$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 14, 2015 Check-out: Jun 15, 2015

De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

4 stars
View map of Damrak 93-94, 1012 Lp, Amsterdam, 1012 LP

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.8
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Serial Romantic
Business
Seattle, WA
Oct 21, 2009

A nice hotel

The rooms were very small, unless you pay for the superior room. I actualy stayed here twice in the last two weeks, each for four days or so. The location is what you are paying for. Breakfast at the hotel is unremarkable, and can be a long wait for coffee. The walls were paper-thin, though, and it wasn't really four-star quiet at night, even within the hotel. Unfortunately, the staff are very hit-and-miss. Some treated me very well, even remembering my name, while others clearly wished they were somewhere else. Room service was very good, and fast. The hotel has an old, slow elevator, if the stairs look daunting. I would stay here again in low season when the rates have dropped way down, but it was never worth more than 150 Euros for a night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The red light district, as well as shopping and cafes, are all within a few steps of the front door.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lensgrinder
Business
USA
May 1, 2011

Small room, but perfectly fine

Quiet and yet centrally located.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
InternationalTravelWoman
Business
San Francisco, CA
Oct 15, 2009

Great Location, Inadequate staff

The location of this hotel was great. The staff on the other hand wasn't very friendly and were barely adequate at their jobs. They doubled booked my room so some strange man barged in. They had no idea how to deal with this nor did they understand why I was so upset by this. The staff also didn't seem to know the area very well when I asked questions about where to go eat. Internet was also very expensive at this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 13, 2011

Good location

Good Hotel, but the rooms are too small. Expensive additional internet access fee. Location is good - close to everything

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything, but notin the middle

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florida, USA
Aug 27, 2009

exellent location, room ok.

Exellent location and room was spacious with great shower water flow. Room/rug with bad smell even it was a non-smoking room. Water on the sink did not flow well and safe did not work. Problems were fixed only after 2 days!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BobbyG
Business
UK
Jul 10, 2012

No wifi, 1 person room but two beds

No wifi but it was promised. 1 person sized room but two beds. The courtesy of the hotel staff improved but we found them 'stand-off-ish' and hostile at check-in. I didn't want to say anything to my friend about it in-case he thought I was nuts, but he actually commented on the hostile welcome after we reached our room. All in all amazing location, room comfort low, staff could have been better, value - pretty OK, but really annoying that they had no working wifi connection as I brought laptop and ipad with plans to keep incommunicado with the world, only to find out that that wasn't possible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
In need of a 4 star
Business
New york
Jan 31, 2013

Not a four star hotel

When we arrived there, it was freezing cold, and becuase we had stopped on the way tothe hotel and grabbed some food, we were told we could not bring it in the "hotel". So we stood outside finishing our food before we checked in. The hotel staff was not very helpful in finding out anything in the city, and was not even aware of where the nearest laundry was. I guess they expected me to spend $200.00 on their service. I found a local cleaner and had all my laundry done for $10.00. There was also construction in the hotel, which was not mentioned to us at all when we checked in, we found out the next morning when we heard the banging from above, and noticed all the workers in the lobby using the only elevator in the building, extremely unprofessional, and all this from a 4 star hotel! Never gain! Otherwise the location was good, a bit touristy but in walking distance to everything, but then again, Amsterdam is small and everything is close to everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dont get your laundry done there, about 3 blocks away you can find a laundry that will wash, dry and fold for a fraction of the cost of the hotel.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pandit
Business
Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Aug 11, 2013

Bathroom very bad

The bathroom in the room is very small and very inconvenient. The commode is so close to the wall that one cannot sit on the toilet. You have to sit at an angle. The shower stall is very small. Even worse, there is no door or curtain on the shower stall. So you cannot take shower without getting the whole bathroom floor wet. If bathroom problems are fixed, hotel can get up to 3 stars or may be even 4. At present, it deserves no higher than a 2 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mobile, Alabama
Jun 13, 2009

Very Small room

Hotel rooms very small with a view across the alley to the hotel next door. We had a smoking room but it was not very clean or fresh. Maybe the non-smoking rooms are nicer. Nice location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Redlight district always interesting and just a very short walk.

Review of De Roode Leeuw Hotel Amsterdam

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ez_e
Business
Greensboro, NC
Jan 14, 2010

it was ok.

The hotel is located in an excellent location. The staff was super friendly, but the 4-star category is questionable for this hotel. My wife and I didn' think it was very clean and that was a turn off.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top