotel offers contemporary style, plush comforts and high-tech amenities in a historic, exquisitely preserved setting, only steps from the majestic Dam Square. Guests enjoy fine international cuisine at the elegant in-house restaurant, dining either amidst the immaculate wood-paneled interior or the scenic outdoor terrace. An in-lobby flight departure monitor, limited free Wi-Fi, a multi-lingual staff and concierge services round out a host of amenities that make each stay pleasurable.
Highlights
  • A block from premium sights, dining and shopping on Dam Square
  • The landmark De Roode Leeuw Restaurant serves regional, vegetarian and French specialties
  • Cozy, historic guest rooms
Rooms

The De Roode Leeuw's 79 sleek, comfortable rooms range from budget single rooms for the cost-conscious solo traveler, standard-size comfort rooms (smoking and non-smoking available) and the more spacious superior rooms and junior suites. All rooms are furnished with LCD TVs, CD players and offer limited free Wi-Fi service (higher-bandwidths are available for a fee).


While each budget single room comes with a twin bed, all other De Roode Leeuw Hotel room varieties come with either king beds or two twin beds. Superior rooms offer extra sitting areas to relax and the oversized junior suites afford spacious living and bathrooms.

Features

The De Roode Leeuw Restaurant is a time-honored fixture of classic Dutch cuisine along with excellent vegetarian and French dishes. Guests can enjoy their meals either amidst the restaurant's rich wood interiors and displays of Dutch antiques or on the outdoor terrace overlooking Amsterdam's scenic commercial district.


Guests can keep track of their itineraries courtesy of the lobby's flight departure monitor and stay connected via Wi-Fi access (fees apply) available throughout the hotel. The De Roode Leeuw Hotel is also Green Key Certified due to its dedication to sustainable practices.

Transportation
  • Schiphol Airport shuttle bus (fees apply)
  • Amsterdam Central Station (1.5 mi/2.5 km)
  • Amsterdam Schiphol Airport (14.5/23.5 km)
Attractions
    • Royal Palace/Dam Square (1 block)
    • Amsterdam Flower Market (Bloemenmarkt) (1 mi/2 km)
    • Rembrandt House Museum (Rembrandthuis) (1 mi/2 km)
    • Anne Frank House (Anne Frankhuis) (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Begijnhof (1.5 mi/2 km)
    • Rijksmuseum (3 mi/5 km)
    • Van Gogh Museum (3 mi/5 km)
    Business
    • 24-hour business center
    • 2 state-of-the-art boardrooms
    Polices & Fees
    • A 5% city tax is added to each stay at checkout

    This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

    Recommendations for you

    Customers who viewed De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

    Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
    Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

    De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

    Budget Single Room
    This non smoking room type offers one single bed, air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, pay-per-view-movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone. No children permitted.
    Standard Room Double/Twin
    This non smoking room type offers a twin bed or a double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, pay-per-view-movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
    Superior Room Double/Twin
    These non smoking rooms are more spacious and offer a twin bed or a double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, pay-per-view-movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.

    Amenities

    • Free internet
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Elevators
    Dining
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    Room service
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    Childcare Service
    In-Room Safe
    Tour desk
    Conference facilities
    Doctor on call
    Gift shop
    Internet
    Free internet
    Accessibility
    Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
    Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

    Nearby points of interest

    • De Bijenkorf: 0 mi
    • Dam Square: 0.1 mi
    • National Monument: 0.1 mi
    • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
    • New Church: 0.1 mi
    • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
    • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
    • Magna Plaza: 0.1 mi
    • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
    • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
    • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
    • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
    • Old Church: 0.2 mi
    • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
    • De Bijenkorf: 0 mi
    • Dam Square: 0.1 mi
    • National Monument: 0.1 mi
    • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
    • New Church: 0.1 mi
    • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
    • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
    • Magna Plaza: 0.1 mi
    • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
    • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
    • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
    • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
    • Old Church: 0.2 mi
    • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
    • Single: 0.2 mi
    • Absolute Danny: 0.2 mi
    • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
    • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
    • Sex Museum: 0.3 mi
    • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
    • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
    • East India House: 0.3 mi
    • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.3 mi
    • Amsterdams Museum: 0.3 mi
    • Waag: 0.3 mi
    • Herengracht: 0.3 mi
    • Hans Appenzeller: 0.3 mi
    • PGC Hajenius: 0.3 mi
    • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
    • Kalverstraat: 0.3 mi
    • Nieuwmarkt: 0.3 mi
    • The narrowest house: 0.3 mi
    • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.3 mi
    • Begijnhof: 0.3 mi
    • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
    • Zuiderkerk: 0.3 mi
    • English Reformed Church: 0.4 mi
    • Begijnhof chapel: 0.4 mi
    • The Whale: 0.4 mi
    • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
    • De Rode Hoed: 0.4 mi
    • The American Book Center: 0.4 mi
    • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.4 mi
    • Book Market: 0.4 mi

    Dining

    Restaurant
    The restaurant, De Roode Leeuw serves regional Dutch specialties as well as international dishes. Once one -have become acquainted with the delightful creations of The Netherlands however, will most certainly be convinced. Superb wines and magnificent old-fashioned local liquors (recipes which are over 300 years old) are available. Guests can watch the world go by on the terrace of the brassiere, De Roode Leeuw, overlooking the colourful Dam Square. One can choose from a large range of drinks, typical Dutch snacks, lunch dishes, coffee varieties, pastries and ice creams. Brassiere De Roode Leeuw is one of the oldest (dating back to 1930) heated and air-conditioned terraces in Amsterdam, making it a perfect place to use as a meeting point or a haven in busy Amsterdam. Buffet breakfast is not included and costs EUR 15.00 per person.

