De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam ★★★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$136
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 21, 2016 Check-out: Feb 24, 2016

Great stay in a wonderful city

Would recommend Tue, Mar 26, 2013
Overall I would recommend staying at this hotel to anyone, particularly a first-time visitor to Amsterdam. I was able to check-in earlier than usual, after arriving on a red-eye flight. The hotel location was central to everything. The room was a bit cozy, but relatively large for European standards. Hotel staff was more than accommodating. Only marginal problem was the one and only elevator at the site - a bit slow and usually busy, and I found myself using the stairs now and then.

| New York Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great location!

Would recommend Wed, Mar 13, 2013
Rooms are clean and very modern. The bathtub is big which is unique for Europe. Even with the location your room is quiet. They are doing construction on the stairs but I'm not staying there for the stairs.

Nightlife hint

Wine and Bubbles Wine Bar

| Austin, Tx Singles

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Not a four star hotel

Would not recommend Thu, Jan 31, 2013
When we arrived there, it was freezing cold, and becuase we had stopped on the way tothe hotel and grabbed some food, we were told we could not bring it in the "hotel". So we stood outside finishing our food before we checked in. The hotel staff was not very helpful in finding out anything in the city, and was not even aware of where the nearest laundry was. I guess they expected me to spend $200.00 on their service. I found a local cleaner and had all my laundry done for $10.00. There was also construction in the hotel, which was not mentioned to us at all when we checked in, we found out the next morning when we heard the banging from above, and noticed all the workers in the lobby using the only elevator in the building, extremely unprofessional, and all this from a 4 star hotel! Never gain! Otherwise the location was good, a bit touristy but in walking distance to everything, but then again, Amsterdam is small and everything is close to everything.

Money saver

Dont get your laundry done there, about 3 blocks away you can find a laundry that will wash, dry and fold for a fraction of the cost of the hotel.

| New york Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Good Hotel, Great Location!

Would recommend Thu, Sep 6, 2012
We have stayed at this hotel twice now and have very much enjoyed our stays there. The location itself is ideal for the convenience of the train station, Dam Square, and within walking distance of any of the sights a visitor might wish to see/visit. Our room was somewhat small on both occasions , but comfortable enough, if like us, it is used as a base. Tea and coffee provisions are minimal, and whilst the bathroom was very clean and modern, this too was quite small. The overall standard of cleanliness was very good and we would have given this hotel five stars for that, had we not found a piece of rubbish under the bed from a previous occupants stay. The staff were pleasant, polite and helpful, and we would not hessitate to recommend this hotel to others. I was however disappointed to read a response by the hotel manager to a review by someone else on a different website, where the manager stated that as from January 2013, the hotel would no longer be offering smoking rooms, although obviously for the non-smoker this will no doubt be a bonus.

| Bolton, England Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Fantastic getaway for two

Would recommend Fri, Aug 17, 2012
English speaking staff. Good food at good prices. Near perfect location, close to everything, night life, shops, train station. Great experience. Would stay there again. Safe, clean, responsive to my needs.

Nightlife hint

Visit Dam Square after dark. Meet a lot of friendly people looks to do the same types of things. Safe place to socialize.

| philadelphia, pennsylvania Friends

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

No wifi, 1 person room but two beds

Would recommend Tue, Jul 10, 2012
No wifi but it was promised. 1 person sized room but two beds. The courtesy of the hotel staff improved but we found them 'stand-off-ish' and hostile at check-in. I didn't want to say anything to my friend about it in-case he thought I was nuts, but he actually commented on the hostile welcome after we reached our room. All in all amazing location, room comfort low, staff could have been better, value - pretty OK, but really annoying that they had no working wifi connection as I brought laptop and ipad with plans to keep incommunicado with the world, only to find out that that wasn't possible.

| UK Friends

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 2 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Great location

Would recommend Tue, Jul 10, 2012
The location of this hotel couldn't be better. (Just steps from Dam Square, two long blocks from Central Station). Nice hotel with Western Amenities. Just wish more hotels in Europe would use a shower curtain..

Shopping hint

Across the street is one of the main Shopping Department Stores. They have extended hours on Thursdays (till 9pm).

| Atlanta, GA Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Clean and Comfortable, Great Location

Would recommend Tue, Jun 26, 2012
Small, simple hotel. Walking distance from the train station, hence no need to take a taxi to/from the airport. Although Damrak is an ugly tourist trap, the location couldn't be more convenient. Everything in the city is a short to medium walk away. The room was beautifully furnished and very clean. It seems to have been recently remodeled. The hotel staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and very diligent. We did not try the restaurant downstairs since breakfast ends at 10AM and the waiter was in a bad mood. The WIFI was slow (256kbps), but free. The room had a view to a commercial street, so there was a little bit of noise during the day (the brand new windows sealed off most of the noise). At night it was very quiet. The beds were very comfortable. Although I agree with the other reviewers in that it is more of a high 3-star than a 4-star experience, I thought it was a great value. I would definitely stay there again.

Dining

Try Cafe Luxembourg, in The Spui. Lovely breakfast.

| Ponce, Puerto Rico L.G.B.T.

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Would recommend Mon, Jun 25, 2012
De Roode Leeuw Hotel in Amsterdam is in the very heart of Amsterdam. If you want to feel the pulse of the city this is the place to stay. A few blocks from Centraal Station you can walk and explore while you make your way to the hotel. My husband and I thought the hotel staff was very knowledgable, courteous.and friendly. We loved our vacation, museums were in walking distance and many restaurants to choose from. If you want to feel safe and invited in Amsterdam stay at this hotel and just like choosing a home remember these three words location, location,vacation!

Shopping hint

Wear very good walking shoes and write down the name of shops you may want to return to during your stay. Because in Amstedam there is a surprise around every corner!

| New Jersey Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 5 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 5 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Perfect location, not the best rooms

Would recommend Thu, May 31, 2012
Great location, right by Dam Square in the middle of town! And it wasn't too loud at night. Easy walk from Centraal station as well. The AC was extremely comforting on a warm day! The room was on the small side, and the shower doesn't really have a door, so after you wash up, there's water all over the bath room.

Entertainment hint

In the late afternoon / early eve, there's a distillery tasting room right on the side of the Grand Krasnapolsky (right off Dam Square) called Wynand Focknick, enter the sliding doors on the side of the hotel and walk straight back, you'll see it. Definitely worth stopping in for a drink!

| Chicago, IL Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 3 /5