$164 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 31, 2015 Check-out: Apr 3, 2015

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 93-94, 1012 Lp, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 65
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Harrysson
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Centrally Located

The De Roode Leeuw was a good hotel for a first time visit to Amsterdam. The hotel is near Dam Square, centrally located, walking distance to all including the Central Station, and easy find at the end of the day. The staff could not be nicer, were well informed and all spoke English. Drawbacks - This is the main tourist area and was very noisy until 11:00 PM due to a festival. Lighting in the room was very poor. For a romantic vacation, stick to the canals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't miss the Rijks and the Van Gogh. Clothes shopping is great. Amsterdam is the most beautiful city (and we've been to Paris and Prague.)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jettie
Business
scotland
Dec 8, 2011

great location

Hotel location is central for getting around. Generally warm and clean room with a great bathroom. Down side is the 'hotel rules', we were told off when we walked into the hotel eating an ice cream! The male receptionist was quite brusk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gerrorfmoiland
Business
Devon, UK
Dec 14, 2011

Boys weekend/ Exhibition

Probably what you would expect, although I don't think it quite rates 4 stars., Perhaps a top 3 star. Thats comparing it to UK hotels of similar gradings. Staff very helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Room cleanliness excellent,but fairly standard furnishing wise. In fairness to the hotel they are carrying out rennovations to rooms so this might change.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Amsterdam isn't cheap. Its worth having a good look around. Cafes do excellent breakfasts for less than half the price of the Hotel. Hard Rock Cafe highly recommended. Hans Brinker Hostel interesting,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zilma
Business
Ponce, Puerto Rico
Jun 26, 2012

Clean and Comfortable, Great Location

Small, simple hotel. Walking distance from the train station, hence no need to take a taxi to/from the airport. Although Damrak is an ugly tourist trap, the location couldn't be more convenient. Everything in the city is a short to medium walk away. The room was beautifully furnished and very clean. It seems to have been recently remodeled. The hotel staff were friendly, knowledgeable, and very diligent. We did not try the restaurant downstairs since breakfast ends at 10AM and the waiter was in a bad mood. The WIFI was slow (256kbps), but free. The room had a view to a commercial street, so there was a little bit of noise during the day (the brand new windows sealed off most of the noise). At night it was very quiet. The beds were very comfortable. Although I agree with the other reviewers in that it is more of a high 3-star than a 4-star experience, I thought it was a great value. I would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Cafe Luxembourg, in The Spui. Lovely breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sonnylax
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 10, 2012

Great location

The location of this hotel couldn't be better. (Just steps from Dam Square, two long blocks from Central Station). Nice hotel with Western Amenities. Just wish more hotels in Europe would use a shower curtain..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Across the street is one of the main Shopping Department Stores. They have extended hours on Thursdays (till 9pm).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
taistk
Business
philadelphia, pennsylvania
Aug 17, 2012

Fantastic getaway for two

English speaking staff. Good food at good prices. Near perfect location, close to everything, night life, shops, train station. Great experience. Would stay there again. Safe, clean, responsive to my needs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Dam Square after dark. Meet a lot of friendly people looks to do the same types of things. Safe place to socialize.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mexican Joe
Business
Bolton, England
Sep 6, 2012

Good Hotel, Great Location!

We have stayed at this hotel twice now and have very much enjoyed our stays there. The location itself is ideal for the convenience of the train station, Dam Square, and within walking distance of any of the sights a visitor might wish to see/visit. Our room was somewhat small on both occasions , but comfortable enough, if like us, it is used as a base. Tea and coffee provisions are minimal, and whilst the bathroom was very clean and modern, this too was quite small. The overall standard of cleanliness was very good and we would have given this hotel five stars for that, had we not found a piece of rubbish under the bed from a previous occupants stay. The staff were pleasant, polite and helpful, and we would not hessitate to recommend this hotel to others. I was however disappointed to read a response by the hotel manager to a review by someone else on a different website, where the manager stated that as from January 2013, the hotel would no longer be offering smoking rooms, although obviously for the non-smoker this will no doubt be a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cain1978
Business
Austin, Tx
Mar 13, 2013

Great location!

Rooms are clean and very modern. The bathtub is big which is unique for Europe. Even with the location your room is quiet. They are doing construction on the stairs but I'm not staying there for the stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Wine and Bubbles Wine Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hoonah
Business
New York
Mar 26, 2013

Great stay in a wonderful city

Overall I would recommend staying at this hotel to anyone, particularly a first-time visitor to Amsterdam. I was able to check-in earlier than usual, after arriving on a red-eye flight. The hotel location was central to everything. The room was a bit cozy, but relatively large for European standards. Hotel staff was more than accommodating. Only marginal problem was the one and only elevator at the site - a bit slow and usually busy, and I found myself using the stairs now and then.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bhyug
Business
Colorado
May 10, 2013

Nice getaway

Hotel was centrally located and had a quick friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top