$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 11, 2015

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 93-94, 1012 Lp, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
61 reviews
2nd time at DRL

This was my second stay at the hotel. I chose it for a second stay because it enjoyed the view from... See full review

  • Jason S.
  • Dec 23, 2014
5 days trip in Amsterdam

The hotel is situated in perfect location next to Dam and close to the Central Station! Nice and... See full review

  • Charalampos
  • Apr 25, 2014
Located in the heart of Amsterdam, this hotel is uniquely positioned in the middle of the financial, business, shopping and entertainment districts. The famous and vivid Dam Square, one of the most important places of the old city centre, is only 50 metres away. There one will find the Royal Palace, the New Church as well as Madame Tussauds wax statues museum and Diamond stores. The Roode Leeuw combines style with a warm and intimate atmosphere. One will feel at home during stay in a hotel renowned for its hospitality. The building dates back to the 15th century and is located on Damrak in the heart of Amsterdam. Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw opened in 1911 and is one of the few still privately owned hotels of Amsterdam. Whether it's for a high-level business meeting or a small seminar, the team of Hotel Amsterdam-De Roode Leeuw concentrates on the details so that one can focus on the bigger picture. 2 Soundproof and climate controlled Boardrooms can host 12 persons each and one of the rooms has an adjacent office with Broadband Internet access. To ensure the success of any meeting at Hotel Amsterdam-De Roode Leeuw, high-tech audio-visual equipment is available as well as full- and half-day meeting package for a minimum of eight people, inclusive of a luncheon. The hotel offers Airport transfer(fee), baby sitting service(on request), banquet facilities, bar, business centre, conference facilities, dry cleaning, gift shop, Internet access( internet via TV is available in the hotel rooms and costs EUR 7.50 per hour), wireless internet access in lobby and restaurant, laundry service, lift/elevator, lobby, only non smoking rooms, reception, restaurant(1 breakfast room), room service, safe deposit box, secretarial services, smoke free hotel, tour desk, terrace, luggage storage, bicycle and rental and ironing service and shoe shine. Additional Charges: City tax of 5.5% not included in the rates to be paid by the guests upon check out! All our rooms are non-smoking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam Rooms

Budget Single Room
This non smoking room type offers one single bed, air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, pay-per-view-movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone. No children permitted.
Standard Room Double/Twin
This non smoking room type offers a twin bed or a double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, pay-per-view-movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.
Superior Room Double/Twin
These non smoking rooms are more spacious and offer a twin bed or a double bed with air conditioning, alarm clock, bathroom amenities, cable/satellite TV, color TV, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, heating, internet access, kettle, laundry service, mini bar, pay-per-view-movies, radio, room service, safe in room, tea and coffee making facilities and telephone.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest

Nearby points of interest

  • De Bijenkorf: 0 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Monument: 0.1 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Church: 0.1 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • De Bijenkorf: 0 mi
  • Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • National Monument: 0.1 mi
  • Gassan Dam Square: 0.1 mi
  • New Church: 0.1 mi
  • Condomerie Het Gulden Vlies: 0.1 mi
  • Royal Palace of Amsterdam: 0.1 mi
  • Magna Plaza: 0.1 mi
  • Berlage's Stock Exchange: 0.1 mi
  • Recycled Bicycles: 0.2 mi
  • Red Light District: 0.2 mi
  • Ertoic Discount Centre: 0.2 mi
  • Old Church: 0.2 mi
  • Hash Marihuana & Hemp Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Appie Baantjer Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Single: 0.2 mi
  • Absolute Danny: 0.2 mi
  • Erotic Museum: 0.2 mi
  • ArTicKs Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Sex Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Wonder Wood: 0.3 mi
  • Shan He Hya Temple: 0.3 mi
  • East India House: 0.3 mi
  • National Museum of Spectacles: 0.3 mi
  • Amsterdams Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Waag: 0.3 mi
  • Herengracht: 0.3 mi
  • Hans Appenzeller: 0.3 mi
  • PGC Hajenius: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences: 0.3 mi
  • Kalverstraat: 0.3 mi
  • Nieuwmarkt: 0.3 mi
  • The narrowest house: 0.3 mi
  • Allard Pierson Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Begijnhof: 0.3 mi
  • Het Huis met de Hoofden: 0.3 mi
  • Zuiderkerk: 0.3 mi
  • English Reformed Church: 0.4 mi
  • Begijnhof chapel: 0.4 mi
  • The Whale: 0.4 mi
  • The House with the Waterfall: 0.4 mi
  • De Rode Hoed: 0.4 mi
  • The American Book Center: 0.4 mi
  • Church of St. Nicholas: 0.4 mi
  • Book Market: 0.4 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The restaurant, De Roode Leeuw serves regional Dutch specialties as well as international dishes. Once one -have become acquainted with the delightful creations of The Netherlands however, will most certainly be convinced. Superb wines and magnificent old-fashioned local liquors (recipes which are over 300 years old) are available. Guests can watch the world go by on the terrace of the brassiere, De Roode Leeuw, overlooking the colourful Dam Square. One can choose from a large range of drinks, typical Dutch snacks, lunch dishes, coffee varieties, pastries and ice creams. Brassiere De Roode Leeuw is one of the oldest (dating back to 1930) heated and air-conditioned terraces in Amsterdam, making it a perfect place to use as a meeting point or a haven in busy Amsterdam. Buffet breakfast is not included and costs EUR 15.00 per person.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Whether it's for a high-level business meeting or a small seminar, the team of Hotel Amsterdam-De Roode Leeuw concentrates on the details so that you can focus on the bigger picture. Our 2 Soundproof and climate controlled Boardrooms can host 12 persons each and one of the rooms has an adjacent office with Broadband Internet access. To ensure the success of any meeting at Hotel Amsterdam-De Roode Leeuw, high-tech audio-visual equipment is available as well as full- and half-day meeting package for a minimum of eight people, inclusive of a luncheon.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KPS2011
Amman, Jordan
Dec 30, 2011