    Meeting facilities

    Meeting Info
    Whether it's for a high-level business meeting or a small seminar, the team of Hotel Amsterdam-De Roode Leeuw concentrates on the details so that you can focus on the bigger picture. Our 2 Soundproof and climate controlled Boardrooms can host 12 persons each and one of the rooms has an adjacent office with Broadband Internet access. To ensure the success of any meeting at Hotel Amsterdam-De Roode Leeuw, high-tech audio-visual equipment is available as well as full- and half-day meeting package for a minimum of eight people, inclusive of a luncheon.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    1500
    Check-out:
    1100

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

    Back to menu Return to top

    Guest Reviews (58)

    Ratings and reviews for De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Overall score

    3.8 / 5
    5.01.0
    58 out of 58
    Amenities:
    3.5
    Room cleanliness:
    4.1
    Hotel staff:
    4.3
    Room comfort:
    3.7
    Location:
    4.8
    Value:
    3.8

    86% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    pelger
    Business
    dayton, OH
    Sep 22, 2009

    extremelly convenient

    This was a very positive experience. The location is unbeatable - close to everything in Amsterdam. You can walk to the hotel from the Central Station. It takes 10-15 min so you don't depend on public transportation and don't need a taxi to get from and to the airport. Once you are there you are within 5 min walking distance to restaurants, shopping, boat tours, and Red Lights district. There is also a tram station right in front of the hotel if you need to get to the museums. We spent a lot of time hanging out in the Dam square, which is just 50 meters away from the hotel. There is always something going on there. We had a good view of the square from our room and we could watch people and street performers from the window. The staff was very friendly. We arrived at 10 AM and our room was ready even though the check in time is normally at 3 pm. The room was clean, just a little old. The bathroom was nicely remodeled, although a little small. The internet is not included in the price, which is a minus. I was a little worried before we went that it would be noisy, being so close to the city center and the tram line. But the windows are sound-proof and it was reasonably quiet especially during the night. Overall we were very pleased and would choose the hotel again without hesitation.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    perennial queen
    Business
    lancaster, pa
    Jun 15, 2009

    heart of old town Amsterdam

    Hotel was very clean and accomadating. Restaurnat was very nice as well. Perfect location to shopping and all the sights of old town. Would stay there again. Good price for the premier location.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Misky
    Business
    Spring Hill, FL
    Jul 22, 2009

    Great Location and Comfortable Room

    We loved this hotel! It was surprisingly quiet and cozy for such a busy location. Our room was very comfortable - small when compared with American hotel rooms, but plenty of room for us. Bed was exceedingly comfortable.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

    Head over to Gravenstraat to a tiny gem of a pub called Cafe Belgique. You'll notice it by the little gnome sign that says "La Chouffe." Get there early because the place fills up fast!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Woodbridge, VA
    Aug 6, 2010

    Excellent location and great view!

    Wonderful location for shopping and site seeing. Hotel staff was very helpful. Small rooms but comfortable with a busy city view and a streetcar stop in front of the building. The Restaurant had great food, but the service was poor: slow and they seemed uninterested in serving us.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: In Hotel

    Get your attraction tickets through the reception desk as soon as possible. With the tickets you do not wait in any lines. Van Gogh Museum had a line a few blocks long. Since we had tickets we went to the front and were let in immediately. We were too late for Anne Frank House tickets and waited an hour in line to get in.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Georgia
    Aug 17, 2010

    Hotel Amsterdam

    I loved the location of Hotel Amsterdam. It is right in the middle of EVERYTHING. The staff was friendly, helpful, quick, and very knowledgeable about the city. The rooms were small, however, most rooms in Europe are small. We did not stay in the hotel very much and there were only two of us. It worked well for us. We did not mind the small as we have been in smaller rooms in other European cities. Safety is a key for me and here it worked well. Lots of eating places (fast food and restaurant) within 5 minute walk. Excellent food on buffet for breakfast. It is a ten minute walk to Central Station and water transportation. Ground transportation has a trolley stop at the hotel front. Trolleys were easy to use and maps from the hotel worked well for us along with instructions from the helpful staff. I just can not say enough good things about the location, food, hospitality and safety. People in Amsterdam were more than willing to help us find were we needed to go on the trolley. I would not hesitate to book there again the next time we are in Amsterdam.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Time-saving tip: In Hotel

    Buy your Ann Frank House tickets ahead of time and other museums because the lines are long (or were for us). The hotel sells them right there at the counter along with free discount coupons for several things in Amsterdam.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    "Wolf" and Joan
    Business
    Wantagh, Long Island, New York
    Aug 29, 2010

    Location...

