$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 28, 2015

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 93-94, 1012 Lp, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bhyug
Business
Colorado
May 10, 2013

Nice getaway

Hotel was centrally located and had a quick friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rightkmd
Business
Arlington, VA, USA
May 14, 2013

Perfect location

This is one of my favorite places to stay when I am in Amsterdam because it is perfectly located on the Dam, within very easy walking distance from the Central Station, and quite convenient to everything. Attentive staff; free wifi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel restaurant is consistently good and should be visited at least once during a trip to the city.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mezz
Business
Crawley, West Sussex
May 22, 2013

Lovely facilities but breakfast would have been good

The facilitis within the room were wonderful (they even had an alarm which doubled as an ipod/iphone charger). The beds were comfortable although the matress was prone to moving and sliding off the bed during the night. The bathroom facilities were good and the shower was lovely, warm and powerful. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The location was very central with all amentities close by. We could have done with some more tea,coffee and creamer in the room and for the price, I would have expected breakfast to have been included.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KMGB
Business
Surrey UK
Aug 30, 2013

Basic but very comfortable

Small rooms but very comfortable and clean. Good central location a short walk from Central Station and within easy walk of places of interest. No traffic noise. Good restaurant. Excelled breakfast. Friendly, helpfull staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
virginia
Jun 27, 2011

worth it

Great place from which to explore Amsterdam. Right off Dam Square. Tram stops right in front of the hotel and train station (to and from the airport) is a 5 minute walk. This place is safe, clean and quiet. Friendly staff. Rooms are pretty small with nothing special in terms of amenities, although the bathrooms are quite nice. Free wi-fi. Good lodging at a fair price...I'd recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Restaurant at the Corner Hotel and Cafe is really good...baked mussels or veal...both delicious. Reasonably priced.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HF in NJ
Business
South Brunswick, NJ
Jul 10, 2009

Very convenient hotel

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was small but clean and well maintained. Very convenient location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Jul 3, 2011

Amazing Location, Comfortable Hotel

[...].The hotel is centrally located, right next to Amsterdam's most famous square (Dam Square). Also, just two blocks from the Red Light District, the shopping strip, and many restaurants. Walking distance to anywhere in the city. 10-minute walk to the train station. The beds were very comfortable. The room had two large windows that opened. Safe in the room. Clean and safe surroundings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston MA
Jul 23, 2011

De Roode Leeue Amsterdam

(+) Very good location---10 minutes walk to Central Station. Just in the corner of Dam square. (-) I booked a non-smoking room, however, they made me spent the first night in a smoking-room---The smell inside the room was really-really bad, I couldn't sleep. I went to the front desk and asked to move me into a different room. He said that it was the only room available that night. They moved me to another room for night 2 & 3. I had breakfast on my first day. I found it expensive and not worthy (there were flies in the room!). Had I to be back in Amsterdam, I wouldn't stay there again. I came to Ammsterdam to participate in a large conference. A friend of mine booked a room in a large hotel with a Polish name, which was just in front of mine. Excellent place. I had breakfast there on day 2 and 3 and enjoy their tea time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bargains in the Shopping Mall next to the Central Station and excellent cafes in the area.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daviddj7
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 26, 2009

Hotem Amsterdam DE Roode Leeuw

It's a very nice place in the center of town withing easy walking distance of the train station. My single room was TINY but servicable but the staff at the front desk was very helpful in assisting me to find my way around the city. For the price I paid, I think that some kind of breakfast should be included. Also, internet is $7.50 Euros an hour in the business center and that is clearly out of line.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a place called "Fruiteria" just around the corner that makes great fresh squeezed fruit drinks and crepes that make a healthy way to start your day.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gaithersburg, MD
Jan 28, 2010

Good Hotel, Great Location, Excellent Pr

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are recently renovated and very clean, but a bit small for 2 people. The location was fabulous. Lots of places to walk to and an easy tram ride to the museums. Many restaurants, cafes and coffeeshops within easy walking distance. Good shopping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top