Amazing Trip

My husband and I booked The Hotel Amsterdam for our week-long stay in Amsterdam. The hotel is very centrally located and is within walking distance of pretty much everything - the van Gogh museum, Anne Frank House, central train station, Allard Pierson museum, etc. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. Anything we needed, was provided. For example, the code for the free internet stopped working. I went down to the desk, and they fixed the problem right away. They were ready with information, and were very personable. The room itself was perfect for our needs. Small by comparison to American hotel rooms, but very cozy. We also got a room right on the Dam square. We were able to people watch from the Juliet balcony.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Sie Joe's Indonesian restaurant behind Niew Kerk: A tiny place, run by a family. Also, Burger Bar. They have the best fries I've ever had!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BobbyG
Business
UK
Jul 10, 2012

No wifi, 1 person room but two beds

No wifi but it was promised. 1 person sized room but two beds. The courtesy of the hotel staff improved but we found them 'stand-off-ish' and hostile at check-in. I didn't want to say anything to my friend about it in-case he thought I was nuts, but he actually commented on the hostile welcome after we reached our room. All in all amazing location, room comfort low, staff could have been better, value - pretty OK, but really annoying that they had no working wifi connection as I brought laptop and ipad with plans to keep incommunicado with the world, only to find out that that wasn't possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
In need of a 4 star
Business
New york
Jan 31, 2013

Not a four star hotel

When we arrived there, it was freezing cold, and becuase we had stopped on the way tothe hotel and grabbed some food, we were told we could not bring it in the "hotel". So we stood outside finishing our food before we checked in. The hotel staff was not very helpful in finding out anything in the city, and was not even aware of where the nearest laundry was. I guess they expected me to spend $200.00 on their service. I found a local cleaner and had all my laundry done for $10.00. There was also construction in the hotel, which was not mentioned to us at all when we checked in, we found out the next morning when we heard the banging from above, and noticed all the workers in the lobby using the only elevator in the building, extremely unprofessional, and all this from a 4 star hotel! Never gain! Otherwise the location was good, a bit touristy but in walking distance to everything, but then again, Amsterdam is small and everything is close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont get your laundry done there, about 3 blocks away you can find a laundry that will wash, dry and fold for a fraction of the cost of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pandit
Business
Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Aug 11, 2013

Bathroom very bad

The bathroom in the room is very small and very inconvenient. The commode is so close to the wall that one cannot sit on the toilet. You have to sit at an angle. The shower stall is very small. Even worse, there is no door or curtain on the shower stall. So you cannot take shower without getting the whole bathroom floor wet. If bathroom problems are fixed, hotel can get up to 3 stars or may be even 4. At present, it deserves no higher than a 2 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mobile, Alabama
Jun 13, 2009

Very Small room

Hotel rooms very small with a view across the alley to the hotel next door. We had a smoking room but it was not very clean or fresh. Maybe the non-smoking rooms are nicer. Nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Redlight district always interesting and just a very short walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ez_e
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jan 14, 2010

it was ok.

The hotel is located in an excellent location. The staff was super friendly, but the 4-star category is questionable for this hotel. My wife and I didn' think it was very clean and that was a turn off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Honolulu, HI
Dec 9, 2009

Decent for price, great location.

Sewer smell from bathroom 24-7. Needs remodeling, and new furniture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BeerGeek power traveler
Business
Chicago, IL
May 31, 2012

Perfect location, not the best rooms

Great location, right by Dam Square in the middle of town! And it wasn't too loud at night. Easy walk from Centraal station as well. The AC was extremely comforting on a warm day! The room was on the small side, and the shower doesn't really have a door, so after you wash up, there's water all over the bath room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

In the late afternoon / early eve, there's a distillery tasting room right on the side of the Grand Krasnapolsky (right off Dam Square) called Wynand Focknick, enter the sliding doors on the side of the hotel and walk straight back, you'll see it. Definitely worth stopping in for a drink!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Southdown
Business
Surrey
Apr 15, 2013

Smallest bathroom ever!

Great location, friendly staff and clean enough but our room had what can only be described as a broom cupboard for a bathroom. You may have to upgrade to get a decent size room and bathroom. Also it is quite noisy if you have a room overlooking the front of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sddogg
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jul 7, 2013

Perfect hotel if you don't plan on being in your room much

This was a very different hotel from my last stay in Amsterdam, when I was a few miles out in the museum district. Instead, you are right in the thick of things, next to the red light district, Madame Toussands, the Palais, which is great if you immediately want to walk or jump on the tram anywhere, but not so great if you are going to be in your room at all. It is extremely busy, and the rooms were tiny. It seemed overpriced to me, but maybe that's due to the location. The staff were extremely nice to us, but there wasn't much in terms of amenities, just a very tiny room which was 90% bed, a 'view' of a 3 ft. alley and then another brick wall, and loud pulsating music throughout the day and evening.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Really close walking to just about anywhere, only 20 minute walk to the train station (5 minute if there were less pedestrian traffic).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
POA arthur
Business
BOSTON
Aug 16, 2013

Nothing but a room.

Staff was extremely unhelpful. No internet connection.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top