    Terrific location right on Damrak Street in the center of city. Saved big by taking the train directly from Schipol Airport since the hotel is only short walk from Central Train Station. So much to see.... musts are a 'Canal Cruise', Anne Frank House, the many Museums, Vondelpark, the beautiful and picturesque Jordan district and the infamous and very interesting Red Light District. If you like to "people watch", there were many 'street performers' and interesting people to keep anyone fascinated! But watch out for the bicycles and bike paths.. the locals do get mad if you walk or block them and be sure to wear comfortable shoes, as most of the streets and walkways are cobblestone. If walking is not for you, there are numerous trams to virtually every destination worth seeing. On one day, we took a full-day bus tour that stopped at a small cheese making farm that showed how Gouda cheese was made, we visited windsmills, fishing villages, a small clog making store where you witnessed them making the wooden shoes, a Delft ceramic store where they described the process of how Deftware is made, a trip to The Hague and an stop at Mauradam. If you do leave the Amsterdam area be sure to visit the 'miniature city' of Mauradam, where every one of the exhibits in the 'city' is exactly 1/25th of it's actual size. It was quite impressive! Amsterdam is really a very picturesque city. Whether it's just going to the coffee shops, sitting at an outdoor cafe or just taking in the sights of the city, the 100 canals and 1,000 bridges that encompass the this old and historic city make it must destination for any traveler.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    Wear comfortable shoes.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Powderhouse
    Business
    Ystad Sweden (summer); Boston MA (winter
    Jul 29, 2009

    Excellent hotel on a nasty street.

    Our room was quite large and very comfortable. We were just one flight up and in the rear, so there was a lot of street noise during the day, but at night it was quiet after, say, eleven o'clock. Service was super, the front desk helped us with every request. There were only two negatives. First, the hotel is very centrally and conveniently located but the street it's on -- Damrak -- is noisy, dirty, crowded, and displays a lot of the worst of what Amsterdam has to offer. (Fortunately, in five minutes you can get to the areas that make Amsterdam otherwise so charming and beautiful.) Second, we needed to print out our boarding passes the day before our departure, and although my wife knew exactly how to do this, the clerk insisted on doing it herself -- without success. So then the clerk suggested that my wife use the hotel's "business center", where, she said, my wife could use the computer free if she was on the internet for ten minutes or less. She did just that. But when we checked out, we were charged 7.50 euros for use of the internet. When we objected, we were told that we had been misinformed the day before, that there was always a charge for use of the internet. A minor complaint, but still a bit annoying. One other thing. I left an item of clothing in the room (only the second time I've done this in 72 years) and when I called the hotel to have it sent on (to Sweden, not across the Atlantic), the hotel insisted on a credit card number in order to charge me. I suppose that's not unfair -- and I'm grateful they were willing to take the trouble -- but considering what we paid for the room, and the minimal cost to the hotel, it struck me as a bit petty. On the whole, I'd have to say De Roode Leeuw is an excellent hotel -- comfortable, clean, spacious, air conditioned, and friendly.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

    The world-famous Concertgebouw gives 900 concerts per year in its various venues. Mostly classical (of the highest quality) but some popular music as well. Getting there is easy -- a ten-minute tram ride. And the cost of the tram is included in the ticket, as is the cost of a drink (wine, beer, coffee, tea) before the concert and at each intermission. So for 39 euros each, we got transportation, three drinks each, and a splendid performance of Bach's cello suites by a world-class cellist. A terrific evening at a bargain price.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Dougald
    Business
    Amsterdam
    Nov 16, 2014

    Good Value

    Excellent location in old town centre: within one to two minutes of two tram stops: Tram and museum tickets at reception: comfortable and clean rooms: very helpful staff

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    JMCK
    Business
    UK
    Sep 5, 2011

    Excellent Central Location

    A wonderful location, very friendly staff and at a good price. Also a fantastic resturant well worth trying.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    5
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    KPS2011
    Business
    Amman, Jordan
    Dec 30, 2011

    Amazing Trip

    My husband and I booked The Hotel Amsterdam for our week-long stay in Amsterdam. The hotel is very centrally located and is within walking distance of pretty much everything - the van Gogh museum, Anne Frank House, central train station, Allard Pierson museum, etc. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Anything we needed, was provided. For example, the code for the free internet stopped working. I went down to the desk, and they fixed the problem right away. They were ready with information, and were very personable. The room itself was perfect for our needs. Small by comparison to American hotel rooms, but very cozy. We also got a room right on the Dam square. We were able to people watch from the Juliet balcony.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Room cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Room comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Try Sie Joe's Indonesian restaurant behind Niew Kerk: A tiny place, run by a family. Also, Burger Bar. They have the best fries I've ever had!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top